Introduction to Water Quality Issues in Hong Kong

Water quality is of prime importance to Hong Kong. This page will tell you about the Government's water quality control measures, and introduce a range of important issues relating to water that may affect your health.

Water Quality Control in Hong Kong

Although most people take water for granted, it's a valuable resource that can be exposed to contamination. Water pollution can harm marine and freshwater life and cause significant health problems. So the Water Supplies Department strives to ensure the adequacy and safety of the drinking water supply in Hong Kong. The Environmental Protection Department also works hard to improve the beach, river and marine water quality, which has resulted in an increase in the number of clean beaches and a decrease in the number of polluted rivers over recent years. The implementation of Harbour Area Treatment Scheme has also significantly reduced key pollutants.

More on water quality control in Hong Kong

Drinking and Dongjiang Water Quality

Around 70-80% of Hong Kong's fresh water supply is imported from Dongjiang (the East River) intake to Shenzhen Reservoir in neighbouring Guangdong province via a dedicated aqueduct. A series of pollution prevention and control measures have been implemented by the Guangdong authorities to protect its quality. The Government of the Hong Kong SAR and Guangdong authorities have worked closely to strive to maintain the quality of raw water from Dongjiang to conform to the national standard for Type II waters (applicable for the abstraction for human consumption in first class protection area) in the "Environmental Quality Standards for Surface Water, GB 3838-2002". A series of rigorous water treatment processes and close monitoring for raw water is also carried out to make the drinking water supply in Hong Kong one of the safest in the world.

Information about drinking and Dongjiang water quality

Beach Water Quality

The quality of water on our beaches not only affects enjoyment of swimmers, but can also affect their health. The Environmental Protection Department routinely monitors the water quality of Hong Kong's beaches, providing a beach water quality monitoring, rating and advisory warning system and devising long-term pollution-control measures. With these efforts, you can enjoy swimming at the seaside safely.

More on beach water quality

River Water Quality

Because Hong Kong's many rivers and streams are situated in densely populated areas, the effects of river water pollution can be felt by everyone. That's why the Environmental Protection Department undertakes comprehensive monitoring of fresh watercourses in Hong Kong. With a Water Quality Index in place to inform you of potential danger and long-term pollution control strategies at work, you can rest assured that your environment is being protected.

More on river water quality

Marine Water Quality

We rely on the sea surrounding us for food, flushing water, cooling water and sewage disposal mean that marine water quality is vitally important to everyone. The Environmental Protection Department's water quality monitoring programme extends to all marine areas within Hong Kong's territorial limits, and ensures that anti-pollution measures are always based on accurate information.

More on marine water quality

Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

The Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS) is the largest environmental infrastructure project in Hong Kong, with an aim at improving the water quality of Victoria Harbour. The project is implemented in two stages. Stage 1 was commissioned in December 2001, treating about 75% of the sewage daily generated from both sides of Victoria Harbour. With the significant improvements in water quality, the annual cross-harbour swimming race resumed in 2011 after years of suspension. The facilities of Stage 2A came into full operation in December 2015. All sewage from both sides of Victoria Harbour are now conveyed to the Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for centralized treatment, disinfection and then discharged into the western approaches of the harbour.

Information about the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

Use of Reclaimed Water

Reclaimed water is highly treated effluent. The Government has launched “Reclaimed Water” pilot schemes at some of the sewage treatment works to investigate the use of reclaimed water for non-potable purposes (such as toilet flushing) in Hong Kong. Use of reclaimed water will reduce the consumption of drinking water and lower water pollution levels in rivers and the sea. The benefits to you will be a cleaner ecosystem and more sustainable development in the years to come.

More information on the use of reclaimed water

Sewage Treatment and Charges

Proper sewage treatment protects our marine environment and safeguards public health.  At present the Government funds the capital cost of all sewage treatment facilities in full, whereas part of the cost of sewage collection, treatment and disposal is shared within the community in accordance with the polluter-pays principle.

More information on sewage treatment and charges

Red Tide Information

Red tides or algal blooms are natural discolorations of seawater caused by the rapid multiplication of algae. The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department acts as the coordinator of the Red Tide Reporting Network, receiving red tide reports, conducting investigations, providing warnings of the associated risk to marine fish farmers and outlining appropriate measures to reduce loss.

