Payment of Tax in Dispute and Interest on Tax Held Over

When you lodge an objection or appeal against an assessment, you may have to pay tax before having the result and subsequently pay the interest on the tax held over. This article will tell you about different situations for payment of tax in dispute and interest on tax held over pending the result of the objection or appeal.

Payment of Tax in Dispute

Notwithstanding any notice of objection or appeal lodged by you, tax shall be paid on or before the date(s) specified in the notice of assessment, unless the Commissioner orders that the payment of tax or any part of it be held over pending the result of such objection or appeal.

The Commissioner may order the holdover of payment of tax, or any part thereof, conditional upon the person who or on whose behalf the objection or appeal is made providing security for the payment of the tax, or any part thereof, the payment of which is held over either:

  • by purchasing a certificate issued under the Tax Reserve Certificates Ordinance (Cap. 289); or
  • by furnishing a banker’s undertaking,

as the Commissioner may require.

Interest on Tax Held Over

If payment of tax was held over unconditionally or conditionally upon the provision of a banker's undertaking pending the result of objection or appeal, interest shall be payable on so much of the tax held over which, upon the withdrawal or final determination of the objection or appeal, is found to be payable, at the rate specified in section 71(11) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

The rate is fixed from time to time by the Chief Justice by notice in the Gazette under section 50 of the District Court Ordinance (Cap. 336). Interest accrues from the due date for payment of the tax specified in the notice of assessment or the date of the order for holdover of payment of tax, whichever is the later, up to the date of withdrawal or final determination of the objection or appeal.

More on Judgment Interest Rate
Last review date: February 2017

缴付所争议的税款及获缓缴税款的利息

当你就评税作出反对或上诉通知,你或须要在等候反对或上诉结果期间缴付税款和日后缴付获缓缴税款的利息。本文提供有关缴付所争议的税款和获缓缴税款利息的资料。

缴付所争议的税款

即使你已作出反对通知或上诉通知,你仍须在评税通知书所指明的日期或之前缴付税款,除非税务局局长命令在等候该项反对或上诉的结果时,你可获缓缴整笔税款或其部分。

税务局局长可发出附加条件的缓缴税款命令,即命令提出反对或上诉的纳税人或由他人代为提出反对或上诉的纳税人按税务局局长的规定为获准缓缴的税款或其部分而提供以下的缴款保证:

  • 购买根据《储税券条例》(第289章) 发出的储税券;或
  • 提供银行承诺。

获缓缴税款的利息

如果你在等候反对或上诉结果期间获准无条件缓缴税款,或在提供银行承诺的条件下缓缴税款,而在有关反对或上诉被撤回或获最终裁定时,获缓缴的税款或其部分成为须缴付税款,则你必须按《税务条例》第71(11)条指明的利率缴付利息。

上述的利率是由终审法院首席法官根据《区域法院条例》(第336章) 第50条而不时厘定,并藉宪报公布。利息是由评税通知书所指明的缴税日期或在缓缴税款命令发出日期 (以较迟的为准) 起累算至有关的反对或上诉被撤回或获最终裁定的日期为止。

有关判定债项利息的资料
修订日期:2019年5月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度