Green Living

Saving Energy

The energy that we use in our homes pollutes the environment and reduces the availability of energy in the future. Luckily, changing this situation is not difficult. Learn about why you should try to save energy, and easy ways that you can do so.

Tips for Saving Water

Fresh water is a precious resource in Hong Kong, and we all need to do as much as we can to preserve it. Learn about why water should be saved, how you can do so at home and in the workplace, and the potential that reclaimed water has to improve the condition of our environment.

Hong Kong Second-hand Exchange

We may consider letting go an unwanted but usable item with nominal charge, exchanging or donating it to give it a new life. Hong Kong Second-hand Exchange is a free community service provided by Environmental Protection Department to facilitate the exchange of unwanted but reusable item to help reduce, reuse and recycle waste in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Second-hand Exchange

Waste Reduction & Separation

As Hong Kong generates a huge amount of waste each day, we need to be aware of how to reduce it to maintain our quality of life. Learn about the current situation, what you can do to reduce waste and how to separate waste for reuse and recycle.

Green Shopping Tips

Helping to save the environment is not difficult. Find out why even your shopping habits can make a difference and tips about shopping.

Greener Transportation

Having your own car may be very convenient, but it comes at a greater price than what you pay for petrol. Learn about the impact of your vehicle on the environment, and pick up some tips on how to think green when you travel.

Green Tips for Holidays

Holidays can be festive occasions, but you may generate a large amount of waste when celebrating and having parties. Learn about the '3R' concept (Reduce, Reuse and Recycle), and what you can do to reduce waste on festive occasions.

Helping to Clean the Air

Air pollution may look daunting, but you can contribute to cleaner air in small ways. Learn about the air pollution in Hong Kong, and what you can do about it when driving, at home and at work.

Helping to Clean the Air

Green Tips for Home Renovation

Renovations can produce a great deal of waste if not handled properly. Learn about the management issues you should consider, the availability of green building products, indoor air quality problems that might arise, how to reduce renovation waste and how to dispose of the remaining waste properly.

Green Office Management

Outside home, we spend most of our time in offices. Through practising green management in the office, we can achieve more efficient use of resources and reduction of waste, save energy and money, and help improve our working environment. Learn about some useful tips for green office management.

Food Wise

Each one of us can play an active role to reduce food waste at source. We all can do to become much more aware of the food we buy and eat, and to treasure our good fortune to have sufficient food to nourish us. By avoiding food wastage, we will play our part for the environment to ease further pressure on the world’s food system when so many individuals and families still face hunger all over the world, and even in affluent Hong Kong. Remember that when you leave food in your bowl; when you prepared or ordered too much food; when food is spoiled because you forgot to eat it – these all generally gets thrown away and end up in our landfills. So, take more care not to waste. Don’t be a Big Waster.

Food Wise

Tips for Greening in Buildings

Greening in buildings contributes to liveability of densely populated cities by improving living environment and quality of living, enhancing ecological value and reducing urban heat island effect.  Learn about the considerations for safe provisions of greening in buildings from planning, design, construction and maintenance aspects.

环保生活

节约能源

日常家居所耗用的能源不但对环境造成污染,而且会令全球未来的能源日益减少。幸而,要改善这情况其实并不困难。此文可让你知悉节约能源的原因,并介绍简单的节约能源方法。

节约用水贴士

在香港,淡水是一种珍贵的资源;所以我们应当节约用水,尽力保护水资源。透过此文,你可以了解节约用水的原因、家庭及业界的用水节省法,以及再造水的使用可怎样改善我们的环境。

香港二手物品交易平台

为不需要但仍然有用的物品带来新生命,我们可将物品转赠、交换或以象征式费用转售给需要的人。香港二手物品交易平台是由环境保护署提供的免费社区服务,市民透过这项服务,为本港的废物减量、再用和循环再造工作出一分力。

香港二手物品交易平台

减少废物及废物分类

每日,香港都会产生大量废物。有鉴于此,我们必须正视减少废物的方法,以改善市民的生活质素。此文会详述目前有关废物的情况、减少废物的方法,以及怎样把废物分类,以方便废物再用及循环再造。

环保购物贴士

要保护环境其实毫不困难,你我也可以做得到。你可在此得知日常购物习惯对环境的影响,及一些环保购物贴士。

环保交通系统

驾驶私家车为我们带来不少便利,除了支付汽油的费用外,我们还要为这些便利付出沉重的代价。此文为你介绍汽车对环境造成的负面影响,以及一些环保驾驶贴士。

节日环保贴士

在不同的节日或庆典,我们都会参与各种庆祝活动或举行派对,但过程中可能会制造大量垃圾。此文会介绍「三用原则」(即物尽其用、废物利用及循环再用),以及如何在庆祝节日时减少废物。

齐心合力,改善空气

本港的空气污染问题令人关注。我们可以从生活中的小事做起,合力改善空气质素。此文会说明香港空气污染的情况,以及市民在驾驶时、家居及办公室改善空气质素的方法。

齐心合力,改善空气

有关家居装修的环保贴士

装修工程若处理不当,会产生大量废物,污染环境。透过此文,你可以知悉良好的装修工程管理、环保建材、工程进行时可能产生的室内空气污染问题,以及减少装修废物和正当处置剩余废物的方法。

环保办公室管理

在家以外,我们可能大部分时间在办公室度过。透过在办公室推行绿化管理,我们可以更有效运用资源,减少制造废物,节省能源和金钱,并改善工作环境。此文为你提供环保办公室管理的有用贴士。

惜食

我们日常可以积极参与从源头减少厨余,珍惜食物。大家能够做的是三思而后食,知足于有足够的食物而感恩惜福。透过避免浪费食物,人人身体力行,就能够为环境出一分力。在地球上,许多人仍然面对三餐温饱不足,所以避免令全球的食物系统增添压力,委实人人有责,即使在经济繁荣的香港,我们亦绝不应浪费食物资源。请紧记,假若你碗内有剩饭剩食;你烹调或点选过量食物;你善忘而令食物过期腐坏,这些食物资源往往因而白白浪费,大都最终被堆填。请大家切勿浪费食物,莫做「大嘥鬼」。

惜食

楼宇绿化贴士

楼宇绿化有助改善生活环境和生活质素、提高生态价值及减少城市热岛效应,令人烟稠密的城市更加宜居。此文可让你知悉安全设置楼宇绿化设施在规划、设计、建造及保养方面的考虑。