Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

Hong Kong has an imminent waste problem. Here you can learn about what municipal solid waste is, how significant our waste problem is, and how the Government tackles the problem.

The Waste Problem

Hong Kong generates several types of solid waste. It includes municipal solid waste (MSW), which comes from domestic, commercial and industrial sources; construction waste, which arises from construction, renovation and demolition activities; and other special wastes such as chemical waste and livestock waste.

Municipal Solid Waste

Municipal solid waste includes waste from domestic premises and public facilities, commerce and some types of industry, but excludes construction waste and chemical waste.

Each year, more than 6 million tonnes of MSW are generated, over half of which is disposed of in the three strategic landfills. Unfortunately, the generation of MSW has been growing at a much faster rate than expected, and our consumption-led lifestyle is putting enormous pressure on these landfills. The three existing landfills will be full, one by one, in the mid to late 2010s. If the waste loads continue to increase, there will be a need to allocate an additional 400 hectares of land to develop new landfill sites to meet our waste disposal needs up to 2030. Clearly, Hong Kong needs a more sustainable way to deal with waste.

"In May 2013, the Government unveiled the “Hong Kong Blueprint for Sustainable Use of Resources 2013 – 2022” which maps out a comprehensive strategy, policies and action plans for waste management in the coming 10 years to tackle the imminent waste problem through multiple and concurrent actions: (i) policies and legislation to drive behavioural changes to reduce waste at source; (ii) targeted territory-wide waste reduction campaigns to arouse public awareness and encourage community participation; and (iii) enhancement of waste-related infrastructure.

Construction Waste

The high levels of construction activity in Hong Kong generate equally high levels of inert or recyclable waste and non-inert or organic waste. Both these forms of waste pose challenges to the maintenance of our landfill programme, and need to be managed carefully. Under the polluter-pays principle, the Environmental Protection Department operates the Construction Waste Disposal Charging Scheme, whereby construction waste producers pay appropriate charges for the disposal of their waste. The Government is also encouraging the industry to sort and recycle waste as far as possible, and to plan and build more efficiently to minimise waste.

Waste Reduction and Recycling

You can participate in a number of waste reduction programmes. The Wastewi$e Label under the Hong Kong Awards for Environmental Excellence, for example, helps Hong Kong businesses and organisations in adopting measures to reduce the amount of waste generated within their establishments or through the products and services they provide. It provides members with free advice on waste management techniques and rewards their efforts through public recognition. You can also help the recycling of domestic waste by participating in the Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste and separating waste using the waste separation bins on housing estates and deposit rechargeable batteries in designated collection boxes.

Back to top

Last revision date: January 2014

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2014 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

香港的废物与回收情况

香港的废物问题十分严重和迫切。本文将介绍何谓都市固体废物、废物问题的严重程度,以及政府处理这个问题的措施。

废物问题

香港产生多种固体废物。它们包括来自住宅及工商业的都市固体废物;因建筑、装修、拆卸等工程所产生的建筑废物;以及化学废物和禽畜废物等特殊废物。

更多关于香港废物问题的资料

都市固体废物

都市固体废物包括来自住宅楼宇和公共设施、商业和部份工业所产生的废物,但建筑及化学废物则不包括在内。

香港每年产生约600万公吨都市固体废物,其中逾半会弃置于三个策略性堆填区内。可是,我们的消耗型生活模式正在加重堆填区的负荷,而且废物的增长率也比预期高。若废物数量持续增加,现有的三个堆填区将于2010年代中至后期逐一满溢。到了2030年,政府便需要400公顷额外的堆填空间才可应付的废物处理的需求。明显地,香港有需要使用一个更符合「可持续发展」模式的废物处理方法。

政府于2013年5月发表「香港资源循环蓝图2013-2022」,为未来十年废物管理阐述整全策略、具体目标、政策措施和行动时间表,透过 (i)减废政策及法规,推动行为改变;(ii)具明确目标的减废运动,提高市民的环保意识及鼓励全民参与;及(iii)完善与废物相关的基建,全面应对香港的废物危机。

环保园

更多关于都市固体废物的资料关于「香港资源循环蓝图2013-2022」的资料

建筑废物

在香港,建筑活动相当之活跃,因而产生了大量惰性或可循环再造的废物,以及非惰性或有机废物。这些废物会为我们的建筑废物处理设施,包括填料库及堆填区带来一定的压力,应加以小心处理。根据污染者自付原则,环保署实行了建筑废物处置收费计划,要求建筑废物产生者就他们产生的废物,支付合理的处置费用。此外,政府积极鼓励业界尽量将废物分类及回收,以及透过有效地筹划及管理建筑工程,将废物量减至最低。

更多关于建筑废物的资料

废物减量及回收

现时,有多种减少废物的计划,等着你来参与。例如「香港环保卓越计划」下的减废标志,其目的是协助香港企业及机构推行措施,以减少机构内部、及由其提供的服务和产品所产生的废物。计划内容包括提供免费的专业管理废物意见,和嘉许企业就减废所作出的努力及贡献。此外,市民也可参与家居废物源头分类计划,使用设置于屋苑的分类回收桶,及透过将充电池投进充电池回收箱内,参与家居废物回收,为改善环境而作出贡献。

更多关于废物减量及回收的资料
修订日期:2017年5月