Drinking Water Quality in Hong Kong

Drinking Water Quality in Hong Kong

Safe drinking water is vital to your health and to the continued development of Hong Kong. Here you can gain an overview of how the Water Supplies Department provides drinking water for Hong Kong, and the processes involved in safeguarding its quality. 

Drinking Water Sources

Fresh water is limited in Hong Kong, which experienced water shortages until the 1960s when the Government began to import raw water from Dongjiang (the East River) in neighbouring Guangdong province. Currently, around 70-80% of our fresh water comes directly from Dongjiang, and 20-30% comes from local catchments. An agreement between the Hong Kong SAR Government and the Guangdong authorities ensures the stability of the Dongjiang water supply to Hong Kong, with the water quality meeting the national standard for Type II waters (applicable for the abstraction for human consumption in first class protection area) under the "Environmental Quality Standards for Surface Water, GB 3838-2002". A series of rigorous water treatment processes in Hong Kong then ensures that the drinking water quality complies with the World Health Organization's Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality.

More on water from Dongjiang

Water from Dongjiang

Maintaining a consistently high level of water quality requires meticulous planning, comprehensive infrastructure and logistical coordination. Over the past ten years or so, the Government of the Hong Kong SAR has worked closely in partnership with the Guangdong authorities to protect the quality of water imported from Dongjiang. One of the most significant initiatives has been the construction and operation of a dedicated aqueduct that has isolated the sources of water pollution along the route of supply to Hong Kong via the Shenzhen Reservoir. Other measures to protect the quality of Dongjiang water have included:
 

  • Constructing sewage treatment plants along Dongjiang to reduce pollution.
  • Removing factories from the vicinity of Dongjiang.
  • Moving the water intake upstream, where the water quality is better.
  • Commissioning the Bio-nitrification Plant at the Shenzhen Reservoir in early 1999.
  • Intercepting waste water flowing into the Shenzhen Reservoir.
  • Diverting the discharge of polluted water from the Shima River away from Dongjiang.
  • Designating Dongjiang into water resources protection area of Guangdong.
  • Setting up video surveillance stations in the periphery of Shenzhen Reservoir to strengthen the control of sudden water quality incidents.

The pollution prevention and control measures undertaken by the Guangdong authorities have significantly improved the quality of the Dongjiang water that is supplied to Hong Kong. The situation is continually monitored to ensure the ongoing effectiveness of these measures.

Water Treatment and Distribution in Hong Kong

There are 21 water treatment works in Hong Kong. During the treatment process, raw water is dosed with chemicals such as alum and hydrated lime for coagulation and flocculation and then passed to the clarifiers for settlement of impurities. Clarified water then flows into rapid gravity filters of sand and anthracite to remove fine particles, after which chlorine and hydrated lime are added for disinfection and pH adjustment. Fluoride is also added for dental protection. A small amount of residual chlorine is maintained in the treated water to prevent contamination in its journey to your tap.

More on the treatment processMore on the distribution process and water pressure

Monitoring the Quality of Our Drinking Water

Hong Kong enjoys one of the safest water supplies in the world. The Water Supplies Department has a comprehensive programme to monitor water quality from collection, to water treatment processes and on to distribution to consumers. Water samples are taken regularly throughout the entire supply and distribution system. The sampling points include water treatment works, service reservoirs, trunk mains, connection points and domestic taps. The data from these samples are checked against the World Health Organization's Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality, which were developed by experts from around the world. With this international standard of reference, you can rest assured that the water in your home is safe for consumption.

More on drinking-water quality control and the World Health Organization guidelinesDrinking water quality data

What You Can Do to Ensure a Safe Water Supply

The water that comes out of your taps is amongst the safest in the world, as long as the plumbing in your property is properly maintained. Unlined galvanised steel pipes are prone to rusting and have been banned in new buildings since 1995. If you still have unlined galvanised pipes in your building you should replace them with lined galvanised pipes, copper pipes, stainless steel pipes or polyethylene pipes. You should also watch out for discoloured water emerging from your taps, which is a visible indicator of stagnant water. Running the tap for a few seconds should usually fix this problem, but if it persists you should again consider replacing your pipes.

