Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

Protecting intellectual property is important because it ensures that creativity can flourish and business can be conducted in a fair manner. Here you can learn more about the relevant ordinances, what constitutes infringement, and how one can avoid breaking the law.

Intellectual Property Defined

Intellectual property is the collective name for a range of intangible property rights, including trade marks, patents, copyright, designs, plant varieties and the layout design of integrated circuits.

In the digital environment, intellectual property such as copyright subsists in music, movies, television shows and computer software. The copyright owner enjoys the exclusive rights to carry out acts restricted by the copyright, which means that the material cannot be copied or distributed without the copyright owner’s permission.

Intellectual Property Right Protection

Intellectual property rights are protected in Hong Kong under various ordinances, which include:

  • Copyright Ordinance
  • Prevention of Copyright Privacy Ordinance
  • Trade Marks Ordinance
  • Trade Descriptions Ordinance
  • Patents Ordinance
  • Registered Designs Ordinance
  • Plant Varieties Protection Ordinance
  • Lay-out Design (Topography) of Integrated Circuits Ordinance

Under the Copyright Ordinance, copyright owners can take legal action against anyone or any organisation that copies or distributes the copyrighted work without their permission.

Intellectual Property Right Infringements

One of the more common instances in which intellectual property rights are infringed in Hong Kong is through computer software piracy.

Under the Copyright Ordinance, simply using pirated computer software for private and domestic use is not an offence. However, the copyright owners can still claim damages against the infringers through civil proceedings. Penalties under the Copyright Ordinance, including fines and possible imprisonment, mainly relate to possessing or distributing pirated software for commercial purposes.

For example, an Internet café or computer games centre that conducts its business using pirated copies of computer software will be penalised.

It is also important to note that a person will incur criminal liability if he distributes the pirated software to such an extent as to affect prejudicially the owner of the copyright, even though he may not be distributing the pirated software for commercial purposes.

Other works such as digital images, films and sound recordings that are found in interactive digital entertainment products are also protected under the Copyright Ordinance, and cannot be copied, distributed, sold or used without permission from the copyright owner.

The Court of Final Appeal on 18 May 2007 dismissed the appeal of an appellant, who had been convicted and sentenced to three months' imprisonment for uploading copyright-infringing films to the Internet using the BitTorrent (BT) peer-to-peer file-sharing program. This was the world's first ever enforcement operation leading to conviction and imprisonment of a person who distributes infringing copies of films using the BT program.

The judgment reaffirms that the uploading of infringing copies of copyright works to the Internet using the BT peer-to-peer file-sharing program for downloading by other Internet users is a criminal offence under the Copyright Ordinance in Hong Kong.

The Customs and Excise Department, which is responsible for taking legal action against intellectual property right infringement, monitors activities on the Internet round the clock, including copyright piracy involving the use of peer-to-peer file-sharing programs.

Under the Copyright Ordinance, a person commits an offence if he/she, without the licence permission of the copyright owner, distributes an infringing copy of a copyright work to such an extent as to affect prejudicially the owner of the copyright even if it is not for the purpose of trade or business. The maximum penalty is a fine of $50,000 per infringing copy and imprisonment for four years.

In addition to the above, trade marks may be included in computer software. Under the Trade Marks Ordinance, the owner of a registered trade mark has an exclusive right to use the mark on the goods or services for which the mark was registered. The owner can take legal action against anyone using his registered mark in relation to those goods or services without his consent. You should therefore bear in mind the potential liability for trade mark infringement as well.

Preventing Infringement

The Customs and Excise Department combats intellectual property right infringements on three levels:

  • Wholesale: the main focus is on halting the importation of pirated products into Hong Kong, the manufacture of pirated products for exportation, and the wholesale and distribution of pirated products within Hong Kong
  • Retail: action is being taken repeatedly against the sale of pirated products at the street level, with surveillance and seizures leading to prosecution
  • Internet: to address the emerging trend of online copyright infringement, two Anti-Internet Piracy Teams and a Computer Forensic Laboratory have been established.

