Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

Everyone of us has the right to seek justice in law. When you need legal representation before the court but are unable to afford it because of your means, you may apply for legal aid from the Legal Aid Department (LAD) or legal representation from the Duty Lawyer Service (the Service) in Magistrates, Juvenile and Coroner’s Courts.

When you need legal advice on a problem you face, you can use the free legal advice service provided by the Service. You can also pay for a lawyer to give legal advice or represent you in court.

Here's how to get legal advice and assistance when you need it.

Legal Aid from Legal Aid Department

Legal aid is a means by which eligible applicants can obtain legal representation by a solicitor and, if necessary, a barrister in proceedings before the courts. The service is provided by the LAD to any person in Hong Kong, both residents and non-residents.

Legal aid provided by the LAD is available for proceedings in:

  • the District Court
  • the Court of First Instance
  • the Court of Appeal
  • the Court of Final Appeal
  • the Magistrates' Courts (committal proceedings only)
  • Mental Health Review Tribunal
  • Coroner's Court (in the interests of public justice)

If your application for legal aid is successful, the Director of Legal Aid will assign a lawyer, either in-house or in private practice to represent you. If your case is assigned out, the LAD will monitor the continued merits of your case and its progress.

Types of Legal Aid Schemes

There are two Legal Aid Schemes:

  • Ordinary Legal Aid Scheme:
    For civil proceedings: it covers civil cases such as family and matrimonial disputes, personal injuries claims, employment disputes, contractual disputes, immigration matters and professional negligence claims.
    For criminal proceedings: it covers committal proceedings (proceedings before a Magistrate for determining whether there is enough evidence against a defendant for a criminal case to be transferred to the High Court for trial or sentence) in the Magistrates' Courts, cases tried in the District Court and the Court of First Instance of the High Court, as well as appeals from the Magistrates' Courts and to the Court of Appeal of the High Court or the Court of Final Appeal.
  • Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme:
    It is available to people whose financial resources are over the limit permitted for Ordinary Legal Aid but below a stated amount. The scheme covers cases involving personal injuries or death, medical, dental or legal professional negligence, where the claim for damages is likely to exceed $60,000 as well as claims under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance irrespective of the amount of the claim.

Who are Eligible

To successfully apply for legal aid, you must pass the means test and merits test.

  • Means test :
    For civil cases, no matter you are applying for Ordinary Legal Aid or Supplementary Legal Aid, your financial resources should not exceed the statutory limit. In some cases, the Director may waive the upper limit where a breach of certain basic human rights is an issue.

    For criminal cases, the Director may grant legal aid to an applicant whose financial resources exceed the upper limit if the Director is satisfied that it is desirable in the interests of justice to do so.

    For more details about the means test, you can refer to the links below.

    Financial resources limits for applying for legal aidhttp://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/las/fe.html
    How to calculate financial resources for applicants of legal aidhttp://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/las/fe.html

  • Merits test :
    For civil cases, you need to show you have reasonable grounds for taking or defending proceedings. For criminal cases, legal aid will be granted to you for trial if it is desirable in the interests of justice to do so. For criminal appeal cases, it must be shown that there are valid grounds of appeal.

Legal Aid Contributions

If you pass the means and merits tests and legal aid is offered to you, you may be required to pay a contribution towards the costs and expenses based on your financial resources.

In civil cases, you may also need to pay for the costs and expenses that are not recovered from your opponent out of the money or property you get or keep in the proceedings.

You can check out how much you need to pay for legal aid on the following link:

How to calculate legal aid contributionshttp://www.lad.gov.hk/eng/ppr/publication/frc.html

How to Apply

In Person

  • Civil Cases
    You can apply in person at the following offices of the LAD:

    Headquarters
    24/F Queensway Government Offices
    66 Queensway, Hong Kong

    Kowloon Branch Office
    G/F Mongkok Government Offices
    30 Luen Wan Street
    Mong Kok, Kowloon

    Opening hours:
    Monday – Friday: 8:45 am – 1 pm and 2 – 5:15 pm
    Saturday: 9 am – 12 noon
    Tel: 2537 7677
    Email : ladinfo@lad.gov.hkmailto:ladinfo@lad.gov.hk

    You have to fill in the relevant questionnaires and forms which can be collected from the enquiry counter at the office of the LAD. When you have provided all the required information, you will be given an appointment for an interview.

