Green Buildings

Hong Kong is committed to building a sustainable future and to ensuring that our future generations can continue to thrive in a clean and green environment. But is it possible to incorporate the concept of sustainability into the building design and its management, hence reducing the environmental impacts to nature and improving our quality of life? The answer is a resounding Sure! This article talks about how to achieve sustainability in buildings, with case studies and examples.

What Are Green Buildings?

Green buildings are not a complicated or technical concept. They are designed, built, renovated, operated, and reused in an ecological and resource-efficient manner to meet certain objectives such as protecting occupant health; improving employee productivity; using energy, water, and other resources more efficiently; and reducing the overall impact to the environment.

Green Buildings Save Energy

We can save energy through incorporating green building features and the use of energy efficiency technologies and products, thus achieving sustainability.

The use of natural ventilation and lighting can reduce energy consumption for air-conditioning, ventilation and lighting in buildings. Many of the renewable energy sources are free and inexhaustible, offering greener resources and economically viable options.

Since 1998, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department has implemented a voluntary Hong Kong Energy Efficiency Registration Scheme for Buildings to promote energy efficiency in buildings. In 2005, the Government issued a technical circular setting out the guidelines for all capital works projects and minor works projects on the adoption of energy efficient features and renewable energy technologies in Government Projects and Installations. The Government is working on legislation to make the implementation of building energy codes mandatory.

More on energy efficiency in buildings

Green Buildings Reduce Waste

Installing waste separation facilities such as bins or racks in green buildings together with publicity and promotional activities directed to the occupants of the building can help to recover more materials for recycling and reduce waste requiring disposal.

More on the programme on source separation of domestic wasteMore on the programme on source separation of commercial and industrial waste

Green Buildings Save Water

Green buildings save water with the following features:

  • Installation of flow restrictors at water taps.
  • Installation of optimized timing self-closing taps or sensor taps in public lavatories and washing rooms.
  • Reduction of water pressure of the plumbing systems to the lowest practical level.
  • Installation of dual flush cisterns (a choice between "full flush" and "half flush").
  • Provision of reclaimed water systems for toilet flushing, cleaning and irrigation.
More on tips of saving waterMore on using reclaimed water

Indoor Air Quality

The quality of indoor air should not be overlooked. It has a significant impact on building occupants since people spend more than 70% of their time indoors. Good indoor air quality (IAQ) safeguards the health of the building occupants and contributes to their comfort and well-being.  

Better IAQ can be achieved by two major approaches; providing adequate ventilation and controlling the source of indoor air pollutants such as using low emission furnishing products.

More on achieving better IAQPamphlets on improving the IAQ in your buildings

Government's Efforts in Promoting Green Buildings

To premise on the recommendations of the Council for Sustainable Development subsequent to its public engagement exercise, the Government has reviewed the policy of allowing private buildings to increase floor areas to include green and amenity features for enhancing the living environment.  It has been decided to tighten the policy including doing away with concessions for certain features, lowering the level of concessions for carparks, balconies, utility platforms and residents' recreational facilities, and imposing an overall cap of 10% for a number of features which still qualify for concessions.  Incorporation of sustainable design elements for building separation or enhancement of building permeability, setback and greenery in new buildings, together with provision of environmental and energy consumption information in new buildings are pre-requisites for obtaining concessions.  The revised package will strike a proper balance between fulfilling environment performance and comfort requirements of buildings on the one hand, and minimising the impact on the surrounding environment as far as possible on the other.  It will also ensure room for creativity in Hong Kong's building designs.

The Considerate Contractor Site Award Scheme and the Green Contractor Award Scheme have been launched to encourage and give recognition to the private sector to practise sustainable design and construction.

To improve the indoor air quality and promote public awareness of the importance of IAQ, the Government has implemented an IAQ Management Programme. One of the core tasks of the Programme is to launch a voluntary IAQ Certification Scheme for Offices and Public Places. Premises have their IAQ meeting the two-level IAQ objectives (Good or Excellent) are awarded with "Good Class" or "Excellent Class" IAQ certificate. IAQ labels are also issued to these premises for posting at prominent locations to make known to the public of such achievement.

Explore Green Buildings in Hong Kong

The Government is building up momentum in developing green buildings. The following are some examples.

Hong Kong Children Hospital

This is the first public children hospital in Hong Kong, specialising in tertiary services and quality care for complex and rare pediatric cases. It consists of two 11-storey towers and a single-storey basement with three bridge linkages connecting both towers in the middle. The building provides a total floor space of around 168,000 square metres with a capacity of total 468 beds for in-patient, day-patient services, as well as research and training facilities.

More on Hong Kong Children Hospital

Sports Centre, Community Hall and District Library in Area 14B, Shatin (Yuen Chau Kok Complex)

The Sports Centre, Community Hall and District Library are built to meet the strong demand for sports facilities, a new venue for organizing community activities, and improved library services and facilities in the district of Shatin. It consists of 4-storey sports centre, 6-storey community hall and district library.

More on Yuen Chau Kok Complex

You can explore more on other green buildings through the following links:

More on Community Green StationsMore on Central and Western District Promenade – Western Wholesale Food Market SectionMore on Fire Services Training School at Pak Shing KokMore on The trade and Industry Tower in Kai TakMore on Sing Yin Secondary Secondary (near Choi Wan Road and Jordan Valley, Kwun Tong)
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: November 2020
Housing & Social Services Survey Close Button Housing & Social Services Survey

环保建筑

香港正致力建造一个可持续发展的将来,以确保我们的后代可以继续享有清洁和绿化的环境。但究竟建筑物的设计和管理能否融合可持续发展的概念,减低对大自然的影响之余,同时改善我们的生活质素呢?答案是肯定的!本文会透过不同个案和例子,介绍如何在建筑物中达到可持续发展的目标。

何谓环保建筑?

