FAQs on Choosing a Kindergarten

  • Q1.
    How can I choose a quality kindergarten?
    Ans

    You can have a better understanding of the mission, philosophy of education, teacher qualifications as well as the fees and charges of a kindergarten through the kindergarten's website, pamphlet as well as the profile of the kindergarten on the Education Bureau (EDB) website. You can also visit the school and talk with the teaching staff to get a better picture of the school. EDB has conducted Quality Assurance Inspection and Quality Review visits to some kindergartens. You can view the reports on EDB website for reference.

    A quality kindergarten should have the following characteristics:

       
    • operating in safe and hygienic premises
    • offering a stimulating learning environment
    • providing ample and diversified facilities
    • employing professionally trained teachers who are visionary, approachable, patient and caring
    • implementing a balanced curriculum
    • organising diversified learning activities
    • placing emphasis on developing positive learning attitudes, good character and healthy living habits of children

    Profile of Kindergartens and Kindergarten-cum-Childcare Centres
    Quality Review Reports (available in Chinese only)

  • Q2.
    What are the differences between kindergartens and child care centres?
    Ans

    Both kindergartens and child care centres provide pre-primary education and care for children under 6. EDB regulates kindergartens for children aged 3 or above, while child care centres for children aged under 3 are regulated by the Social Welfare Department. At present, most of the kindergartens operate on a half-day basis, and offer Nursery classes, Lower and Upper Kindergarten classes for children from 3 to 6. The other few provide whole day classes. While aided child care centres provide full day care services for children under 3, other child care centres also provide half-day services. From September 2005 onwards, kindergartens and child care centres can be operated in the same premises for children aged 0 to 6, called kindergarten-cum-child care centres (KG-cum-CCCs). KG-cum-CCCs that are previously aided centres of the Social Welfare Department provide full day care and education services for children under 6.

    More on child care centres

  • Q3.
    Are kindergartens adopting activity approach better than those adopting traditional approach?
    Ans

    Activity approach enables children to learn in a happy and relaxing environment through participation in various interesting play and activities. Traditional approach, on the other hand, is teacher-centred and is focused on transmitting knowledge. In comparison, activity approach can better meet the physical and psychological needs of children.

  • Q4.
    Which kindergartens can guarantee their school leavers automatic admission to the primary school?
    Ans

    As all kindergartens in Hong Kong are privately run, none of them can guarantee their students automatic admission to a particular government or aided primary school. The existing Primary One Admission (POA) System is designed to eliminate the intense competition to enter popular primary schools and to reduce the pressure on young children.

    More on Primary One Admission System

      Private primary schools, Direct Subsidy Scheme (DSS) schools and primary schools of the English Schools Foundation are excluded from the System. Parents may apply direct to these schools. Under normal circumstances, school leavers of a kindergarten affiliated to a private primary school are more likely to be admitted to that primary school.

    Profiles of Primary Schools
    More on DSS

  • Q5.
    Is the quality of international kindergartens better than that of local kindergartens?
    Ans

    International kindergartens are kindergartens intended for non-Chinese speaking children. The difference between international and local kindergartens mainly lies on the medium of instruction, with the former adopting languages other than Chinese, such as English and Japanese. Parents should compare and assess the quality of these two types of kindergartens by looking at their mission, curriculum, learning environment, facilities and teacher qualifications, rather than merely on the medium of instruction.

  • Q6.
    At what age are children suitable for entry to the kindergarten?
    Ans

    Normally, children at the age of 3 are ready for kindergarten education. However, in response to the preference of many parents for matching the age of children entering kindergarten and their age of entering primary school, the minimum age for children entering kindergarten in September has been relaxed to 2 years 8 months.

  • Q7.
    What should we do to prepare our children for the school admission interview?
    Ans

    An ideal kindergarten should allow children, through appropriate activities and everyday experiences, to achieve a balanced development in a pleasurable environment. Based on this principle, all admission interviews should be conducted in the form of activity to eliminate the pressure on children. Being the entry point of children’s learning, a kindergarten should not require children to possess any prior knowledge. Instead of drilling their young children for admission interviews, parents are advised to give more opportunities for them to play and communicate with other people. It will be sufficient if children feel at ease in front of strangers and are willing to communicate with other people.

  • Q8.
    Which districts have more quality kindergartens?
    Ans

    Quality kindergartens can be found in all districts. When making a choice, parents should consider those kindergartens located in their vicinity so that their children need not take a long journey to attend school.

  • Q9.
    How can I choose a kindergarten offering "biliterate and trilingual" learning?
    Ans

    "Biliterate" means written Chinese and English, while "trilingual" means Cantonese, spoken English and Putonghua. During early childhood, developing proficiency in the mother-tongue is of primary importance. Since the mother tongue of most children in Hong Kong is Cantonese, it is desirable to adopt Cantonese as the medium of instruction for pre-primary education to facilitate communication and enhance the learning effectiveness of children.

    At present, a majority of kindergartens in Hong Kong provide children with various forms of learning activities in English and Putonghua. To allow children learning in a pleasurable environment without any undue pressure, these language activities should meet the psychological and intellectual development of children and relate to real-life situations.

  • Q10.
    Will those kindergartens adopting innovative teaching methods guarantee quality education?
    Ans

    Each approach has its own characteristics and underlying rationale. To assess the quality of education of a school, the fundamental requirement is whether the kindergarten can achieve the aim of enabling children to have a balanced development in a happy environment through appropriate activities and everyday experiences. The teaching method adopted by a kindergarten only constitutes part of the quality teaching. Other factors, such as the quality of teachers and resources available, should be considered. Understanding of the characteristics and operation of a kindergarten from various perspectives will enable parents to make the right choice.