    If your case is urgent, you should inform the staff at the enquiry counter and the LAD will accord priority to your application.

    You do not have to pay an application fee unless you are applying for legal aid under the Supplementary Legal Aid Scheme.

  • Criminal Cases
    If you are in custody, you can tell the prison staff that you want to apply for legal aid, and they will help you fill in the application form and forward it to the LAD. In most cases, an officer of the LAD will visit you in prison to discuss the case with you.

    If you are not in custody, you can apply for legal aid in person at the following office of the LAD:

    Crime Section
    25/F, Queensway Government Offices
    66 Queensway, Hong Kong

    Opening hours:
    Monday – Thursday: 8:45 am – 1 pm and 2 – 5:45 pm
    Friday: 8:30 am – 1 pm and 2 – 6 pm
    Tel: 2537 7677
    E-mail : ladinfo@lad.gov.hkmailto:ladinfo@lad.gov.hk

Whether you are applying for civil or criminal legal aid, you should bring along all supporting documents for the means test and merits test (e.g. bank books, salary slips, rental receipts, mortgage repayment schedule, salaries tax assessment, proof of Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA)). You do not have to pay an application fee.

Online

If you are over the age of 18 and it is a non-urgent case, you can submit pre-application information online for civil and criminal cases as a first step towards making an application for legal aid through the Legal Aid Electronic Services Portal (LAESP).

By accessing LAESP, you can download the “Legal Aid Pre-application Information Forms” after answering some key questions. Upon completion of the form, you will need an electronic certificate to forward the form online to LAD. The electronic certificate protects the confidentiality of the information submitted. LAD will acknowledge receipt of the information through LAESP and you will be assigned a transaction reference number.

If LAD considers that the information supplied is sufficient, you will be given an appointment to make a formal application. As LAD will have most of the information required by that time, the processing time will be shortened.

Access LAESP
http://www.lad.gov.hkhttp://www.lad.gov.hk

Processing Time

  • For Civil Cases
    You will be informed of the result within 3 months. It may be necessary for the LAD to obtain additional information from third parties such as banks, other government departments or the Hospital Authority in order to determine your means and the merits of your case.
  • For Criminal Cases
    You will be informed of the result within 8 working days of the application for committal proceedings, and 10 working days for cases in the District Court or Court of First Instance. For appeals against sentence, you will normally be notified of the outcome within 2 months, and for appeals against conviction, within 3 months.

    Whether you are applying for civil or criminal legal aid, you should refrain from enquiring about your application during the periods mentioned, as this will cause delay. If your application is not determined within the period mentioned, you will be informed of the position.

When You are Offered Legal Aid

You should read all the terms of the offer very carefully, especially the part about the amount of your contribution. For civil cases, if the terms are acceptable, you must sign the “Offer of Legal Aid” form and return it together with your contribution payment, if required, to the LAD within 14 days.

Once you have accepted the offer, a Legal Aid Certificate will be issued to you, which confirms that you have been granted legal aid.

For criminal cases, if you are eligible for legal aid without payment of a contribution, you will simply be sent a Legal Aid Certificate. You will not need to complete the offer form to confirm your acceptance of the offer.

When You are Refused Legal Aid

  • For Civil Cases
    You may appeal to the Registrar of the High Court against the refusal of your application for legal aid. The decision of the Registrar is final.
  • For Criminal Cases
    If you are refused legal aid because your case lacks merits, the judge hearing your case/appeal may grant you legal aid provided you are eligible on means.

    If your case/appeal involves murder, treason or piracy with violence, the judge hearing your case/appeal may grant you legal aid and exempt you from the means test and the payment of contribution.