其实环保建筑并非复杂或技术化的概念。它们在设计、建造、翻新、营运和再使用方面,会透过生态学和资源节约的方法,以达到特定目标。这些目标包括保障使用者的健康、改善雇员的生产力、善用能源、水和其他资源,以及减轻对环境的整体影响。

环保建筑节省能源

透过利用环保建筑设施及节能技术和产品,可以为我们节省能源,从而达到可持续发展的目标。

良好的通风和足够的天然光线,可以减低空调、通风和照明方面的耗电量。很多可再生能源都是免费和用之不竭,为我们提供了更环保及经济的资源选择。

自1998年起,机电工程署一直推行自愿性的香港建筑物能源效益注册计划,以提升建筑物的能源效益。2005年,政府发出了一份技术通告,为所有基本工程和小型工程在采用能源效益屋宇装备装置和可再生能源装置上提供技术指引。指引涵盖各政府新建工程和翻新工程。为了进一步提升建筑物的能源效益,政府正拟立例,强制指定类别的新建及现有楼宇实施建筑物能源效益守则。

更多有关建筑物能源效益的资料

环保建筑减少废料

透过在环保建筑物内设置废物分类设施(例如收集箱或收集架),以及向业户进行推广和宣传,有助收集更多物料以供循环再造,及减少须要弃置的废物。

更多有关家居废物源头分类计划的资料更多有关工商业废物源头分类计划的资料

环保建筑节省用水

环保建筑有以下节约用水功能:

  • 在水龙头安装限流装置。
  • 在公众洗手间或公众浴室安装会定时关闭或自动感应的水龙头。
  • 将供水系统的水压尽量减至最低。
  • 安装双掣式(可选择全冲水量或半冲水量)冲厕水箱。
  • 用再造水作冲厕、清洁和灌溉用途。
更多节约用水贴士更多有关再造水的资料

室内空气质素

一般人普遍有七成以上时间处于室内,所以室内空气质素确实不容忽视。良好的室内空气质素,既可保障人们的健康,又可令人感觉舒适。

改善室内空气质素有两个主要方式:确保室内空气流通和控制室内的污染源,例如使用低排放性的家具用品。

更多有关提高室内空气质素的资料《改善楼宇的室内空气质素》小册子

政府如何推广环保建筑

基于可持续发展委员会在进行公众参与活动后所提出的建议,政府检讨了现行为改善楼宇的宜居环境而让私人楼宇增加楼面面积以引进环保及完善生活设施的政策。现决定收紧这项政策,包括取消部分设施的宽免,降低停车场、露台、工作平台和住客康乐设施的宽免,并为多项仍享有宽免的设施加设百分之十的整体宽免上限。新建楼宇如要取得宽免,先决条件是加入楼宇分隔或增加建筑物的通透度、楼宇后移和绿化等可持续发展设计元素,以及提供楼宇的环保和耗能资料。这套修订方案,一方面可顾及楼宇的环保及舒适要求,另一方面尽量避免对周边环境造成影响,力求在两者之间取得适当平衡,并能确保本港建筑物的设计有展示创意的空间。

政府亦推出了公德地盘嘉许计划及环保承建商奖励计划,以鼓励及表扬承建商实践可持续发展建筑。

为了改善室内空气质素,并使市民大众明白室内空气质素的重要,政府实施了室内空气质素管理计划。计划的其中一项主要工作,是在办公室和公众场所推行自愿参与的室内空气检定计划。在这计划下,建筑物若能够达到两个级别的室内空气质素目标(良好或卓越),均会获颁「良好级」或「卓越级」室内空气质素证书。政府亦向有关建筑物发出室内空气质素标签,以供展示在显眼位置,表彰这项成就。

探索香港的环保建筑

政府正在加速发展环保建筑物.以下是一些例子。

香港儿童医院

这是全港首间公营儿童医院,专门提供第三层医疗服务,主力接收病况复杂及罕见的儿科个案给予优质护理。它由两座11层高的独立大楼和单层地库,中间由三条天桥连接,总楼面面积约168,000平方米,可容纳468张病床,为公众提供住院及日间医院服务,另有研究及培训设施。

更多有关香港儿童医院

沙田第14B区体育馆、社区会堂及地区图书馆 (圆洲角综合大楼)

体育馆、社区会堂及地区图书馆的建造,是为了配合沙田区对体育设施的殷切需求,组织社区活动的新场地需要及改善图书馆服务和设施。它包括了4层体育馆、6层社区会堂和地区图书馆。

更多有关沙田第14B区体育馆、社区会堂及地区图书馆 (圆洲角综合大楼)

你可以透过以下连结,进一步探索其他环保建筑物。

更多有关「绿在区区」的资料 更多有关社区重点项目计划(中西区)– 美化及活化西区副食品批发市场临海地段的资料更多有关百胜角的消防训练学校的资料 更多有关启德工业贸易大楼的资料 更多有关观塘彩云道及佐敦谷附近中学校舍发展项目的资料
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
Found this page helpful?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮[email protected] 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修订日期:2019年12月
运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查关闭按钮运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查
税务及应课税品网页意见调查关闭按钮税务及应课税品网页意见调查