IT Courses & Activities of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs)

A number of NGOs organise IT courses and activities targeted at different groups in the community. These organisations receive funding from the Government, and their courses are usually free or provided at a nominal cost. Here you can learn more about these courses and activities, and identify those that suit your needs and interests.

Caritas District Elderly Centres

The Caritas District Elderly Centres focus on providing conventional and non-conventional learning opportunities to the elderly. Open to people aged 55 years or over, the Centres offer courses in multiple areas, including IT. The IT courses cover:

  • The Chinese input method
  • Digitalising photos
  • Introduction to computing
  • Further computing skills
  • Surfing the Internet
  • CD and DVD burning

Information about the courses offered by individual District Elderly Centres, their locations and contact details are available from Caritas.

More on Caritas District Elderly Centres

Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong

The Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong offers a range of IT skills training, with a focus on providing learning opportunities for the disadvantaged groups including the new immigrants, marginal youth and young night drifters, other youth and the elderly. The Association's Children and Youth Service and its College of Careers provide courses in IT knowledge including:

  • Basic computer knowledge and skills
  • Chinese input methods
  • Internet access and usage
  • Techniques on various office applications such as word processing, spreadsheet and presentation software
Hotlines and addresses of service centres of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong

Christian Action

Christian Action provides various types of computer skills training through its Training Services and Humanitarian and Social Services Divisions. The Training Services Division offers IT programmes under the Employees Retraining Scheme, as well as dedicated IT courses to parents through primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong.

The Humanitarian and Social Services Division organises IT training courses for new immigrants, ethnic minorities, Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients, single parents, domestic migrant workers and asylum seekers.

These courses are available for a nominal administrative fee, and cover:

  • Basic computer and keyboarding
  • Chinese input method
  • Internet usage and homepage building
  • Techniques for various office applications such as word processing, spreadsheet and presentation software

Further information on these self-enhancement courses and their costs, locations and times is available from Christian Action.

Contact information of Christian Action Cyber Center (Available in Chinese only)More on self-enhancement IT courses (Available in Chinese only)

Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers

Representing over 26,000 teacher members, the Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers promotes the development of education across Hong Kong.

The Federation provides free or nominally charged IT-related activities, notably the Youth U.S. Space Camp co-organised with the U.S. Space and Rocket Center, the Youth IT Summer/Winter Camp and the 18 District Youth IT Elite Training Programme. The Federation works on the Elite Training Programme with 18 secondary schools that are proactive in IT education, with the aim of exploring the IT potential of teenagers.

Official website of the Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers (Available in Chinese only)
Last revision date: May 2016

非政府机构举办的资讯科技课程及活动

除政府部门外,香港多家非政府机构均举办各类资讯科技课程和活动,让来自不同社群的市民参与。这些机构由政府资助,举办的多为免费或费用相宜的课程。本网页将介绍有关课程和活动,让市民按自己的需要和兴趣,选择合适的课程和活动。

明爱长者地区中心

明爱长者地区中心致力为长者提供常规与非常规的学习机会,欢迎 55 岁及以上的人士报读;课程可分为资讯科技等多个范畴,以下是其中一些有关资讯科技的课程:

  • 中文输入法
  • 数码相片处理及操作
  • 基础电脑班
  • 进阶电脑班
  • 网上漫游
  • 电脑烧碟班

如欲查询各明爱长者地区中心举办的课程、地址及联络详情,请联络香港明爱。

明爱长者地区中心资料(只备有繁体版本)

香港中华基督教青年会

香港中华基督教青年会举办多类资讯科技培训课程,主要服务对象为新来港人士、边缘青少年、深宵青少年,以及其他青少年及长者。香港中华基督教青年会辖下的青少年及儿童服务单位和专业书院举办的资讯科技课程包括:

  • 基础电脑知识及技巧
  • 中文输入法
  • 互联网浏览及应用
  • 办公室软件的应用技巧,包括文字处理、试算表和简报程式
香港中华基督教青年会服务单位的热线电话及地址(只备有繁体版本)

基督教励行会

基督教励行会的培训服务科和人道支援及社会服务科,举办不同的电脑培训课程让公众参与。培训服务科提供雇员再培训计划的资讯科技课程,并透过中小学接触学生的家长,为他们提供资讯科技课程。

人道支援及社会服务科则专为新来港人士、少数民族、综合社会保障援助计划(综援)受助人士、单亲父母、外国劳工及寻求庇护人士提供资讯科技培训课程。

所有课程仅收取象征式行政费用。课程包括:

  • 基本电脑及键盘应用
  • 中文输入法
  • 互联网应用及网页设计
  • 办公室软件的应用技巧,包括文字处理、试算表和简报程式

如欲查询以上自我增值课程的详情、费用、上课地点及时间等,请联络基督教励行会。

基督教励行会电脑中心的热线电话及地址更多关于基督教励行会自我增值课程的资料

香港教育工作者联会

香港教育工作者联会拥有 26,000 名会员,旨在促进香港教育事业的发展。

该联会提供不少著名的资讯科技活动,例如与美国太空及火箭中心合办的「青少年美国太空训练营」、青少年 I.T. 夏/冬令营及 「18 区青少年 I.T. 精英培训计划」。「18 区青少年 I.T. 精英培训计划」是由该联会联同全港 18 间活跃于推动资讯科技教育的中学共同协办,透过培训课程发掘青少年的资讯科技潜能。

香港教育工作者联会网站
修订日期:2016年5月