Communication Tips for Your Hike

Before visiting a country park, you should think about how to keep in touch with others during your trip. Here you can learn about how to plan your trip with telecommunications in mind.

General Planning

Always find company, and make sure you can remain in contact throughout the trip. You should ensure that your mobile phone, or walkie-talkie if you have one, is fully charged before you leave and that you have a spare battery ready. When hiking, you should try to switch off at least one mobile phone in your group and keep it as a backup.

Use a Roaming Service

When in a country park, you might not be able to use your mobile phone at all times. Network coverage is sometimes patchy. You can subscribe to a roaming service or bring along a prepaid SIM card issued by one of the mainland mobile network operators. In case of emergency at a place with no local mobile phone network coverage but roaming service is available, you may then call for assistance using the roaming service. With either of these options, you should be able to call for assistance during an emergency. Using a tri-band mobile phone, which works in the 900MHz, 1800MHz and 2100MHz bands, will also give you a better chance of successfully contacting the 999 emergency centre.

Using Walkie-Talkies and Global Positioning System Devices in Country Parks

Walkie-talkies and Global Positioning System (GPS) devices can also be useful in emergencies. A walkie-talkie helps you keep in touch with your hiking group and can be used to monitor for distress calls from other hikers in more remote areas. A GPS device cannot be used for communications, but it will give you your exact location should you need the help of emergency services.

More on Using Walkie-talkies and GPS Devices in Country Parks

50222 SMS Hiker Tracking Service

With the support of mobile service operators, the Communications Association of Hong Kong (CAHK) has launched the 50222 SMS Hiker Tracking Service (50222 Service) to help search and rescue lost hikers. Hikers can use the service by sending short messages to a designated number 50222 to report periodically the unique numbers of Distance Posts they encounter along their hiking trails. This will help keep track of their positions. For example, sending the number M001 means the hiker is at the first Distance Post of the MacLehose Trail. In any event that a hiker is lost, rescue parties can make use of the data stored in the system of 50222 Service to improve the time and success rate of search for the lost hiker.

More on 50222 Service (PDF File)

GPS Hiker Tracking Service

In addition, a new GPS Hiker Tracking Service has been launched by CAHK since October 2013 to facilitate speedy and effective rescue. If you want to use this service, please install the Enjoy Hiking app, developed by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, onto your smartphone. Before your hiking trip, please launch the app and activate its Hiker Tracking Service function. The GPS system will then auto feed your tracking locations and record the relevant data at the service centre. The data can be retrieved and used to facilitate rescue if any need arises from an emergency situation.

More on GPS Hiker Tracking Service (PDF File)
Last revision date: July 2015

郊遊遠足通訊須知

在遊覽郊野公園前,你應認識在郊野公園可採用的各種通訊方法。本網頁將介紹多項郊遊遠足的通訊須知,讓你妥善安排行程並與外界保持聯絡。

遠足前的計劃

要安全暢遊郊野公園,應結伴同行,避免單獨遠足;同時應確保在遠足時可與外界聯絡。在出發前,你須為流動電話及手提無線電對講機充電,並攜帶足夠的備用電池。若結隊遠足,你應關掉隊中至少一部流動電話作後備之用。

選用漫遊服務

流動電話網絡覆蓋範圍往往未能遍及郊野公園的每個角落,因此有時可能未能接駁到本地的流動電話網絡。但你可以選用流動電話漫遊服務,或者帶備國內流動網絡供應商發出的預繳電話智能 (SIM) 卡。當你身處緊急情況,而所在位置沒有本地流動電話網絡覆蓋,而漫遊服務卻能運作時,你便可藉漫遊服務召援。此外,三頻型號的流動電話能在900 兆赫、 1800 兆赫及 2100 兆赫的波段內操作,因此,有較大機會成功聯絡 999 緊急熱線中心。

在郊野公園使用手提無線電對講機及全球定位系統器材

在緊急情況下,你可以利用手提無線電對講機及全球定位系統 (GPS) 器材求助。無線電對講機不但可讓你與隊友保持緊密聯繫,還可接收其他遠足人士發出的求救訊息。至於 GPS 器材,它並非通訊器材,但可為你提供準確位置的資料,以便通知警方或其他團體。

更多關於在郊野公園使用手提無線對講機及全球定位系統器材的資料

50222遠足短訊留蹤服務

在流動網絡營辦商的支持下,香港通訊業聯會推出「50222遠足短訊留蹤服務」(「50222服務」),以協助搜救遠足失蹤者。市民在遠足時,可定時將沿遠足徑見到標距柱上的獨有編號,以短訊發送至指定號碼「50222」,報告他們的位置所在。這樣他們的位置便有跡可尋。舉例說,發送號碼「M001」,表示遠足人士位處麥理浩徑第一個標距柱。一旦遠足人士失蹤,搜救隊伍可利用在「50222服務」系統中儲存的資料,這有助加快搜獲失蹤者。

更多關於「50222服務」的詳情(PDF檔案)

GPS遠足留蹤服務

此外,香港通訊業聯會自2013年10月起推出新的「GPS遠足留蹤服務」,以協助搜救隊伍迅速有效地搜救失蹤者。如你想使用這項為智能手機用戶而設的服務,請安裝漁農自然護理署的「郊野樂行」手機程式,每次遠足前啟動該程式及其「遠足留蹤服務」功能,便可藉着GPS自動記錄你的位置。有關數據將儲存於服務中心,一旦遇上緊急情況可翻查數據,加速搜救行動。

更多關於「GPS遠足留蹤服務」的詳情(PDF檔案)
修訂日期:2015年7月