Whether you are applying for civil or criminal legal aid, if your application is for legal aid to appeal to the Court of Final Appeal and is refused, you may apply to a Review Committee made up of the Registrar of the High Court and a representative each of the Hong Kong Bar Association and the Law Society of Hong Kong. The decision of the Review Committee is final.

If your application, whether for civil or criminal legal aid, was refused on means and there have been changes to your financial circumstances since the refusal so that your financial resources are now reduced to a level below that of the financial eligibility limit, you may re-apply for legal aid. However, the Director of Legal Aid may refuse legal aid if you have disposed of any capital or income or failed to maximise your earnings so as to reduce your financial resources for the purpose of satisfying the financial limit.

Legal Assistance from other Departments and NGOs

The Free Legal Advice Scheme is provided by The Duty Lawyer Service. It gives preliminary legal advice to people as to their legal position in genuine cases free of charge.

The scheme has nine Legal Advice Centres in Central & Western, Eastern, Islands, Kwun Tong, Shatin, Tsuen Wan, Wanchai, Wong Tai Sin and Yau Tsim Mong district offices of Home Affairs Department. Volunteer qualified lawyers are available from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm one evening a week, except those in Wan Chai Centre, which opens twice a week. The addresses and telephone numbers and locations of Legal Advice Centres are as below:
List of Duty Lawyer Service - Legal Advice Centreshttp://www.dutylawyer.org.hk/en/free/legal.asp

How to Apply

If you wish to seek free legal advice from the scheme, you need to attend a referral agency to make an appointment to meet the volunteer lawyer at the Legal Advice Centre you selected. You can also check out the referral agencies on the following link:
Referral agencies of Free Legal Advice Schemehttp://www.dutylawyer.org.hk/en/free/referral.htm

You should be able to meet a volunteer lawyer generally within 2 weeks after you make the appointment. Please be noted that the scheme only provides preliminary legal advice as to your legal position. You will not be offered any follow-up service nor legal representation. Clients who have been granted legal aid or engaged a private lawyer are not eligible for the scheme.

Legal Advice and Assistance offered by Legal Professional Bodies

You can also seek legal advice and assistance from the following professional bodies:

  • The Law Society of Hong Kong
    The Law Society of Hong Kong does not provide legal advice service to members of the public. If you wish to hire a solicitor, you may consult the Law List and the Directory of Law Firms on its website. On the website, you can search solicitors or law firms in Hong Kong according to the areas of practice.

    There is also a Free Legal Consultation section on the website of ChooseHKLawyer, managed by the Law Society of Hong Kong. This website lists the solicitors' firms who have volunteered to provide not more than 45 minutes of free legal consultation in one or more areas of practice. For more information, you can refer to the following links:
    The Law Society of Hong Konghttp://www.hklawsoc.org.hk/pub_e/default.asp
    ChooseHKLawyerhttp://www.choosehklawyer.org/en/index.asp

  • The Hong Kong Bar Association
    You should go to a solicitor first for advice on whether you need a barrister. A barrister is an expert in advocacy and specialised in litigation. You can also instruct a barrister to give you legal advice, or to draft documents related to litigation.

    The Bar Free Legal Service Scheme launched by The Hong Kong Bar Association provides free legal advice and representation in cases where legal aid is not available and the applicant is unable to afford the proceedings. For details, you can click on the following link:
    Hong Kong Bar Associationhttp://www.hkba.org/

Back to top

Last review date: December 2010

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

如何寻求法律谘询及支援

法律面前人人有权寻求公义。如你需要律师代表你在区域法院或以上级别的法院进行诉讼,或在裁判法院进行交付审判程序,却因缺乏经济能力而无法负担,可向法律援助署申请法律援助;你亦可向当值律师服务申请法律代表,为你在裁判法院、少年法庭及死因裁判法庭出庭辩护。

