Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

To enhance road safety, the Government extends the Probationary Driving Licence Scheme (the Scheme) to private cars and light goods vehicles. All probationary driving licence holders are subject to additional driving restrictions and only eligible to apply for full driving licences after satisfactory completion of the probationary driving periods.

Who are Affected

Any person who applies to take a private car or light goods vehicle driving test on or after 9 February 2009, or a motor cycle or motor tricycle driving test on or after 1 October 2000 is required to apply for a probationary driving licence upon passing the test. The holder of probationary driving licence to drive a vehicle class is required by law to undergo a 12-month probationary driving period.

How to Apply for Probationary Driving Licence

You can apply for a probationary driving licence for the respective vehicle class within 3 years after passing all parts of the driving test for that vehicle class. Click the link below for more details about the application procedures.

How to Calculate Probationary Driving Period

The probationary driving period for each vehicle class is counted from the issue date of a probationary driving licence to drive that vehicle class. Please note that any period specified under the following conditions will not be included in the probationary driving period:

  • any disqualification period ordered by court;
  • any period during which a person does not hold a valid probationary driving licence;
  • the period commencing on the issue of the probationary driving licence and ending on the cancellation of it when the probationary driving licence was cancelled under regulation 12I of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations (Cap.374B).

What are the Restrictions

A probationary driving licence holder is subject to additional driving restrictions on top of existing ones applicable to ordinary motorists. Specifically, he is:

  • required to display a “P” plate at the front and rear of the vehicle he is driving (in the case of a private car or light goods vehicle, display of the “P” plate on the windscreens is also acceptable, but the “P” plate must be displayed on the left-hand side of the windscreens);
  • not allowed to carry any passenger on the motor cycle or motor tricycle he is driving (applicable to motorcyclists only);
  • not allowed to drive at a speed in excess of 70km/h even on roads with speed limit above 70 km/h;
  • not allowed to drive on the offside lane of expressways where there are 3 or more traffic lanes.

Undergo the Probationary Driving Period

You can apply for a full driving licence to drive a vehicle class within 3 years from the date of satisfactory completion of the relevant probationary driving period. Assessment of the performance of a probationary driving licence holder is based on the number and nature of road traffic offence committed by him during the probationary driving period. Get more details from the links below:

Extension of Probationary Driving Period

If you are convicted of a “minor” road traffic offence and such offence was committed during your probationary driving period, the probationary driving period shall be extended by 6 months. A “minor” road traffic offence refers to one which carries less than 10 driving-offence points or the violation of one of the additional driving restrictions.

Cancellation of Probationary Driving Licence

If you are convicted of a “serious” road traffic offence or two or more “minor” road traffic offences, your probationary driving licence shall be cancelled. A “serious” road traffic offence refers to one which carries 10 or more driving-offence points. Click the links below to learn more about the driving-offence points system.

Conviction of Traffic Offence Committed during the Probationary Driving Period

If you hold a probationary driving licence for two vehicle classes (e.g., private car and light goods vehicle) and commit a road traffic offence while driving either a private car or a light goods vehicle during the probationary driving period, upon conviction of the offence, your probationary driving licence for both vehicle classes will be affected in terms of extension of probationary driving period or cancellation of probationary / full driving licence.

Cancellation of Full Driving Licence

If you have committed a road traffic offence during the probationary driving period but have not been convicted of that offence during the probationary driving period, you will still be eligible to apply for a full driving licence. However, the full driving licence that you have obtained shall be cancelled if you are convicted of any of the offence at a later date, and also the licence fee paid shall not be refunded.

In submitting an application for a full driving licence, you need to pay attention to whether you have committed a road traffic offence during the probationary driving period and whether you have fulfilled the relevant requirements for obtaining a full driving licence, in order to avoid any subsequent cancellation of your full driving licence upon conviction of the offence.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers for some frequently asked questions are provided in the link below to facilitate your understanding of the Scheme. You may also call 1823 or the Transport Department Hotline at 2804 2600 if you have further enquiries.

Drive Safe

There are certainly more to learn about driving safety. Check out the links below for details.

