Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

The Harbour Area Treatment Scheme is collecting and treating the sewage on both sides of Victoria Harbour. Here you can learn about why the scheme was implemented, its phases and what the polluter pays principle is doing to help improve the water quality of our world renowned harbour.

The Situation

As the water quality in Victoria Harbour affects many people in Hong Kong, the Government initiated the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme. The scheme coordinates the overall sewage collection on both sides of the harbour, which is no easy task given the size of the catchment area. The scheme came into full operation at the end of 2015.

Map showing the scopes of HATS Stage 1 and Stage 2A

Frequently asked questions about the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

Stage 1 and its Accomplishments

Stage 1 of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme treats 75% of the sewage discharged into Victoria Harbour. The infrastructure includes a 23.6 kilometre-long system of deep underground tunnels, with the capacity to move up to 1.7 million tones of sewage from Kowloon and the northeastern part of Hong Kong Island to Stonecutters Island. The treatment facility at Stonecutters is one of the largest of its type in the world. With Stage 1 fully commissioned in December 2001, the overall harbour water quality has substantially improved, which means that you can enjoy a cleaner harbour.

More on Stage 1 of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

Stage 2A and its Accomplishments

The major works of Stage 2A of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme comprised construction of 21 kilometres of deep tunnels conveying the remaining 25% of sewage from northern and south-western parts of Hong Kong Islands to Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for chemically enhanced primary treatment; upgrading eight existing PTW in northern and south-western parts of Hong Kong Island; and upgrading the treatment capacity of Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works and construction of disinfection facilities. After the full commissioning of Stage 2A at the end of 2015, all sewage from both sides of Victoria Harbour are conveyed to Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for treatment, disinfection and discharge into the western approaches of the harbour, the water quality across the harbour is overall enhanced.

Sludge treatment facility at Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works

General information on Stage 2A of the Harbour Area Treatment SchemeMore details on Stage 2A of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

Stage 2B

The Government has completed a review of the implementation of HATS Stage 2B (the Review) which is to provide for an underground biological treatment facility adjacent to the existing SCISTW.  The Review reveals that HATS Stage 2A has already provided adequate capacity to handle the projected sewage flow and the bulk of Victoria Harbour will be in compliance with the Water Quality Objectives (WQOs) upon its commissioning.  The Review thus concludes that in terms of WQOs compliance, the implementation of HATS Stage 2B at this stage is not critical.  Meanwhile, the implementation of HATS Stage 2B will be kept under review taking into account the water quality situation and the latest technological development in biological treatment.

The Polluter Pays Principle

The Harbour Area Treatment Scheme and other sewerage facilities require a significant amount of resources for daily operation in order to sustain our efforts for protecting the marine environment. In accordance with the polluter pays principle, those who create waste have a responsibility for helping to pay to clean it up. We have been applying this principle in the provision of sewage services through implementation of the Sewage Services Charging Scheme, under which we currently recover only part of the operating cost through collection of sewage charge and trade effluent surcharge. The deficits are subsidised by the Government.

More on the polluter pays principleMore on sewage treatment and charges
Last revision date: June 2017

净化海港计划

「净化海港计划」是有关收集和处理维多利亚港两岸污水的大型计划。本文将会介绍实施计划的原因、计划的各个阶段,以及「污染者自付原则」如何协助改善维港的水质。

目前概况

维港的水质与香港市民息息相关,政府因此推出「净化海港计划」。此项计划整体统筹了海港两岸的污水收集工作,计划已于2015年年底全面启用。

「净化海港计划」第一期及第二期甲工程范围图

有关「净化海港计划」的常见问题

第一期工作及成果

「净化海港计划」第一期处理排入维多利亚港75%的污水,其中的基础建设包括全长23.6公里的深层管道,能够将170万吨的污水从九龙和港岛东北部输送到昂船洲的污水处理厂,该污水处理厂是世界上规模最大的同类设施之一。计划第一期自2001年12月投入服务后,维港的整体水质已有显著的改善,让大众可享有更洁净的海港。

有关「净化海港计划」第一期的详情

第二期甲工作及成果

「净化海港计划」第二期甲主要工程包括建造长约21公里的深层污水隧道,把余下25%源自港岛北部和西南部的污水输送到昂船洲污水处理厂进行化学强化一级处理;改善位于港岛北部及西南部合共8 间现有基本污水处理厂;扩大昂船洲污水处理厂的处理量及增建新的污水消毒设施。第二期甲设施于2015年年底启用后,所有来自维多利亚港两岸的污水,都会输送到昂船洲污水处理厂进行处理和消毒,再排放到维港以西海域,维多利亚港的水质得到全面提升。

昂船洲污水处理厂处理污泥的设施

「净化海港计划」第二期甲的一般资料有关「净化海港计划」第二期甲的详情

第二期乙

政府已完成检讨推展净化计划第二期乙,即在现有的昂船洲污水处理厂毗邻建造一所地下生物处理设施。检讨显示,净化计划第二期甲已提供足够容量处理预测的污水量,而在设施启用后,维港大部分水域将符合水质指标。检讨的结论是,就符合水质指标而言,在现阶段推行净化计划第二期乙并无迫切需要。与此同时,我们会根据水质状况和生物处理技术的最新发展,不时检讨净化计划第二期乙的推展工作。

污染者自付原则

若要持续保护海洋环境,我们需要应付「净化海港计划」及其他污水处理设施日常运作所涉及的庞大开支。按照「污染者自付」原则,所有制造废物者均有责任分担清理废物的费用。我们在提供污水处理服务上应用了此项原则,并推行「污水处理服务收费计划」,征收排污费及工商业污水附加费。然而,目前当局透过上述收费计划只能收回污水处理服务营运成本的一部分,而余额则由政府作出补贴。

有关「污染者自付原则」的详情有关污水处理和收费的详情
修订日期:2017年6月