Sewage Treatment & Charges

Sewage is something that every human settlement must deal with: we treat it lightly at our peril, we put ourselves at risk of water-borne diseases outbreak. The responsible handling of sewage is a big factor in maintaining safe and healthy communities, and everybody has a role to play.

Sewage Treatment in Hong Kong

Making sure that sewage is dealt with effectively and in a cost-efficient way is a huge challenge. Around 93% of the populace is served by the public sewerage system, with its sewerage network of about 1,700 kilometres and around 300 sewage pumping stations and sewage treatment plants collecting and treating 2.8 million cubic metres sewage per day.

Sewage Treatment Facilities in Hong Kong

Sewerage Master Plans

The Environmental Protection Department has devised 16 Sewerage Master Plans to serve the sewerage needs of each catchment area in Hong Kong. These plans provide blueprints of the infrastructure required to collect sewage and direct it to treatment facilities before disposal into the sea. The recommendations of the plans are being implemented progressively to cater for the present and future development needs of Hong Kong. The plans are subject to regular review concerning revised population forecasts and the expected level of development.

Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

The Government has also upgraded the harbour area sewage treatment at a strategic level through the implementation of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS). Stage 1 of HATS, which was brought into full operation in late 2001, included the construction of a chemically enhanced primary sewage treatment works on Stonecutters Island. The treated sewage is discharged through an outfall into the western part of the harbour. The areas served by Stage 1 include the whole of the Kowloon Peninsula, Tseung Kwan O, Kwai Chung, Tsing Yi, Tsuen Wan, Shau Kei Wan and Chai Wan. The works of Stage 2A commenced in July 2009 and the relevant facilities were commissioned in late 2015, redirecting the remaining 25% of sewage from the northern and southwestern parts of Hong Kong Island, which previously received only preliminary treatment, to the newly expanded Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for chemically enhanced primary treatment, substantially improving the overall water quality of Victoria Harbour.

More on the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

Sewage Services Charging Scheme

The Sewage Services Charging Scheme (the charging scheme) was introduced to recover the operating costs of sewage services. It also implements the polluter-pays principle to facilitate long-term sustainability of our environment. 

There are two types of charges under the charging scheme -

  • Sewage Charge (SC) aims to recover the cost of collecting and treating wastewater at or below domestic strength; and
  • Trade Effluent Surcharge (TES) aims to recover the additional cost of treating effluents of strength stronger than domestic sewage.
More on polluter-pays principle

Sewage Charge

SC is levied on all water users whose premises are connected to public sewers. The amount is calculated according to a prescribed unit rate and the volume of water supplied to the premises (other than that supplied specifically for flushing purposes). Domestic consumers receive an exemption of the first 12 cubic metres of water supplied for every four-month period.

In order to recover the anticipated substantial increase in operating costs when HATS Stage 2A and other additional treatment facilities come into place, the SC is being increased gradually by 9.3% on average annually over a ten-year timeframe beginning from 1 April 2008.  The SC rate for the period of 1 April 2015 to 31 March 2016 is $2.44 per cubic metre of water supplied.

More on Sewage Charge

Trade Effluent Surcharge

TES is the additional charge on top of SC, applying to 27 trades, for the cost incurred in treating effluents of strength typically stronger than domestic sewage. Members of the same trades are subject to trade-specific TES rates, which are based on the respective generic Chemical Oxygen Demand values for each trade. Individual members of a trade are entitled to a lower TES rate if they can, through a reassessment process, demonstrate that the strength of the effluent they discharge is weaker than that prescribed.

More on Trade Effluent Surcharge

Payment Methods

The Water Authority has included SC and TES in the demand notes for water charges. The combined demand notes can be settled through -

  • Autopay
  • PPS
  • Automatic teller machine
  • The Internet
  • In person
  • The post

A surcharge that equals to 5% of the amount overdue may be imposed on accounts that are not paid on time.

More on payment methods

Enquiries

Enquires on matters relating to the Sewage Services Charging Scheme can be made to the Drainage Authority at :

Ground Floor,
Western Magistracy,
2A Pok Fu Lam Road,
Hong Kong
Telephone: 2834 9432
Fax: 2574 5645

Enquires may also be made by downloading a standard request form and returning it to the Drainage Authority. Enquiries not relating to sewage services charges on the demand notes should be made to the Water Authority at 2824 5000.