如你遇到问题需要咨询法律意见,可使用当值律师服务提供的免费法律咨询。你亦可自行聘请律师向你提供法律意见,或代表你出庭。

本文载述如何寻求所需的法律谘询及支援。

法律援助署提供的法律援助

法律援助为合资格申请人提供律师,并在有需要时提供大律师,代表在法庭进行诉讼。此服务由法律援助署提供,任何在本港人士,不论是本地居民抑或是非本地居民,均可申请。

法律援助署提供的法律援助范围,包括在以下法庭进行的法律程序:

  • 区域法院
  • 高等法院原讼法庭
  • 高等法院上诉法庭
  • 终审法院
  • 裁判法院(只限交付审判程序)
  • 精神健康覆核审裁处
  • 死因裁判法庭(为维护社会公义)

如你的法律援助申请获得批准,法律援助署署长会委派署内律师或私人执业律师代表你进行法律程序。如你的案件外判,法律援助署会定期监察案情及其进度。

法律援助计划类别

法律援助署提供两类法律援助计划:

  • 普通法律援助计划:
    民事诉讼:涵盖的讼案类别包括家事及婚姻纠纷、人身伤害申索、劳资纠纷、合约纠纷、入境事宜及专业疏忽申索。
    刑事诉讼:涵盖范围包括裁判法院进行的交付审判程序(由裁判官裁决是否有足够证据将被告交付高等法院审讯或判刑的程序)、在区域法院及高等法院原讼法庭审讯的案件、就裁判法院的裁决提出上诉的案件,以及向高等法院上诉法庭或终审法院提出上诉的案件。
  • 法律援助辅助计划:
    此计划为财务资源超出普通法律援助计划的申请限额,而又不超过某一金额的人士而设。计划适用于索偿额很可能超过港币60,000元的人身伤害或死亡申索;医疗、牙科或另外9个专业涉及疏忽的申索;关于保险人或其中介人在销售个人保险产品时涉及疏忽的申索;以及就售卖一手住宅物业向卖方提出的金钱申索。法律援助辅助计划亦涵盖根据《雇员补偿条例》提出的申索,以及在针对劳资审裁处所作裁决而提出的上诉中,为雇员提供法律代表,不论争议金额为何。

申请资格

要成功申请法律援助,你必须通过经济审查及案情审查。

  • 经济审查:
    如属民事案件,不论你根据普通法律援助计划或法律援助辅助计划申请法律援助,你的财务资源均不得超过法定限额。在某些案件中,法律援助署署长或会基于案件涉及违反某些基本人权为诉讼争议课题,免除上述财务资源限额的规定。
     
    如属刑事案件,法律援助署署长如认为给予申请人法律援助有助维护公义,可免除上述财务资源限额的规定而批出法律援助,但申请人须按其财务资源,缴付较高的分担费。
     
    有关经济审查的详情,可浏览以下网址:
    申请法律援助的财务资源上限
    怎样计算法律援助申请人的财务资源
    财务资料一览表
  • 案情审查:
    就民事案件而言,你须具备合理理据提出诉讼或抗辩。至于刑事案件,如审讯有助维护公义,便会批出法律援助。至于刑事上诉案件,申请人必须具备合理的上诉理由。

法律援助分担费

假如你通过经济审查及案情审查,并获批法律援助,你或须按你所拥有的财务资源就诉讼费用及其他费用缴付分担费。

欲知所需缴付的分担费,请浏览以下网址:
如何计算法律援助诉讼的分担费
财务资料一览表

署署长的第一押记

不论受助人是否须缴付分担费,如他/她从获批予法律援助的诉讼讨回或保留任何金钱或物业,便须以获讨回或保留的金钱或物业,向法律援助署署长清还法律援助署支付的讼费及其他费用,包括在法律援助证书批出前所招致的费用。法律援助署署长从受助人在诉讼中讨回或保留的财产扣除讼费及其他费用或不足之数的权利,称为法律援助署署长的第一押记。

有关法律援助诉讼的分担讼费及法律援助署署长第一押记的详情,请参阅「法律援助诉讼的分担讼费及法律援助署署长的第一押记」小册子,或观看「讼费支付责任及索偿款项收取程序」短片。

