Scheme of Control Agreements

The electricity market in Hong Kong has all along been regulated through the Scheme of Control Agreements (SCAs) signed between the Government and the two power companies, viz. CLP Power Hong Kong Limited and Castle Peak Power Company Limited (referred to collectively as CLP) and The Hongkong Electric Company Limited and HK Electric Investments Limited (referred to collectively as HEC).  The SCAs set out the obligations of the companies, the returns for shareholders and the arrangements by which the Government monitors the companies’ electricity-related financial affairs.  The Government signed the current SCAs with CLP and HEC on 25 April 2017 and they took effect on 1 October 2018 and 1 January 2019 respectively.

What is the history of SCAs?

All along, electricity in Hong Kong has been provided by CLP and HEC.  Both power companies own their respective electricity supply chains, including generation plants, transmission and distribution networks.  The first SCA was signed in 1964.  Since then, features have been added to the SCAs over the years to improve its operation and to better achieve the energy policy objectives.  The current SCAs were signed in 2017 with a term of about 15 years and will expire at the end of 2033.

What policy objectives do SCAs help achieve?

Electricity underpins our daily activities and drives our economic developments.  It is the Government’s longstanding policy to ensure that electricity demand of the community is met safely, reliably, efficiently and at reasonable prices, while minimising the environmental impact of electricity generation.  The SCAs help the Government to achieve these energy policy objectives.

How do they work? - The SCA mechanism

The SCAs are the tools for the Government to regulate the electricity-related financial affairs of the power companies and to monitor their reliability and environmental performance in providing electricity.  The SCAs do not give the companies any exclusive rights to provide electricity, nor are they franchises.  Rather, they set out the rights and obligations of the companies, and the returns for their shareholders.  The Government monitors the companies’ electricity-related financial affairs through Development Plans submitted by the latter and annual Tariff Reviews and Auditing Reviews jointly conducted with them.  The companies’ return is also capped at a permitted rate as a percentage of their fixed assets.

What are the main features of the current SCAs?

The key features of the current SCAs are -

  1. The new SCAs reflect the Government’s commitments to combating climate change and meet the public aspirations on the future development of the electricity market;
  2. They reduce the permitted rate of return of the power companies to 8%;
  3. They have a term of about 15 years to provide a stable environment for the power companies to make substantial and long term investments to replace the retiring coal plants;
  4. Promotion of energy efficiency & conservation and that of the development of renewable energy are key foci of the current SCAs; and
  5. A more frequent fuel cost adjustment mechanism will be implemented to avoid accumulation of large fuel cost surplus balances by the power companies.

Where can I find the full set of the SCAs?

The current and the previous two SCAs have been uploaded to the website of the Environment Bureau for public access via the following link:

https://www.enb.gov.hk/en/resources_publications/agreement/index.html
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected] .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: December 2019

《管制计划协议》

一直以来,政府透过与两间电力公司签订《管制计划协议》(《协议》)规管香港的电力市场,该两间公司即中华电力有限公司和青山发电有限公司(统称「中电」),以及香港电灯有限公司及港灯电力投资有限公司(统称「港灯」)。香港的电力由两间私人拥有的电力公司提供。政府分别与该等电力公司签订《管制协议》,借此规管电力市场。《协议》列明电力公司的责任、电力公司股东的回报,以及政府监察电力公司与电力有关的财务事宜的安排。政府于2017年4月25日与中电及港灯签订现行《协议》,而有关《协议》已分别于2018年10月1日及2019年1月1日生效。

《协议》的历史是什么?

一直以来,香港的电力由中电及港灯提供。两间电力公司各自拥有并营运其供电链,包括发电厂、输电及配电网络。第一份《协议》于1964年签订。在其后的几十年间,《协议》中加入了不同的元素,以改善它的运作及更有效地达致能源政策目标。现行的《协议》于2017年签订,年期为约15年,并将于2033年底届满。

《协议》协助我们达致的政策目标为何?

无论是日常生活还是经济发展,电力都不可或缺。政府的一贯政策,是确保市民享有安全、可靠、有效率及价格合理的电力供应,同时尽量减少发电对环境的影响。《协议》有助政府达致这些能源政策目标。

《协议》如何运作 -《协议》下的机制

《协议》是政府规管电力公司与电力有关的财务事宜及监察电力公司供电的可靠性和环保表现重要的一环。《协议》并没有授予电力公司任何专有权利在香港提供电力,《协议》亦不是专营权。相反,《协议》列明了电力公司的权利和责任,以及电力公司股东的回报。政府通过电力公司提交的《发展计划》,以及与电力公司共同进行周年电费检讨和核数检讨,监管电力公司与电力有关的财务事宜。电力公司的回报亦不能超过其固定资产的若干百分比。

现行《协议》的要点为何?

现行《协议》的要点如下–

  1. 新《协议》反映政府对应对气候变化的承诺,并符合市民就电力市场未来发展的期望;
  2. 《协议》下电力公司的准许回报率降至8%;
  3. 《协议》年期为约15年,为电力公司提供明确的投资环境,作出重大及长远的投资,更换退役的燃煤机组;
  4. 推广能源效益和节约能源以及可再生能源是现行《协议》的重点;及
  5. 为免电力公司的燃料价格帐目内累积大额结余,《协议》期内会采用更频密燃料价条款收费调整。

可以在那里找到整份《协议》?

我们已将现行及过去两份《协议》上载至环境局的网站供公众参阅,有关网址为

https://www.enb.gov.hk/sc/resources_publications/agreement/index.html
修订日期:2019年10月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度