Technology for the Visually Impaired to Enter the Digital World

Various forms of technology are available to help the visually impaired enter the digital world. Here you can learn more about the devices that the blind and those with low vision can use to browse the Internet, read enlarged physical text and electronic documents, and input Chinese characters.

Screen-Reading Software

Screen readers are software packages that read out what is shown on the computer screen, including web pages in browsers, emails, word processing documents, spreadsheets and other applications. An added benefit is that screen readers include shortcut keys that allow visually impaired users to navigate around websites with consistent structures.

A Braille machine and a notebook computer installed with screen reading software

A Braille machine and a notebook computer installed with screen reading software

Types of Screen Readers

There are several types of screen readers available for the visually impaired.

Desktop Software

Desktop screen readers are the more common form, and can be installed on personal computer that has audio capability. The Netshare portal provides links to popular screen readers, and the latest version of the Windows Light screen reader for Chinese and English text with both speech and Braille output is available for free from Retina Hong Kong.

Braille keyboards for people with visual impairment

Braille keyboards for people with visual impairment

More on the Desktop Screen Reader Software Recommended by the Netshare Portal (Available in Chinese only)More on Retina Hong Kong

Web-based Software

Web-based screen readers are more convenient when access to public or multiple computers is necessary. They are websites that allow visually impaired readers to load other webpages and listen to the contents.

The University of Washington in the USA has released such service, known as WebAnywhere. It is an open source project which allows interested parties to contribute to its development. The service is currently in trial run and will read English text. Several independent groups are working on the support for additional languages including Chinese.

This software is using a technology of including third-party webpages under the website of the web-based software and reading out contents. Although this technology may not be able to handle all kinds of websites, like GovHK, the web-based screen reader is a step forward and provides an alternative solution for users. The WebAnywhere website can be accessed through the following link.

More on the WebAnywhere Service of the University of Washington

Dedicated Software for Mobile Phones and PDAs

Screen readers are also available for use on mobile phones and PDAs. The mobile phone versions read out all text in each menu, including caller ID, missed calls, numbers entered, SMS messages written and received, and so on. PDA screen readers include most of the functions available for desktop computers, plus Braille support. The Netshare portal provides a list of recommended screen readers, which can be accessed through the following link.

Dedicated Screen Reader Software for Mobile Phones and PDAs Recommended by the Netshare Portal (Available in Chinese only)

Screen Magnification Software

Screen magnification software can enlarge the content displayed on a computer screen. Users can choose the magnification level that best suits their personal needs and comfort. The software can also display webpage content in black and white or in monochrome, which allows high contrast for people who have troubles differentiating between colours.

The software is available in desktop versions for installation on home computers, USB drive versions for transfer between computers and dedicated versions for mobile phones and PDAs. The Netshare portal includes recommendations on the software.

Screen Magnification Software Recommended by the Netshare Portal (Available in Chinese only)

Braille Display Devices

Combined with the use of screen readers, Braille display devices areattached to computers to access screen content and output it in a series of raised dots that represent words, letters and numbers. Visually impaired users can then read the content with their fingers.

Illustration of a Braille pattern

Illustration of a Braille pattern

Most often used by blind people, Braille display devices can also help computer users who have low levels of vision but cannot hear screen readers. Both webpages and text documents can be read in this way. The Netshare portal includes recommendations on Braille display devices.

Braille Display Devices Recommended by the Netshare Portal (Available in Chinese only)

Tools that Enlarge Physical Items such as Books, Magazines and Newspapers

Three systems can enlarge physical text to a size that you are comfortable with.

Desktop Video Magnifiers

Desktop video magnifiers with dedicated monitors allow you to magnify any text, such as in a newspaper, book or magazine, to a readable size comfortable with different users.

Magnifying Video Cameras

As using desktop video magnifiers can be an expensive solution, magnifying video cameras are also available for connection to a computer monitor, TV screen or through a DVD player to a projection screen. These systems usually include a base with the video camera on a swing arm above it.

Portable Video Magnifiers

Also available are portable video magnifiers, the size of paperback books, which can be used in public places, such as in restaurants for reading menus. More information on these tools is available through the Netshare portal.

Magnifying Tools Recommended by the Netshare Portal (Available in Chinese only)

Scanners for Turning Physical Text into Electronic Text

Scanners can also be used to capture images of physical text and turn them into electronic text. Using Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology, the text can be made ready for a screen reader, or can be enlarged and displayed on a computer monitor or TV screen. Scanners are available commercially and from public IT resources.

Chinese Input Software for the Visually Impaired

Free software is also available to help visually impaired computer users input Chinese characters. The Easy Dots programme developed by the Hong Kong Blind Union is available for download free of charge.