Last revision date: November 2016

选择幼稚园常见问题

  • 问1.
    我应如何选择优质幼稚园?

    家长可从学校网页、简章、教育局网页内的幼稚园概览等,认识有关学校的办学宗旨、教育理念、师资和收费等。家长亦可亲自参观学校,与教职员面谈,以便加深对学校的了解。教育局在一些幼稚园进行质素保证视学或质素评核,家长可参考教育局网页内的相关报告。

    一所优质的幼稚园应具备以下的特征:

     
    • 安全衞生的校舍
    • 富启发性的学习环境
    • 资源丰富的设施
    • 专业且有抱负和爱心的教师
    • 均衡的课程
    • 多元化的学习活动
    • 注重培养儿童积极的学习态度、良好的品格和健康的生活习惯
     

    幼稚园及幼稚园暨幼儿中心概览  
    质素评核报告

  • 问2.
    幼稚园与幼儿中心有何分别?

    幼稚园与幼儿中心都是为6岁以下的儿童提供学前教育和照顾。为3岁以上幼儿开设的幼稚园是受教育局规管,而照顾3岁以下儿童的幼儿中心则受社会福利署规管。现时,虽然有小量幼稚园提供全日班服务,大部分幼稚园只开办半日制课程,计有幼儿班、低班及高班,分别为3至6岁儿童提供学习活动。受资助的幼儿中心会为3岁以下幼儿提供全日照顾,而其他幼儿中心也提供半日照顾服务。自2005年9月开始,幼稚园和幼儿中心可在同一处所运作,为0至6岁儿童提供服务。前身为受社会福利署资助的幼稚园暨幼儿中心为6岁以下的幼儿提供全日照顾及教育服务。

    更多关于幼儿中心的资料

  • 问3.
    采用「活动教学」的幼稚园是否比「传统教学」的幼稚园好?

    采用「活动教学」的幼稚园透过多样化及有趣的活动与游戏,使儿童在轻松愉快的环境下学习;采用「传统教学」的幼稚园则以教师主导的方式,注重知识的传授。相比之下,采用「活动教学」的幼稚园较符合儿童的身心需要。

  • 问4.
    有哪些幼稚园可确保毕业生直升小学?

    香港的幼稚园均属私营,因此不可以确保幼稚园毕业生直升官立或资助小学。现行小一入学统筹办法施行的主要目的,是为了消除争相进入较受欢迎小学的情况,以及减低对幼童带来的学习压力。

    更多关于小一入学统筹办法

      私立小学、直接资助计划(直资)小学及英基学校协会属下小学的小一学位,并不在小一入学统筹办法内,家长可自行为子女申请报读这些学校。在一般情况下,附属于私立小学的幼稚园,其毕业生有较大机会入读该小学。 

    小学概览
    更多关于直接资助计划

  • 问5.
    国际幼稚园的质素是否一般比本地幼稚园好?

    国际幼稚园是指为非华语儿童提供服务的幼稚园,与本地幼稚园主要不同的地方是采用非华语作为主要的教学语言,如英语、日语等。家长不能只就不同授课语言作比较,应就幼稚园的办学理念、课程、环境、设备和师资等,衡量其质素。

  • 问6.
    多大年纪的幼儿才适合入读幼稚园?

    根据儿童的身体及心智发展,一般3岁幼儿适宜入学。由于不少家长都希望子女入读幼稚园的年龄能与小学的入学年龄配合,所有在9月入读幼稚园的儿童的最低年龄现已放宽为两岁零8个月。

  • 问7.
    我们应该怎样为孩子准备入学面试?

    一所理想的幼稚园应让儿童在自然愉快的环境中,透过适切活动及生活体验,达致均衡的发展。故任何入学面试都应以相同的概念,以活动形式进行,使儿童没有面试的压力。幼稚园是儿童开展学习的第一站,幼稚园不会要求儿童在入学前已具备任何知识,家长亦不应操练幼儿去应付面试,只要多给予儿童与人沟通和玩耍的机会,使儿童在面对陌生人时表现自然,愿意与人沟通便可。

  • 问8.
    哪些区域比较多优质幼稚园?

    香港各个区域均有表现优异的幼稚园,故此家长在选校时,应多考虑一些距离住所不太远的学校,以免幼儿要长途跋涉跨区上学。

  • 问9.
    我应如何选择提供「两文三语」课程的幼稚园?

    「两文三语」包括中文和英文;粤语、英语和普通话。在幼儿阶段,幼儿的母语发展比学习其他语言更为重要。由于大多数香港儿童的母语为粤语,学前教育应以粤语为学习语言,以提升儿童的学习成效。

    现时香港大部分幼稚园均有为儿童提供不同形式的英语和普通话学习活动;然而,这些活动的内容必须从儿童的生活中取材、应切合儿童的心智发展,并让儿童在轻松愉快的气氛中接触英语和普通话,才能引起儿童的学习兴趣。

  • 问10.
    一些采用崭新教学法的幼稚园是否保证能提供优质教育?

    每种教学法都有其特点,要评鉴学校是否提供优质教育,最重要是视乎学校所倡导的办学理念,能让儿童在自然愉快的环境中,通过适切的活动,得到均衡的发展。除了考虑学校所采用的教学法外,家长也应考虑教师的质素和学校的资源等其他因素,从多方面认识学校的特色和运作,以便作出明智的选择。

覆检日期:2017年9月