More on red tides

What You Can Do

Your role in improving water quality in Hong Kong is very important. On a practical level, you can reduce your overall water consumption in showers and clothes washing to reduce the amount of waste water. You can also report any pollution incidents to the Environmental Protection Department so action can be taken to minimise possible damage to water quality and the environment.

More on saving waterReport a pollution incident
Last revision date: June 2017

香港的水质概况

良好水质对香港极为重要,本文将介绍政府的水质管制措施,并提供与你的健康息息相关的水质资讯。

香港的水质管制

尽管许多人认为拥有洁净水源是理所当然的事,但事实上,水是很容易受到污染的珍贵资源。水质污染会危害海洋及淡水生态,并会造成严重的卫生问题。因此水务署一直致力确保香港的食水供应充足而安全;环境保护署亦努力改善泳滩、河溪和海水的水质,令香港近年水质良好泳滩的数目增加,受污染河道数目减少。而「净化海港计划」的实施,亦令主要污染物大幅减少。

有关香港水质管制的详情

食水及东江水水质

香港大约百份之七十至八十的淡水是由邻近的广东省以专用输水管道从东江经深圳水库输港。为保护东江水的水质,广东省政府已实施了一系列污染管制和预防措施。香港特区和广东省政府一直保持紧密合作,致力维持东江水水质符合国家《地表水环境质量标准GB3838-2002》第II类标准(适用于集中式生活饮用水地表水源地一级保护区)。所有原水都经严格的处理程序和密切监测,这使香港能够享有最安全的食水供应。

有关食水及东江水水质的详情

泳滩水质

泳滩的水质不但会影响市民游泳的兴致,更会影响泳客的健康。为此,环境保护署定期监测香港的泳滩水质、评估水质、公布最新水质资料,及制定长远的污染管制措施。这些措施可确保泳滩水质,令市民可以安心地在泳滩畅泳。

有关泳滩水质的详情

河溪水质

香港许多河溪位于人口密集的地区,因此河溪污染特别受到关注。为了保护香港内陆水环境,环境保护署对河溪进行全面的水质监测,并应用河溪水质指数,使广大市民了解水污染的潜在风险和污染管制策略的长远目标。

有关于河溪水质的详情

海水水质

我们日常食用的水产、冲厕水、冷却水均来自附近水域,因此,海水水质对每个香港市民都极为重要。环境保护署的水质监测计划已扩展至香港境内的所有水域,并根据准确的资料制定防治污染措施。

有关海水水质的详情

「净化海港计划」

「净化海港计划」是香港历来最庞大的环保基建项目,目标是改善维多利亚港的水质。计划分两期进行,第一期于2001年12月投入运作,每日处理约75%从维港两岸产生的污水,令水质得到显著改善,停办多年的维港渡海泳亦于2011年复办。而第二期甲设施则于2015年12月全面启用。现在,维港两岸的污水已全部输送到昂船洲污水处理厂进行集中处理及消毒,然后再排放到维港以西海域。

有关「净化海港计划」的详情

使用「再造水」

「再造水」是由污水经进行多重处理后产生的。香港特区政府现正于不同污水处理厂进行「再造水」试验计划,探讨「再造水」在香港作非饮用性用途(例如冲厕)的应用。这样有助节约食水,同时减轻河流和海水的水质污染,让你享有更为洁净和可持续发展的生态环境。

有关使用「再造水」的详情

污水处理及收费

我们需要妥善处理污水,以保护本港的海洋环境及保障公众健康。目前建造各项污水处理设施的费用由政府全数承担;社会大众则按照污染者自付的原则,共同分担收集、处理及排放污水所涉及的部分成本。

有关污水处理和收费的详情

红潮资讯

红潮又称为藻华,是由于水藻突然迅速繁殖,而导致海水变色的自然现象。渔农自然护理署是红潮报告网的统筹部门,负责接收红潮报告、进行调查、向养鱼户发出相关风险警报,并建议他们作出适当的措施,以减少损失。

香港红潮资讯网络

一同参与

要改善香港的水质,你的参与十分重要。在日常生活中,你可以节约沐浴和洗衣的用水,从而减少污水量。一旦发现任何污染事故,请向环境保护署投诉,令有关当局可采取适当措施,将污染物对水质及环境的损害减至最低。

更多关于节约用水的资料投诉污染事故
修订日期:2017年6月