Employees’ Rights in case of their Employers’ Insolvency

Insolvency is where your employer cannot pay persons to whom money is owed, such as employees' wages. When your employer becomes insolvent, you may want to know how to recover your wages, wages in lieu of notice, severance payment,  accrued holiday remuneration or other sums owed by your employer. You can learn about your rights and protection under the law here.

When Your Employer is in Bankruptcy, Winding-up or Receivership

You are entitled to payment out of the assets of the employer in preference to most creditors in respect of wages, wages in lieu of notice, severance payment and accrued holiday remuneration under certain conditions. To see if you are qualified for preferential payment, click on the link below.

A Guide on Employee’s Rights in Bankruptcy, Winding-up and Receivership (pdf file)

Actions to take

You should not rely on mere promises by the employer or some third party to pay your arrears of wages and delay taking legal action. This is what you can do.

Seek assistance from the Labour Department (LD) promptly

In the event that your employer has become insolvent, you should seek assistance from the Labour Relations Division of LD as soon as possible.

In order to recover arrears of wages, pay for untaken annual leave and untaken statutory holidays, wages in lieu of notice, severance payment or other sums owed, you may need to present a bankruptcy or winding-up petition against your insolvent employer. You may also apply for ex gratia payment from the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund in respect of arrears of wages, pay for untaken annual leave and untaken statutory holidays, wages in lieu of notice or severance payment owed by your insolvent employer. LD will refer appropriate cases to the Legal Aid Department (LAD) so that prompt legal proceedings can be commenced to protect your interest.

Contact information of Offices of the Labour Relations Division

Seek Legal Aid

LD may refer you to LAD to commence bankruptcy or winding-up petitions against your insolvent employer. To successfully apply for legal aid, you will need to satisfy the means and merits tests. You will be eligible on means if your financial resources do not exceed the financial eligibility limit. For merits, you will need to show that there are reasonable grounds for taking legal action.

If legal aid is granted, you will be legally represented for the purpose of issuing a bankruptcy or winding-up petition against your insolvent employer. Once a bankruptcy or winding-up petition against your insolvent employer is made, you should file your proof of debt with the Official Receiver’s Office for the sums owed to you by your employer as soon as possible.

More on getting legal assistance

Apply for Ex Gratia Payment

The Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund provides timely relief in the form of ex gratia payment to employees of insolvent employers. The Fund enables them to obtain, without having to wait until the completion of the insolvency procedures, payment of wages, pay for untaken annual leave and untaken statutory holidays, wages in lieu of notice or severance payment owed to them.

Please note that an application for ex gratia payment from the Fund in respect of wages and pay for untaken statutory holidays shall be made within 6 months after the employee’s last day of service, whereas an application for ex gratia payment from the Fund in respect of pay for untaken annual leave,  wages in lieu of notice and severance payment shall be made within 6 months after the date of termination of contract.

More on the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund (pdf file)
Last revision date: September 2013

雇员在雇主无力偿债时的权利

无力偿债是指雇主未能支付债务,例如无法支付雇员的工资。假如你的雇主无力偿债,你需知道如何追讨被拖欠的工资、代通知金、遣散费、累积假日薪酬或其他款项。本文介绍法律赋予你的权利和保障。

当你的雇主破产、清盘或财产遭接管

如符合特定条件,雇员较其他债权人可优先从雇主的资产中获付欠薪、代通知金、遣散费及累积假日薪酬。想了解自己是否符合资格获优先偿还债项,可浏览以下连结。

雇主破产、清盘及财产遭接管时 – 雇员可得的权利指南(pdf 档案)

你应采取的行动

你不应轻易相信雇主或第三者提出支付欠薪的承诺,而延迟采取法律行动。

尽快向劳工处求助

如你的雇主无力偿债,你应尽快向劳工处劳资关系科寻求协助。

要追讨被拖欠的工资、未放年假及未放法定假日薪酬、代通知金、遣散费或其他款项,你或需入禀法庭,要求向雇主发出破产令或清盘令。你亦可向破产欠薪保障基金申请特惠款项,以获取被雇主拖欠的工资、未放年假及未放法定假日薪酬、代通知金或遣散费。劳工处会将合适的个案转介法律援助署(法援署),以便展开法律诉讼程序,保障你的权益。

劳资关系科各分区办事处联络资料

寻求法律援助

劳工处可能转介你到法援署,以便你入禀法庭,向无力偿债的雇主提出破产/清盘呈请。要成功申请法律援助,你须要通过经济审查和案情审查。要通过经济审查,你的财务资源不能超过法定上限。至于案情审查,你须具备合理理据提出诉讼。

假如你获批法律援助,法援署会委派律师,代表你对无力偿债的雇主提出破产/清盘呈请。在破产令/清盘令发出后,你应尽快就雇主所欠款项,向破产管理署提交债权证明表。

更多有关寻求法律协助的资料

申请特惠款项

破产欠薪保障基金向无力偿债雇主的雇员发放特惠款项,以提供适时援助,让他们毋须等待冗长的破产/清盘程序完结,及早获得被拖欠的工资、未放年假及未放法定假日薪酬、代通知金或遣散费。

请注意,被拖欠工资和未放法定假日薪酬的雇员须在其服务的最后一天后六个月内向基金提出特惠款项的申请。被拖欠未放年假薪酬、代通知金和遣散费的雇员,则须于合约终止后六个月内提出有关申请。

更多有关破产欠薪保障基金(pdf 档案)
覆检日期:2017年8月