Means of Communications in the Countryside

Make Preparations

Before leaving home you should learn about the points to note and the means of communicating in the countryside, so that you can stay in touch and enjoy the natural beauty without any worries. Always find company, and make sure you can remain in contact throughout the trip. You should ensure that your mobile phone, or walkie-talkie if you have one, is fully charged before you leave and that you have a spare battery ready. When hiking, you should try to switch off at least one mobile phone in your group and keep it as a backup.

Find out Mobile Network Coverage and Information in the Countryside

Mobile network coverage is generally very good in Hong Kong, but due to hilly terrain and remoteness, there are some blind spots in the countryside. The Office of the Communications Authority has conducted a survey of mobile network coverage along popular hiking trails. A series of digital maps are available to indicate mobile network coverage at various locations. Also highlighted are public pay phones and free emergency helplines in case you cannot use your mobile phone.

You can learn more about mobile network coverage from the websites of individual service providers. Just keep in mind that conditions change from time to time, and from place to place, so the information is only meant to be for general reference. Below are links to coverage maps available from selected service providers.

Use Mobile Phones to Make Emergency Calls

It is also important to know how to make an emergency call in the countryside, in case you encounter difficulties. You can:

  • Dial 112 or 999: dialling 112 will connect you to the 999 emergency call centre from any local mobile phone network that has coverage in your location
  • Use a roaming service: if you have subscribed to roaming service that is accessible to a mainland network, dial 00852 and then the phone number of a family member, friend or Hong Kong police station. When using a roaming service, please note that you will not be able to contact the 999 emergency call centre by dialling 00852 112 and 00852 999.

You should give as much information as possible about your location when making an emergency call. If you do not have a Global Positioning System device, you can:

  • identify the number of the nearest distance post on hiking trails
  • describe a prominent nearby landmark and estimate how close it is to your position
A distance post on hiking trail

A distance post on hiking trail

With this sort of information, the authorities will be able to locate you more quickly than would otherwise be possible.

Use 50222 SMS Hiker Tracking Service and GPS Hiker Tracking Service

With the support of mobile service operators, the Communications Association of Hong Kong (CAHK) has launched the 50222 SMS Hiker Tracking Service (50222 Service). Hikers can use the service by sending short messages to a designated number 50222 to report periodically the unique numbers of Distance Posts they encounter along their hiking trails. This will help keep track of their positions. For example, sending the number M001 means the hiker is at the first Distance Post of the MacLehose Trail. In any event that a hiker is lost, rescue parties can make use of the data stored in the system of 50222 Service to improve the time and success rate of search for the lost hiker.

GPS Hiker Tracking Service has been launched by CAHK due to increasing popularity of smartphones. You have to install the Enjoy Hiking app, developed by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, or the Security Bureau’s Safeguard HK app onto your smartphone. Before your hiking trip, launch either of the apps and activate its Hiker Tracking Service function. The GPS system will then auto feed your tracking locations and record the relevant data at the service centre. The data can be retrieved and used to facilitate rescue if any need arises from an emergency situation.

Use a Roaming Service or IDD Service

When in the countryside, you might not be able to use your mobile phone at all times. Network coverage is sometimes patchy. You can subscribe to a roaming service or bring along a prepaid SIM card with IDD service issued by one of the Mainland mobile network operators. In case of emergency at a place with no coverage of local mobile phone networks but signal from the relevant Mainland mobile network can be received, you may then call for assistance using roaming service (if using Hong Kong mobile SIM card) or IDD service (if using Mainland mobile SIM card). With either of these options, you should be able to call for assistance during an emergency. Using a multi-band mobile phone, which works in multiple frequency bands (including 900MHz, 1800MHz, 2100MHz, 2300 MHz and 2600 MHz bands), will also give you a better chance of successfully contacting the 999 emergency centre.

Use Walkie-Talkies and Global Positioning System Devices

Using walkie-talkies and Global Positioning System (GPS) devices in the countryside can help you keep in touch with your hiking group and can be used to monitor for distress calls from other hikers in more remote areas. A GPS device cannot be used for communications, but it will give you your exact location should you need the help of emergency services.

Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected] .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: January 2020
Transport & Motoring Survey Close ButtonTransport & Motoring Survey
Taxes & Duties Webpages Survey Close ButtonTaxes & Duties Webpages Survey

郊外通訊方法

事前準備

前往郊外前,應認識在郊外可使用的各種通訊方法及善用通訊設備,就可以無憂無慮,盡享郊遊之樂。應該結伴同行,避免單獨遠足;同時要確保遠足時可與外界聯絡。在出發前,你須為流動電話及手提無線電對講機充電,並攜帶足夠的備用電池。若結隊遠足,你應關掉隊中至少一部流動電話作後備之用。

查閱郊外流動電話網絡覆蓋及資料

香港的流動電話網絡覆蓋一般非常全面,但由於香港地勢山巒起伏,有些郊外的偏遠位置還未有網絡覆蓋。通訊事務管理局辦公室為熱門的遠足徑的流動電話覆蓋情況進行了調查。你可透過一系列的電子地圖,查閱大部分遠足徑的流動電話覆蓋情況。此外,電子地圖亦顯示公共電話及緊急求助電話的位置,讓你在未能使用流動電話的情況下也能致電求助。

有關個別流動電話網絡供應商網絡覆蓋的範圍,請瀏覽其網站。請注意:網絡覆蓋情況或會因不同時間和地點而有所差異,所有資料僅供參考之用。以下連結至有提供網絡覆蓋地圖的部分流動電話網絡供應商的有關網頁。

利用電話求助

你必須知道在緊急情況下如何利用流動電話求助。

  • 致電 112 或 999:只要你的位置有任何一個本地流動電話網絡覆蓋,致電 112,便可接駁至 999 緊急服務中心。
  • 使用漫遊服務:若使用流動電話漫遊至內地網絡,可利用漫遊服務先撥 00852,然後撥本港號碼致電親友或各區的警署求助。當使用漫遊服務時,撥 00852 112 或 00852 999 並不能接駁至 999 緊急服務中心。

致電求助時,你應盡量提供身處位置的資料;若你並無攜帶任何全球定位系統 (GPS) 器材,而又未能識別身處位置,則應提供以下資料:

  • 遠足徑附近標距柱的編號
  • 附近的主要地標,並估計身處位置與該地標的距離

遠足徑上的標距柱
遠足徑上的標距柱

有關部門若能掌握以上資訊,將能更快確定你的位置,迅速提供援助。

善用50222遠足短訊留蹤服務及GPS遠足留蹤服務

在流動網絡營辦商的支持下,香港通訊業聯會推出「50222遠足短訊留蹤服務」(「50222服務」)。市民在遠足時,可定時將沿遠足徑見到標距柱上的獨有編號,以短訊發送至指定號碼「50222」,報告其位置所在。舉例說,發送號碼「M001」,表示遠足人士位處麥理浩徑第一個標距柱。一旦遠足人士失蹤,搜救隊伍可利用在「50222服務」系統中儲存的資料,加快搜獲失蹤者。

因應智能手機普及,香港通訊業聯會再推出「GPS遠足留蹤服務」。你須先安裝漁農自然護理署的「郊野樂行」或保安局的「保安一站通」流動應用程式,每次遠足前啟動程式及其「遠足留蹤服務」功能,便可藉着GPS自動記錄你的位置。有關數據將儲存於服務中心,一旦遇上緊急情況可翻查數據,加速搜救行動。

選用漫遊服務或國際長途電話服務

流動電話網絡覆蓋範圍往往未能遍及郊外的每個角落,因此有時可能未能接駁到本地流動電話網絡。但你可以選用流動電話漫遊服務,或者帶備內地流動網絡供應商發出可用國際長途電話服務的預繳電話智能(SIM)卡。當你身處緊急情況,而所在位置沒有本地流動電話網絡覆蓋,但可以接收有關的內地流動網絡訊號時,你便可藉漫遊服務(如使用香港SIM卡)或國際長途電話服務(如使用內地SIM卡)召援。此外,使用可在不同頻段(包括900兆赫、1800兆赫、2100兆赫、2300兆赫、2600兆赫等頻段)操作的多頻型號流動電話亦會讓你有較大機會成功聯絡999緊急熱線中心。

使用手提無線電對講機及全球定位系統器材

在郊外使用手提無線對講機及全球定位系統器材,不但可讓你與隊友保持緊密聯繫,還可接收其他遠足人士發出的求救訊息。全球定位系統器材雖非用作通訊,但可為你提供準確位置的資料,以便通知警方或其他團體。

本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
Found this page helpful?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2020年1月