Back to top

Last review date: June 2013

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

暂准驾驶执照计划

为促进道路安全,政府将暂准驾驶执照计划扩展至私家车及轻型货车。所有暂准驾驶执照持有人必须遵守额外的行车限制,并在成功通过暂准驾驶期后,才可申领正式驾驶执照。

适用范围

任何人士在2009年2月9日或以后报考私家车或轻型货车驾驶考试,或在2000年10月1日或以后报考电单车或机动三轮车驾驶考试而获取及格后,须先申请暂准驾驶执照。法例规定,暂准驾驶执照持有人须通过12个月的暂准驾驶期。

怎样申领暂准驾驶执照

在相关种类汽车驾驶考试各部分取得及格后,你可在及格日起计3年内申领该种类汽车的暂准驾驶执照,以下连结载有详细的申领程序:

申领暂准驾驶执照

怎样计算暂准驾驶期

暂准驾驶期由每种类汽车的暂准驾驶执照发出日期开始计算,但以下情况将不会计算在暂准驾驶期内:

  • 法庭取消驾驶资格期间;
  • 非持有有效暂准驾驶执照期间;
  • 当暂准驾驶执照根据《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》(第374B章附属法例)第12I条被取消时,该执照发出日期起至其被取消期间。

暂准驾驶期内的额外行车限制

除现时适用于一般驾驶者的限制外,暂准驾驶执照持有人须同时遵守额外的驾驶限制,包括:

  • 驾驶期间,必须在车辆的前面及后面展示「P」字牌(若驾驶私家车或轻型货车时,可在挡风玻璃左边贴上「P」字牌);
  • 驾驶电单车或机动三轮车时不得接载乘客(只适用于电单车或机动三轮车司机)
  • 即使在时速限制超过每小时70公里的路段行驶,车速也不得超过每小时70公里;
  • 在设有3条或以上行车线的快速公路上,不得驾驶车辆行驶最右线。
展示P字牌的规定

通过暂准驾驶期

圆满完成暂准驾驶期后,你可于3年内申领相关种类汽车的正式驾驶执照。暂准驾驶执照持有人的表现,是根据他在暂准驾驶期内,驾驶该种类汽车时触犯道路交通违例事项的次数和性质来评定,以下连结载有详细资料:

暂准驾驶期内触犯道路交通违例事项的影响申领正式驾驶执照

延长暂准驾驶期

若你在暂准驾驶期内触犯了一次「轻微」的道路交通违例事项,你的暂准驾驶期会延长6个月。「轻微」道路交通违例事项即是可令驾驶者被记少于10分的违例事项,或任何一项适用于暂准驾驶执照持有人的额外行车限制。

取消暂准驾驶执照

若你在暂准驾驶期内触犯了一次「严重」的道路交通违例事项,或两次或以上的「轻微」道路交通违例事项,你的暂准驾驶执照会被取消。「严重」道路交通违例事项即是可令驾驶者被记10分或以上的违例事项。按以下连结了解违例驾驶记分制度的详情。

违例驾驶记分制度暂准驾驶期内触犯道路交通违例事项的影响

暂准驾驶期间触犯道路交通违例事项而被定罪

若你的暂准驾驶执照包含两种类汽车,例如私家车及轻型货车,并在暂准驾驶期间驾驶私家车或轻型货车时触犯道路交通违例事项,一经定罪,两种类汽车的暂准驾驶期也会受影响。换言之,两者的暂准驾驶期也须延长,或两者的暂准/正式驾驶执照也会被取消。

正式驾驶执照或会被取消

如你在暂准驾驶期内触犯道路交通违例事项,但未被法庭定罪,你仍可申领正式驾驶执照。不过,如果日后你被法庭裁定该项违例罪名成立,则已获发的正式驾驶执照将被取消,而已缴付的牌照费亦不会获得退还。

因此,申请正式驾驶执照时,你应留意曾否在暂准驾驶期间触犯道路交通违例事项,以及是否已经符合领取正式驾驶执照的资格,以免日后因有关违例事项被定罪而引致该正式驾驶执照被取消。

常见问题

以下连结载有暂准驾驶执照计划的常见问题和答案,你亦可致1823或运输署热线2804 2600进一步查询。

常见问题更多有关暂准驾驶执照计划

安全驾驶

安全驾驶学问多,你可按以下连结了解驾驶者应有的态度和注意事项:

道路使用者守则危险驾驶酒后驾驶遵守交通灯号(pdf 档案)倒车安全(pdf 档案)佩戴安全带禁止驾驶时使用手提式流动电话按提示助你驶过廻旋处
修订日期:2017年4月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度