More on the Easy Dots Freeware Developed by the Hong Kong Blind Union
Last revision date: July 2015

協助視障人士進入數碼世界的科技

目前,市面上已有多種不同的科技,可助視障人士進入數碼世界。本文將介紹不同的輔助工具,協助失明及弱視人士瀏覽網頁、閱讀放大書面文字和電子文件,以及輸入中文字。

屏幕閱讀軟件

屏幕閱讀軟件能把電腦屏幕上顯示的文字朗讀出來,當中包括瀏覽器上的網頁、電郵、電子文件、電子試算表,以及其他應用程序中顯示的文字。屏幕閱讀軟件的另一好處,便是設有快速鍵,方便視障人士瀏覽版面設計劃一的網頁。

手提點字機及裝有發聲軟件的手提電腦

手提點字機及裝有發聲軟件的手提電腦

屏幕閱讀軟件的種類

現有多種不同的屏幕閱讀軟件,可供視障人士使用。

桌面軟件

桌面屏幕閱讀軟件是比較普遍的軟件,可安裝到備有語音功能的個人電腦中。使用者可透過「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」,連結至多種常用的屏幕閱讀軟件,亦可在香港視網膜病變協會,免費取得「晨光」英語及粵語電腦讀屏軟件的最新版本,軟件備有語音及點字輸出功能。

專為視障人士而設的點字顯示器

專為視障人士而設的點字顯示器

「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推薦的屏幕閱讀軟件更多關於香港視網膜病變協會

互聯網軟件

如要使用公共電腦或多台電腦,那麼專適用於互聯網的屏幕閱讀軟件便是較為方便的選擇。這類屏幕閱讀軟件以網站形式操作,可讓視障人士載入其他網頁,然後聽取網頁的內容。

美國華盛頓大學已推出名為「WebAnywhere」的互聯網屏幕閱讀服務。這是一個採用開放源碼(open source)的項目,有興趣人士可參與開發及改良。這服務已開放給使用者作測試之用,目前可閱讀英文網頁。多個獨立團體亦致力開發此服務,以支援中文等多種語言。

此軟件將外來的網頁載入軟件的網站內,並將網頁內容朗讀出來。雖然這技術仍未能處理所有網站,如「香港政府一站通」,但已是屏幕閱讀軟件的一項新嘗試,並為使用者提供多一項選擇。你可透過以下連結登入「WebAnywhere」網站:

更多關於華盛頓大學「WebAnywhere」服務的資料(只提供英文)

流動電話及電子手帳(PDA)專用軟件

此外,市面上亦有適用於流動電話及電子手帳的屏幕閱讀軟件。適用於流動電話的屏幕閱讀軟件,可朗讀出功能表內的所有內容,包括來電號碼、未接來電、已撥出號碼及已收發的短訊等;適用於電子手帳的屏幕閱讀軟件,則可提供適用於個人電腦的大部分輔助功能,更支援點字顯示。「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推介多種屏幕閱讀軟件,可透過以下連結瀏覽:

「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推薦的流動電話及電子手帳(PDA)專用屏幕閱讀軟件

屏幕放大軟件

屏幕放大軟件能把電腦屏幕上顯示的文字放大,使用者可根據自己的需要,選擇放大倍數。此外,屏幕放大軟件亦可以黑白或其他單色顯示網頁內容,提高網頁的顏色對比,方便分辨顏色有困難的人士使用。

軟件分別備有可安裝到家用電腦的桌面版本、外置式硬碟(USB)版本,以及供流動電話及電子手帳使用的版本。「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」便推薦了多款屏幕放大軟件。

「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推薦的屏幕放大軟件

點字顯示器

在電腦上加上點字顯示器,配合屏幕閱讀軟件使用,便能將屏幕上的內容轉為點字。這些點字代表不同的字詞、字母及數目字,視障人士用手指觸摸點字,便可讀取到屏幕上的內容。

點字模式圖
點字模式圖

點字顯示器是盲人常用的輔助工具,亦可用來幫助低視力並無法聽取屏幕閱讀軟件輸出內容的電腦使用者。使用者可用點字顯示器,讀取網頁及文件的內容。「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」便推薦了多款市面上可找到的點字顯示器。

「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推薦的點字顯示器

可放大書本、雜誌及報紙等文字的工具

視障人士可利用三種工具,把書面文字放大至適合他們閱讀的大小。

桌面影像放大器

桌面影像放大器以專用顯示屏,將報紙、書本或雜誌等讀物上的文字,放大至適合閱讀的大小。

放大錄影鏡頭

由於桌面影像放大器價錢可能較昂貴,故視障人士亦可選用較便宜的放大錄影鏡頭,將電腦顯示屏、電視屏幕或數碼光碟機的畫面,接駁到投影屏幕上。此裝置往往配備底座、錄影鏡頭及可調校位置的臂桿。

手提式影像放大器

手提式影像放大器只有平裝書般大,方便視障人士在公眾場所使用,例如在餐廳內閱讀餐單。 「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」載有更多關於以上輔助工具的資料。

「視障人士網絡共享入門網站」推薦的放大工具

將書面文字轉為電子文字格式的掃描器

視障人士可利用掃描器,將書面文字的影像轉化為電子文件。利用光學字型辨識技術(Optical Character Recognition,簡稱OCR)可將書面文字轉為電子文字格式,屏幕閱讀軟件便可將文字朗讀出來,或以電腦或電視屏幕顯示及放大文字。現時市面有多款掃描器可供選擇,公眾資訊科技設施亦有提供。

為視障人士而設的中文輸入軟件

此外,目前亦有協助視障人士輸入中文的免費軟件。「點寫易」輸入法,是由香港失明人協進會自行開發的中文輸入軟件,可供免費下載。

更多關於香港失明人協進會開發的「點寫易」輸入法的資料
修訂日期:2015年7月