Respect for Intellectual Property Rights

One of the most common instances of intellectual property right infringement is through file sharing on peer-to-peer (P2P) networks. File sharing services such as Foxy and BitTorrent (BT) offer software for downloading that can link your computer to others in a network for direct sharing of any type of electronic file. Please note however that:

  • File-sharing software can open your computer to viruses and spyware, small programs that ‘watch’ what happens, sometimes recording keystrokes and sending information on passwords and credit card numbers to a third party.
  • Unless you are sharing music, programs or videos of your own creation, you are probably violating someone else’s intellectual property rights. Parents can be held responsible for what their children have done on the family computer, even if they are not themselves engaged in illegal activity.

Securing musical works online is not necessarily a legal offence. In fact, many retail websites allow you to buy various types of music from many periods. You can also legally download sample tracks from the websites of many artists without the need to pay.

Enhancing Copyright Protection in the Digital Environment

To ensure that our copyright law keeps pace with technological and overseas developments, the Government introduced the Copyright (Amendment) Bill 2014 (the Bill) into the Legislative Council on 18 June 2014. The Bill is now under the scrutiny of the Bills Committee of the Legislative Council. The key proposals of the Bill include:

  • introducing a technology-neutral exclusive right for copyright owners to communicate their works through any mode of electronic transmission
  • introducing corresponding criminal sanctions against unauthorised communication of copyright works to the public
  • expanding the scope of copyright exception under the existing law to balance copyright protection and reasonable uses of copyright works for the following purposes in appropriate circumstances:
    (a) parody, satire, caricature and pastiche
    (b) commenting on the current events
    (c) quotation
    (d) temporary reproduction of copyright works by online service providers
    (e) media shifting of sound recordings
    (f) giving education instructions
  • establishing a statutory “safe harbour” for online service providers so that their liabilities for copyright infringement occurring on their service platforms could be limited under certain prescribed conditions
  • providing additional factors for the court to consider in assessing damages in civil cases in which infringement has been established

The Bill seeks to strike a fair balance between protection of copyright, free flow of information and reasonable use of copyright works. It also brings the copyright law of Hong Kong in pace with major developments in other common law jurisdictions.

Back to top

Last revision date: July 2015

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2014 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

保護知識產權

保護知識產權對我們來說非常重要,這不但確保人們可以盡情發揮創意,也確保投資者可以在一個公平的環境營商。本網頁將介紹與知識產權相關的條例、如何構成侵犯知識產權,以及如何避免觸犯香港法例。

知識產權的定義

知識產權泛指一組無形的財產權利,包括商標權、專利權、版權、外觀設計權、植物品種保護權,及集成電路的布圖設計權。

在數碼環境中,音樂作品、電影製作、電視節目及電腦軟件都涉及版權等知識產權的問題。版權持有人具有作出版權所限制的行動的獨有權利;換言之,在未經版權持有人同意的情況下,任何人不得複製或分發有關版權材料。

更多關於香港的知識產權的資料

保護知識產權

在香港,知識產權受以下多項條例保護:

  • 《版權條例》
  • 《防止盜用版權條例》
  • 《商標條例》
  • 《商品說明條例》
  • 《專利條例》
  • 《註冊外觀設計條例》
  • 《植物品種保護條例》
  • 《集成電路的布圖設計(拓樸圖)條例》

根據《版權條例》,版權持有人有權對任何未經其同意而複製或分發其版權作品的人士或機構採取法律行動。

更多關於知識產權法的資料更多關於《集成電路的布圖設計(拓樸圖)條例》的資料

侵犯知識產權行為

在香港,使用盜版電腦軟件是一種較為普遍的侵犯知識產權行為。

根據《版權條例》,使用盜版電腦軟件作私人和家居用途並不屬刑事罪行。然而,版權擁有人仍有權循民事途徑向侵權者索償。《版權條例》所訂刑罰(包括罰款甚至監禁)主要針對管有及分發盜版軟件作商業用途。

例如,互聯網咖啡室或電腦遊戲中心使用盜版電腦軟件經營業務,會被依法懲處。

此外,我們亦須謹記,任何人士分發盜版電腦軟件達到損害版權擁有人權利的程度,即使其並非為商業用途而分發該盜版電腦軟件,均須負上刑事責任。

其他作品,例如互動數碼娛樂產品內的數碼影像、影片及聲音記錄,亦受到《版權條例》的保護。凡未經版權持有人許可,不得複製、分發、出售或使用這些作品。

香港終審法院於2007年5月18日駁回一項上訴,案中上訴人曾利用 BitTorrent (BT) 點對點檔案分享程式將侵權電影上載至互聯網,被裁定罪名成立,判入獄3個月。這是全球首宗利用 BT 程式在網上分發電影侵權複製品,而被告人亦被判入獄的執法個案。