Frequently asked questions about domestic water quality
Last review date: August 2015

香港食水水质

保障食水安全对香港市民及香港的持续发展均非常重要。本文将概述水务署为市民提供优质食水的程序,以及保障食水水质的措施。

食水水源

香港食水水源有限,过去曾几度经历食水短缺;直至政府于1960年代开始从广东省输入东江水,问题才得以解决。目前,全港食水供应近七至八成来自东江,其余两至三成则来自本土集水区。香港特区政府与广东省当局签订供水协议,确保广东省持续向香港供应东江水,并致力维持水质符合国家《地表水环境质量标准GB3838-2002》第 II 类标准(适用于集中式生活饮用水地表水源地一级保护区)。此外,香港同时亦采用非常严谨的食水处理程序,以确保食水水质符合世界卫生组织订定的《饮用水水质准则》。

有关东江水的详情

东江水

要持续保持高质素的食水供应,必须有严谨的筹划、完善的基础设施及后勤合作。过去十多年,香港特区政府一直与广东省当局保持紧密合作,致力保障输港的东江水水质。其中一个重点是兴建专用输水管道,避免东江水输港途中受到污染。其他保护东江水水质的措施包括:

  • 于东江流域设立污水处理厂,减少污染;
  • 迁走东江流域附近的工厂;
  • 将东江水的取水口上移至水质较佳的位置;
  • 深圳水库的生物硝化站已于一九九九年年初启用;
  • 在深圳水库范围进行全面污水截排;
  • 调走石马河的污水,不再流入东江;
  • 将东江列入广东省供水水源地保护区;
  • 在深圳水库周边设立视频监控点,加强对突发水质事故的控制。

自广东省当局采取上述污染防治措施后,输往香港的东江水水质已有明显改善。当局亦不时就有关工作出评估,以确保有关措施能有效保障供港东江水水质。

香港采用的食水处理及输水过程

香港现时共有 21 间滤水厂,负责处理食水。在食水处理过程中,原水会先被混入化学品(如明矾和熟石灰),进行絮凝和沉淀,然后再流进快速重力滤水池,利用砂及无烟煤进行过滤。过滤后的水会加入氯气和熟石灰,进行消毒及调节酸碱度,并加入氟化物,保护牙齿。经处理后的食水会含有微量的残余氯气,以防止食水在送往用户途中受到污染。

有关食水处理程序的详情有关输水过程及水压的详情

食水水质监察

香港是世界上可享用最安全食水的地区之一。水务署已实施了一套广泛的水质监测计划,食水从收集、处理和送往用户过程中均经过品质监控。在整个供水及输水系统中,有关人员经常从滤水厂、配水库、输水干管、供水接驳位置和用户水龙头抽取样本进行化验,鉴定化验数据所显示的水质是否符合世界卫生组织所订定的《饮用水水质准则》。此准则是世界国际专家共同编订而成的;因此,供应给你的食水绝对安全。

有关食水水质控制及世界卫生组织饮用水水质准则的详情食水水质资料

保障食水安全,由你我做起

只要大厦喉管得到妥善的保养维修,本港用户的自来水是世界上最安全的食水之一。自1995年起,当局已禁止新建大厦使用无内搪层镀锌钢管。若你居住的大厦仍然使用无内搪层镀锌钢管,则应更换有内搪层镀锌钢管、铜管、不锈钢管或聚乙烯管。此外,你亦应留意水龙头的食水有否变黄。若发现水带微黄,即食水在生锈喉管内停留,你只要开动水龙头冲洗片刻,通常可解决此问题。但若问题持续,则应考虑更换喉管。

有关住宅食水水质的常见问题
修订日期:2017年7月