如何申请

亲自申请

  • 民事诉讼
    你可亲身前往下列法律援助署办事处提出申请:

    总部
    香港金钟道66号
    金钟道政府合署25楼

    九龙分署
    九龙旺角联运街30号
    旺角政府合署地下

    办公时间:
    星期一至四:上午8时45分至下午1时及下午2时至5时45分
    星期五:上午8时30分至下午1时及下午2时至6时
    电话:2537 7677
    电邮:ladinfo@lad.gov.hk
     
    你须填妥于法律援助署办事处索取的有关问卷及表格。在你提供一切所需资料后,法律援助署会替你安排约见时间。

    如你的案件情况紧急,请通知询问处的职员,法律援助署会优先处理你的申请。
     
    除根据法律援助辅助计划提出的申请外,你无须缴付申请费。
  • 刑事诉讼
    如你已被拘留,你可以通知惩教署的职员你希望申请法律援助,他们会协助你填写申请表格,并转交法律援助署。在大多数情况下,法律援助署会派员到狱中与你会晤,讨论有关案件。
     
    如你并不是被拘留,你可亲身前往下列法律援助署办事处提出申请:
     
    刑事组
    香港金钟道66号
    金钟道政府合署25楼

    办公时间:
    星期一至四:上午8时45分至下午1时及下午2时至5时45分
    星期五:上午8时30分至下午1时及下午2时至6时
    电话:2537 7677
    电邮:ladinfo@lad.gov.hk

不论你申请民事或刑事法律援助,均须带备所有证明文件(如银行存摺、粮单、租务单据、按揭还款表、薪俸税评税表、综合社会保障援助(综援)的证明文件等),以供经济审查及案情审查之用。除根据法律援助辅助计划提出的申请外,你无须缴付申请费。

网上申请

如你年满18岁,而申请涉及的诉讼并非紧急案件,可透过法律援助电子服务入门网站(入门网站),于网上提交预办申请所需资料,以便日后正式提交民事和刑事法律援助的申请。

登入入门网站后,你须回答一些关键问题,便可下载「预办申请所需资料表格」。填妥表格后,你需要使用数码证书,才可于网上向法律援助署递交表格。法律援助署在收到资料后,会透过入门网站向你发出一个电子档号以作确认。

如法律援助署认为你提交的资料足够,便会通知你约见日期,以便正式办理法律援助申请。由于届时法律援助署已有大部分所需的资料,处理申请的时间将会缩短。

登入法律援助电子服务入门网站
http://www.lad.gov.hk

审批申请时间

  • 民事诉讼
    在一般情况下,你会在递交正式申请后3个月内收到有关申请结果的通知。法律援助署可能需要向第三者,如银行、其他政府部门或医院管理局等索取进一步资料,以决定你的经济状况及案情是否符合申请资格。
  • 刑事诉讼
    在一般情况下,就交付审判程序而言,你会在递交正式申请后8个工作天内收到有关申请结果的通知,而区域法院或原讼法庭的案件则需10个工作天。就上诉要求减刑的申请而言,你通常会在递交申请后2个月内收到有关申请结果的通知,而上诉推翻定罪判案的案件,则会在3个月内收到回复。

不论你申请民事或刑事法律援助,请尽量避免在审批时间内查询申请的进度,因这样会延误你的申请的审批工作。如法律援助署未能在上述时间内决定是否接纳你的申请,也会把情况通知你。

当你获提供法律援助

你应仔细阅读提供法律援助文件内的各项条款,尤其是有关分担费的部分。就民事诉讼而言,假如你接纳所载的条款,便须在「提供法律援助及同意接受法律援助证书表格」上签署并连同分担费(如适用的话)于14日内交回法律援助署。