該判決重申,根據《版權條例》,透過 BT 點對點檔案分享程式將侵權複製品上載至互聯網供其他網友下載,即屬刑事罪行。

在執法方面,香港海關負責對侵犯知識產權行為採取法律行動,並24小時監察網上的侵權情況,特別是涉及使用點對點檔案分享程式盜用版權的個案。

根據《版權條例》,任何人士未得版權擁有人特許而分發侵權複製品,即使並非為貿易或業務目的,倘若達到損害版權擁有人權利的程度,即屬犯罪。最高刑罰為判處每件侵權複製品罰款五萬元及監禁四年

除此以外,商標亦適用於電腦軟件上。根據《商標條例》,註冊商標的擁有人享有獨有權利,可將商標用於該商標名下註冊的產品及服務,亦可對任何未經其同意而使用其註冊商標的人士採取法律行動。因此,我們亦須注意商標侵權行為所存在的潛在法律責任。

遏止侵權行為

海關就以下三個層面,打擊侵犯知識產權的活動:

  • 批發:集中打擊盜版產品進口本港、生產盜版商品以供出口,及於香港境內批發和分銷盜版產品活動
  • 零售:不斷巡視街道上出售盜版產品的情況、監察及檢舉盜版商品,並檢控相關人士
  • 互聯網:成立兩隊反互聯網盜版隊及電腦法證所,以打擊日趨嚴重的網上侵權行為

尊重知識產權

最普遍的侵犯知識產權行為包括透過點對點網絡進行檔案分享的活動。Foxy 及 BitTorrent (BT) 等服務商為用戶提供的下載軟體,可讓用戶的電腦與網絡上其他電腦互相連接,直接分享各類電子檔案。可是,用戶必須注意:

  • 檔案分享軟件可讓病毒、間諜軟件及「監視」操作的小型程式入侵電腦,有時更可取得用戶按鍵的記錄,以及將密碼及信用咭號碼等資料披露予第三者。
  • 除非用戶分享的是自己創作的音樂、程式或影片,否則會可能侵犯其他人的知識產權。家長可能須對其子女使用家中電腦而負上責任,即使他們並無進行相關非法活動。

於互聯網上取得音樂作品並不一定屬非法行為;事實上,許多零售網站均可讓用戶選購不同時期出版的樂曲。此外,用戶也可於歌手的網站中,免費下載試聽版本。

更多有關青少年、音樂及互聯網的指引

改善在數碼環境中保護知識產權

為確保我們的版權法律與時並進,緊貼科技和海外的發展,政府於2014年6月18日向立法會提交《2014年版權(修訂)條例草案》(條例草案)。條例草案現於立法會的法案委員會中審議。條例草案的主要建議包括:

  • 訂定科技中立的專有權利,讓版權擁有人可通過任何電子傳送模式傳播其作品
  • 就未獲授權向公眾傳播版權作品的行為,訂明相關的刑事制裁
  • 為平衡版權保護和合理使用版權作品,擴闊現行法例下的版權豁免範圍,在適當情況下為下列目的提供豁免:
    (a) 戲仿、諷刺、營造滑稽或模仿
    (b) 評論時事
    (c) 引用
    (d) 聯線服務提供者暫時複製版權作品
    (e) 聲音紀錄的媒體轉換
    (f) 教學
  • 訂立法定「安全港」制度,訂明聯線服務提供者如符合若干條件,便只須對其服務平台上的侵權行為承擔有限的法律責任
  • 就確立侵權的民事個案,加訂法庭審裁賠償額時要考慮的因素

條例草案旨在於版權保護、資訊流通及版權作品的合理使用之間取得公平的平衡,亦令香港的版權法律緊貼其他普通司法管轄區的主要發展。

更多關於《2014年版權(修訂)條例草案》的資料
修訂日期:2017年2月