Using Walkie-Talkies and Global Positioning System Devices in Country Parks

Other than mobile phones, walkie-talkies and Global Positioning System (GPS) devices can help you to stay in touch in country parks. Here you can learn about the types of devices that you can use while enjoying Hong Kong's natural environment, and how they can help you and others.

Staying in Touch with Walkie-Talkies

Walkie-talkies are handy for keeping in constant contact within a group. They operate at either 27 MHz or 409 MHz and do not require a licence as long as they meet the technical requirements set by the Communications Authority. Walkie-talkies that operate at 409 MHz are usually smaller, and are suitable for short-range communication. The Office of the Communications Authority's website provides lists of those models that do not require a licence.

List of 27 MHz walkie-talkie modelsList of 409 MHz walkie-talkie models

Possible Limitations of Walkie-Talkies

The communication range of walkie-talkies can be reduced by the rugged terrain through which you are travelling, and can be affected by weather conditions. So you should always be prepared for possible emergencies in which you cannot rely on walkie-talkies alone. It is crucial to prepare a backup such as a mobile phone, and you should also learn about the locations of public pay phones and free emergency helplines that will be nearby before you set out.

Using Your Walkie-Talkie to Help Others

One benefit of using a walkie-talkie is that it can be used to communicate with other hikers outside of your group. All hikers are encouraged to monitor channel 9 to pick up emergency calls from other hikers who could be within range. In this way, you might be able to offer assistance, or call in outside help in case of emergencies. You should make sure the tone squelch of your walkie-talkie is disabled and the code setting is "00", which will improve the reception and make it easier for you to make an emergency call should the need arise.

Using a GPS Device to Determine Your Location

You cannot communicate with others using a GPS device, but it could be handy in helping you to identify your location to emergency services. A GPS device by itself or as part of a PDA or mobile phone can locate you precisely on an easy-to-read map. These devices are simple to find on the market and are lightweight, so they are easy to carry when you hike.

Last revision date: July 2015

在郊野公園使用手提無線電對講機及全球定位系統器材

除流動電話外,手提無線電對講機及全球定位系統 (GPS) 器材亦是遠足人士通訊的重要工具。本網頁將介紹多款在郊野公園可使用的無線電對講機及 GPS 器材,以及它們的用途。

以手提無線電對講機通訊

手提無線電對講機不但體積小巧、易於攜帶,而且能讓你與同伴保持緊密聯繫。獲准在本港使用的對講機有兩類,分別於 27 兆赫及 409 兆赫操作;若對講機符合通訊事務管理局所訂明的技術規格,則毋須向該局領牌。409 兆赫對講機的體積較小,適合短距離通訊。通訊事務管理局辦公室網站內載有豁免領牌的對講機型號的清單,供市民隨時查閱。

27 兆赫對講機型號清單409 兆赫對講機型號清單

手提無線電對講機的局限

手提無線電對講機的通訊距離會受地勢或天氣影響而改變,因此你不應單靠對講機緊急求助,還要在出發前準備流動電話作後備之用,並了解遠足路線附近公共電話及緊急求助電話的位置。

利用手提無線電對講機協助他人

使用手提無線電對講機的另一好處是可以支援其他有需要的遠足人士與他們通訊。對講機的第 9 頻道一般被設定為緊急通訊頻道,所有遠足人士應不時監聽第 9 頻道,若透過此頻道收到其他可能相距不遠的遊人的召援訊息,應盡力予以支援,或在緊急情況下通知有關救援機構。此外,你應確保已關閉對講機的靜音功能並把編碼設定為「00」,以提高接收訊號強度以便發出緊急求助訊息。

利用 GPS 器材確定身處位置

你不可單憑 GPS 器材與他人通訊,但你可利用 GPS  器材確定身處位置,以便通知警方或其他團體。GPS 器材、配有 GPS 器材的個人數碼助理 (PDA) 或配有 GPS 器材的流動電話,均可透過簡單的地圖顯示,確定你身處的位置。上述大部分器材均於市面上出售,而且輕便易攜,適合遠足人士使用。

修訂日期:2015年7月