Standard request form for matters relating to SC and TES
Last revision date: March 2016

污水处理及排污收费

污水是人类居住环境中必须解决的一个问题,妥善处理污水有助减低经由食水传播疾病的危险,保障城市的安全与健康,而我们每人都可以付出一分力。

香港的污水处理

要以有效而符合成本效益的方式处理污水一点也不容易。全港超过93%的人口使用公共污水收集系统,这个系统包括总长度约1,800公里的污水系统网络及约300所污水泵房及污水处理厂,每天负责收集和处理约280万立方米污水。

香港的污水处理设施

污水收集整体计划

环保署拟订了复盖全港的16项「污水收集整体计划」,以集中处理各个污水收集区的污水。计划是污水收集基础设施的蓝本,用以收集全港每个污水收集区的污水,再引流到污水处理厂进行处理,最后才排出海港。为配合香港现时及未来发展的需要,当局已陆续落实各区「污水收集整体计划」中建议的工程。此外,为配合本港新修订的人口预测和预期的发展水平,计划会定期检讨。

净化海港计划

政府透过落实「净化海港计划」,策略性地提升维港两岸的污水处理设施。第一期工程已经于2001 年底全面投入运作,包括于昂船洲建造一个化学强化一级污水处理厂。处理后的污水经隧道排放至维港西面海域。第一期计划的服务地区包括整个九龙半岛、将军澳、葵涌、青衣、荃湾、筲箕湾及柴湾。第二期甲工程于2009年7月展开,相关设施已于2015年年底启用,将余下25%源自港岛北部和西南部并只经基本处理的污水截流,再转送到新扩建的昂船洲污水处理厂作化学强化一级处理,全面提升维港的整体水质。

有关「净化海港计划」的详情

污水处理服务费计划

污水处理服务费计划(服务费计划)旨在收回污水处理服务的营运成本,以及落实污染者自付的原则,让我们的环境可长期持续发展。

服务费计划设以下两项征费 :

  • 排污费用以支付收集和处理含有或低于住宅污水浓度的废水所涉及的成本;及
  • 工商业污水附加费(附加费)用以支付处理高于住宅污水浓度的污水所涉及的额外费用。
有关污染者自付原则的详情

排污费

征收排污费的对象包括其处所连接到公共污水渠的所有用户。有关费用是按订明的收费率及供应该处所的用水量来计算(供应专用以冲厕的水除外)。住宅用户每四个月用水期的首12立方米用水可获豁免收取排污费。

随着净化海港计划第二期甲及其他新增处理设施启用,我们须逐步收回预料大幅增加的营运开支。就此,排污费于2008年4月1日起的十年期内正按每年平均9.3%的增幅调整。自2017年4月1日起,排污费收费率为每立方米供水2.92元。

有关排污费的详情

工商业污水附加费

附加费是排污费以外的额外征费,适用于27种行业,以支付处理高于住宅污水浓度的污水所涉及的额外成本。同一行业的机构须按该行业的特定附加费收费率缴费,收费率按每个行业的基本化学需氧量数值计算。业内个别机构如透过重估程序,能证明所排放污水的浓度低于订明数值,可按较低的收费率缴交附加费。

有关工商业污水附加费的详情

缴费方法

所有污水处理服务费均已包括在由水务署所发出的水费单内,用户可透过以下方式缴费:

  • 自动转帐
  • 「缴费灵」
  • 银行自动柜员机
  • 网上缴费
  • 亲身付款
  • 邮寄付款

如帐单在缴费日期后仍未缴付,用户可被加收未缴付费用的5%的逾期缴费附加费。

有关缴费方法的详情

查询

有关服务费计划的查询,可向排水事务监督提出:

香港薄扶林道2A号 
西区裁判法院地下
电话:2834 9432
传真:2574 5645

用户亦可下载标准申请表格,填妥后交回排水事务监督处理。此外,有关水费单上的其他事项,用户请致电2824 5000向水务监督查询。

有关排污费和附加费事宜的标准申请表格
修订日期:2017年9月