Producer Responsibility Schemes

Producer responsibility scheme (PRS) is a key policy tool in the waste management strategy in Hong Kong. Enshrining the principle of “polluter pays” and the element of “eco-responsibility”, the PRS concept requires manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, retailers and consumers to share the responsibility for the collection, recycling, treatment and disposal of end-of-life products with a view to avoiding and reducing the environmental impacts caused by such products at the post-consumer stage.

Progress

The Product Eco-responsibility Ordinance (Cap. 603) (PERO) was enacted in July 2008 which provides the shared core elements of all PRSs and the fundamental regulatory requirements in respect of individual types of product, with operational details to be set out in the Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation.

The Environmental Levy Scheme on Plastic Shopping Bags (PSB Levy Scheme) is the first PRS introduced in 2009 aiming to reduce the excessive use of plastic shopping bags (PSBs) through a direct economic disincentive imposed on consumers as a mandatory charge. It was fully implemented to cover all retail outlets with effect from 1 April 2015.

More information on PSB Charging

Following the PSB Levy Scheme, the Government is also implementing the PRS on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) (WPRS) to facilitate the proper treatment of WEEE in Hong Kong, as well as the PRS on Glass Beverage Containers (GPRS) to better promote the recycling of waste glass containers, turning waste into resources.

More information on WPRSMore information on GPRS

Besides, as a key measure to tackle the challenge of waste plastics in Hong Kong, the Government is also exploring how to implement a PRS targeting suitable plastic product containers.

More information on the PRS on plastic product containers
Last review date: March 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction

生产者责任计划

生产者责任计划是香港废物管理策略的其中一项主要政策工具。透过落实「污染者自付」的原则和「环保责任」的理念,生产者责任计划要求制造商、进口商、批发商、零售商和消费者须分担回收、循环再造、处理和弃置废弃产品的责任,以期避免和减少有关产品对环境的影响。

进程

在2008年7月通过的《产品环保责任条例》(第603章)(“《条例》”)为生产者责任计划提供法律基础,并透过《条例》及其附属法例,订明对个别产品种类的基本规管要求及运作细节。

塑胶购物袋环保征费计划于2009年正式实施,为在《条例》下实施的首个强制性生产者责任计划,规定向塑胶购物袋征收环保征费,透过在零售层面向消费者收费这个直接的经济诱因,以在源头减少滥用塑胶购物袋的情况。在2015年4月1日起亦全面扩大推行塑胶购物袋收费至涵盖所有零售点。

更多塑胶购物袋收费计划资料

政府亦正推行「四电一脑」废电器电子产品生产者责任计划及逐步落实玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划,分别妥善处理香港弃置的「四电一脑」及更为有效地推动废玻璃容器回收,转废为材。

更多「四电一脑」计划资料 更多玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划资料

此外,作为应对香港废塑胶挑战的一项主要措施,我们将优先处理占本港整体弃置塑胶容器中约六成的塑胶饮料容器,引入生产者责任计划。

更多塑胶饮料容器生产者责任计划资料
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
Found this page helpful?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮[email protected] 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
覆检日期:2019年12月
运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查关闭按钮运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查
税务及应课税品网页意见调查关闭按钮税务及应课税品网页意见调查