如你接受法律援助,法律援助署会向你发出一份法律援助证书,证实你已获批法律援助。

就刑事诉讼而言,假如你符合免费获得法律援助的资格,法律援助署将直接发给你一份法律援助证书,你无须填写确认接受法律援助的表格。

当你的法申请被拒

  • 民事诉讼
    你可以就法律援助申请被拒的决定向高等法院司法常务官提出上诉。司法常务官的决定为最终的决定。
  • 刑事诉讼
    假如你通过经济审查,但于案情审查时被拒,负责审理案件∕上诉的法官仍可向你批出法律援助。

    假如你的案件∕上诉涉及谋杀、叛逆或使用暴力的海盗行为,负责审理案件∕上诉的法官仍可向你批出法律援助,并豁免你接受经济审查及支付分担费。

不论申请民事或刑事法律援助,假如你的申请涉及向终审法院提出上诉而被拒,你可向由高等法院司法常务官、一名香港大律师公会代表及一名香港律师会代表组成的覆核委员会提出上诉。覆核委员会的决定为最终的决定。

不论申请民事或刑事法律援助,假如你的申请因无法通过经济审查而遭拒绝,但其后你的经济状况有变,导致所拥有的财务资源减少至申请限额以下,你可重新提出申请。可是,假如你故意在提出申请前减少任何资产或收入以减低财务资源,又或没有尽力发挥你的赚钱能力,以便符合申请法律援助的财务资格,法律援助署署长可拒绝向你批出法律援助。

法律援助署不会为市民提供法律咨询服务。有关如何在香港寻求法律咨询的详情,可参阅「怎样申请—寻求法律服务」小册子。

当值律师服务提供的法律咨询及支援

由当值律师服务提供的免费法律谘询计划,为实际面对法律问题的市民提供免费的初步法律意见及指导。

此计划共有九个设于民政事务处的法律咨询中心,包括中西区民政事务处、东区民政事务处、离岛民政事务处、观塘民政事务处、沙田民政事务处、荃湾民政事务处、湾仔民政事务处、黄大仙民政事务处及油尖旺民政事务处。除湾仔中心每周开放三晚及中西区中心每周开放两晚外,其他中心每周开放一晚,义务律师会由下午6时30分至8时30分会见市民。你可浏览以下网页得知各区的法律咨询中心的地址及电话:
 
 当值律师服务法律谘询中心

申请办法

如欲使用此计划的免费法律谘询服务,可前往任何一间转介机构预约时间,在所选择的谘询中心会见义务律师。有关转介机构的资料,请浏览以下网址:
免费法律咨询计划的转介机构

你一般可在预约后两周内获安排与义务律师会面。请注意,此计划只就你现有情况提供初步法律意见,不会提供跟进服务或代表你出庭。此计划不适用于已获批法律援助或已聘请私人执业律师的人士。

当值律师服务提供的当值律师计划在所有裁判法院、少年法庭及死因裁判法庭为合资格的被告人提供私人执业律师出庭辩护。有关当值律师计划的详情,可浏览以下网址:

当值律师计划

专业法律团体提供的法律谘询及支援

你亦可向以下专业团体寻求法律谘询及支援:

  • 香港律师会
    香港律师会不会向市民提供法律咨询服务,如你有意聘请律师,可浏览上载该会网站的法律界名录及律师行指南,根据法律范畴搜寻本地律师或律师行。
     
    此外,由香港律师会管理的ChooseHKLawyer网站亦提供免费法律咨询服务的资料,载列同意就一个或多个法律范畴提供不多于45分钟的免费法律咨询服务的律师行。详情可浏览以下连结:
     
    香港律师会
    ChooseHKLawyer
  • 香港大律师公会
    你应先谘询律师意见才决定是否需要聘请大律师。大律师专责为当事人出庭辩护及进行诉讼。你亦可要求大律师提供法律意见,或草拟涉及诉讼的文件。

    由香港大律师公会设立的免费法律服务计划,为无法获得法律援助亦不能负担诉讼程序的人士提供免费法律谘询,并代表当事人出庭。详情可浏览以下连结:
    香港大律师公会
覆检日期:2017年2月