Installation of Renewable Energy Systems

Apart from promoting the development of renewable energy (RE) by taking forward a number of large-scale Government RE facilities, the Government has also introduced the Feed-in Tariff (FiT) Scheme to help encourage the private sector to participate in small-scale distributed RE generation by installing RE systems at their own premises.  This article provides general information on installing solar photovoltaic (PV) system at your premises, connecting it to the grid and receiving FiT payment.

The major hardware components of a solar PV system

What are the major hardware components of a solar PV system?

Solar PV panels and inverter are the two major components of a solar PV system.  In general, the solar PV panels that are commonly available in the market contains one of the three major types of solar cells, i.e. monocrystalline cells, polycrystalline cells or thin film cells.  The energy conversion efficiency and price of the three types of solar PV panels are different.  You may purchase the appropriate type according to the design of your system and budget.

Inverter is another key component of a solar PV system.  It converts the output direct current of solar PV panel array into alternating current.  The isolation transformer installed inside or outside the inverter also helps ensure the safe operation of the system.  When purchasing inverters, you should select ones that are designed and manufactured according to relevant international standards and/or specifications, and so certified by recognised organisations or relevant testing and certification authorities.

Where to install my solar PV system?

The power output of a solar PV system will be affected by a series of factors including the location, orientation, solar irradiation, solar PV panel efficiency, the design and installation method of the system.  Solar PV systems should generally be installed on the roof and/ or open areas which should be a structurally sound area and these areas should be unshaded from adjacent structures, buildings and trees.  To obtain the optimum power output, the panels should be installed at a tilting angle facing south.

Can I install my own solar PV system by myself?

For solar PV systems installed on the roof of New Territories Exempted Houses (commonly known as village houses), the systems should be properly installed and should not adversely affect the structural safety of the building.  Subject to fulfilment of specified conditions, the height of the systems may reach a maximum of 2.5m and such systems should be certified by an Authorised Person registered under the Buildings Ordinance for submission of a safety certificate to Lands Department for record.

For other private buildings, if such installation is minor works, the building owner or tenant concerned should appoint Prescribed Building Professionals / Prescribed Registered Contractors to carry out the erection of the supporting structures.  If the building works involved are not exempted works or minor works items, the building owner or tenant should appoint an Authorised Person and submit building plans to the Buildings Department (BD) in accordance with the Buildings Ordinance.  For these works, building works can only be carried out after obtaining prior approval for and consent to the commencement of works from the BD.

As solar PV systems consist of electrical equipment, you are also required to employ a Registered Electrical Contractor / Registered Electrical Worker to carry out the related electrical installation works.

Since the legal requirements applicable to installing solar PV systems at different types of buildings or premises would be different, approval(s) from different departments including the BD, Lands Department, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), Fire Services Department, etc. may be required.

Professional/ technical knowledge and experience are essential to ensuring the solar PV system would be properly installed.  It is advisable to consult and appoint registered professionals and contractors to help plan and install your system. 

For further information, please refer to the

Guidance Notes for Solar PV System Installation published by EMSD

How to apply for connection to the power grid and to receive FiT?

If you wish to connect your solar PV system to the grid, you are required to register your generating facilities with EMSD under the Electricity Ordinance.  Details of the application can be found on EMSD’s website:

https://www.emsd.gov.hk/en/electricity_safety/how_to_apply/registration_for_generating_facility/index.html

You are also required to submit your application to the power company.  Generally speaking, the design, technical specifications, operation procedure, testing and cost data of the system should be submitted along with your application.  You may refer to the following links for the application arrangements:

CLP Power Hong Kong LimitedThe Hongkong Electric Co., Limited

For more information about connecting your solar PV system to the grid and the application procedures under the FiT Scheme, please visit:

EMSD’s HK RE NET
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected] .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: December 2019

安装可再生能源系统

除了透过落实大型政府可再生能源设施以推广可再生能源发展,政府亦引入上网电价协助鼓励私营界别,透过在其处所安装可再生能源系统,参与小型分布式可再生能源发电。本文旨在就于你的处所安装太阳能光伏系统、将其接驳到电网及收取上网电价,提供一般资讯。

太阳能光伏系统的主要硬件组件

太阳能光伏系统的主要硬件组件为何?

太阳能光伏板及逆变器为太阳能光伏系统的两个主要组件。一般而言,市场上可供选购的太阳能光伏板由三类太阳能元件之一组成 – 单晶硅元件、多晶硅元件或薄膜元件。三类太阳能光伏板的能量转换效率及价格有所不同,你可按系统设计及预算购买适合的一款。

逆变器为太阳能光伏系统的另一个主要组件。逆变器会把太阳能光伏板阵列输出的直流电转换为交流电。安装在逆变器内或外的隔离变压器以有助确保系统的安全运作。在选购逆变器时,你应选购按照有关国际标准或规格来设计及生产、并获得认可机构或有关测试及认证当局签发证明书的产品。

在那里安装太阳能光伏系统?

太阳能光伏系统的产电量会因一系列因素而改变,包括安装位置、方向、日照强度、太阳能光伏板效率、太阳能光伏系统的设计和安装方法。太阳能光伏系统一般应安装于天台及/或开放的空间。有关位置的结构应稳固,并且不被附近的建筑物、大厦和树木所遮挡。为得到最佳的产电量,太阳能光伏板的安装角度及方向应为仰角及面向南方。

我可以自己安装太阳能光伏系统吗?

在新界豁免管制屋宇(俗称村屋)安装太阳能光伏系统,有关系统必须妥善安装,及不可影响屋宇结构安全。在符合特定的规定下,有关系统的高度可达最高2.5米,而有关系统须经由根据《建筑物条例》注册的认可人士核实,及提交有关安全证明书予地政总署备存。

就其他私人楼宇而言,如有关装置为小型工程,相关业主或租客应聘用订明建筑专业人士/订明注册承建商负责进行竖设构筑物。如涉及的建筑工程并非豁免工程或小型工程项目,相关业主或租客应委任认可人士按《建筑物条例》的规定,先向屋宇署呈交建筑图则,获得批准及同意展开工程后才可进行。

由于太阳能光伏系统包含电力装置,你亦须雇用注册电业承办商/注册电业工程人员进行相关电力工作。

在不同建筑物或处所安装太阳能光伏系统所适用的法律要求会有所不同,因此将需向不同部门,包括屋宇署、地政总署、机电工程署、消防处等,取得有关批准。

若要确保太阳能光伏系统妥善安装,有关专业/技术知识和经验不可或缺。征询注册专业人士及承办商的意见并委任他们协议规划及安装你的系统是可取的做法。

如欲进一步了解有关事宜,可参阅机电工程署编制的《太阳能光伏系统安装指南》

我可如何申请接驳电网及收取上网电价?

如果你希望把你的太阳能光伏系统接驳到电网,你需要根据《电力条例》向机电工程署注册你的发电设施。

有关申请详情可见机电工程署的网站

你亦需要向电力公司提交申请。一般而言,你须将系统的设计、技术规格、操作程序、测试及成本资料与申请一并提交予电力公司。申请安排可见一下连结:

中华电力有限公司 香港电灯有限公司

如欲进一步了解接驳太阳能光伏系统到电网及上网电价的申请程序,请浏览机电工程署的香港可再生能源网。

香港可再生能源网
修订日期:2019年10月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度