Use of Reclaimed Water

Safe and useable water extracted from sewage in the treatment process is becoming increasingly important around the world. Here you can learn exactly what reclaimed water is and how it is being used in Hong Kong.

What is Reclaimed Water?

Most sewage is treated to a certain standard before discharging into receiving water body – usually a river or the sea. In contrast, reclaimed water is more highly treated to make it clear in appearance, odourless and safe for reuse, and it forms part of the water supply. But there is no plan for replacing drinking water by reclaimed water. Rather, it is used in other areas to reduce the overall demand for fresh water.

Why Do We Need Reclaimed Water?

Apart from conserving our drinking water, reclaimed water reduces the amount of  treated effluent that is discharged into the aquatic environment.  This is beneficial to Hong Kong's highly developed fisheries and seafood industry. And in line with experience around the world, reclaimed water could be used here in the following ways.

  • Cleaning roads and vehicles
  • Irrigating parks and sport fields
  • Flushing toilets
  • Fire fighting
  • Industrial production
  • Urban development and landscaping 

With these applications in mind, the Government has developed pilot schemes to explore the possible uses of reclaimed water in Hong Kong.

More information on the importance of reclaimed water

Use of Reclaimed Water in Hong Kong

At present, the “Reclaimed Water” schemes launched at Ngong Ping Sewage Treatment Works and Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works are the largest among other sewage treatment works, to promote the use of reclaimed water.

The first scheme at Ngong Ping was commissioned in 2006 when the Ngong Ping Sewage Treatment Works opened on Lantau Island. As the first tertiary treatment works in Hong Kong to produce reclaimed water, Ngong Ping Sewage Treatment Works uses a sequencing batch reactor, dual media filter and disinfection process to reduce organic pollutants, suspended solids, nutrients and pathogenic organisms from sewage to a very low level. The reclaimed water produced is odourless and safe. It is currently used for toilet flushing in nearby public toilets and the Ngong Ping Cable Car Terminal, and also for rearing aquarium fishes and controlled irrigation within the sewage treatment works.

The water reclamation facilities at Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works, which were commissioned in early 2011, comprise three filtration parts, namely disc filters, ultra-filtration membranes and reverse osmosis membranes.  At present, the DSD generated over 1,000 m3 of reclaimed water every day for plant cleaning, garden irrigation, toilet flushing and chemicals dilution.

Including Ngong Ping Sewage Treatment Works and Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works, there are 5 sewage treatment works equipped with water reclamation facilities in Hong Kong.  It is expected that valuable information will be collected on how reclaimed water can be used in other parts of Hong Kong.

Last revision date: June 2017

使用「再造水」

在世界各地,如何将污水处理成为安全的循环再用水,已成日益重要的课题。本文将介绍甚么是再造水以及它在香港的用途。

什么是「再造水」?

大部分的污水经处理并达到一定的标准后,便会排放到河流或大海。相反,再造水会经过更严谨的处理,令它回复清彻、无味及可供安全再用,并成为供水系统的一部分。但你可以放心,现时没有计划利用再造水来代替食水。再造水只会用于其他范畴,目的是减少我们对淡水的整体需求。

为什么需要「再造水」?

再造水不但可以节约食水,而且可以减少流入自然环境中的污染物,这对香港发展成熟的捕鱼业和水产业都有莫大益处。参考世界其他地方的经验,再造水可以用于以下用途:

  • 清洗街道和洗车
  • 灌溉公园及运动场的植物
  • 冲厕
  • 灭火
  • 工业生产
  • 市区发展和绿化

政府参考了上述用途后,已制定出试验计划,以探讨再造水在香港的可行用途。

有关再造水重要性的详情

「再造水」在香港的用途

现时,政府于不同污水处理厂进行「再造水」试验计划,以推广再造水的使用。而最具规模的「再造水」生产设施分别位于昂坪污水处理厂和沙田污水处理厂。

首项计划在2006年随着大屿山的昂坪污水处理中心启用而正式投入运作。昂坪污水处理中心是香港首间处理再造水的三级污水处理厂,采用生物反应池、双滤层滤池和消毒程序,将污水中的有机污染物、悬浮固体、营养物以及病原微生物减至极低水平。经再造的水安全无味,现在用于附近的公共洗手间及昂坪缆车站作冲厕用途,部分再造水亦会用于饲养污水处理厂内鱼池的观赏鱼,及作为厂内有监控的灌溉之用。

沙田污水处理厂的「再造水」生产设施于2011年年初投入运作,设施主要由三组过滤部件组成,包括碟形过滤器、超过滤薄膜及逆渗透薄膜。现时,渠务署每日生产超过1,000立方米的再造水,用以清洗厂房、灌溉园林、冲厕及稀释化学品。

包括昂坪污水处理厂及沙田污水处理厂在内,香港共有5间污水处理厂设有再造水设施,以提供宝贵的资料,让我们探讨如何在香港其他地区使用再造水。

修订日期:2017年6月