Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

The Government is intent on harnessing the full potential of information and communications technology (ICT) to benefit the community and enhance Hong Kong's position as a leading digital city. The following paragraphs provide you with an overview of the Government strategy and initiatives in promoting the adoption of ICT in both the public and the private sectors, and how you could profit from the effort.

The Digital 21 Strategy

Since 1998, the Digital 21 Strategy has set out the Government's vision of developing Hong Kong into a leading digital city. Its success can be measured by an impressive set of statistics, which demonstrates Hong Kong's advancement in various areas of ICT over the years.

Reviewed and updated regularly, the Digital 21 Strategy will continue to guide Hong Kong's development on the ICT front, catering for the evolving needs of the Government, businesses and the general public and sustaining the strengths of Hong Kong as one of the world's most competitive economies.

Key e-Government Initiatives

To promote the adoption of ICT in the wider community, the Government has been leading by example and serving the public through the electronic channels. Over the past decade, the Government has made available a full range of online information through its websites and a variety of electronic services accessible by phone or the Internet. Its vision for the next stage of e-Government development is to use information technology to provide citizen-centric services that promote an accessible, accountable and efficient government and contribute to Hong Kong's achievement as a leading digital city.

Following are a number of key e-Government initiatives that could benefit you, your family and / or your business:

GovHK – the One-stop Government Portal

To facilitate public access to online government information and services, the Government launched a one-stop portal, GovHK, in September 2006. The portal is developed to meet citizens' needs, offering quicker and more convenient access to a comprehensive range of government information and services frequently sought by residents, businesses and non-residents.

Citizen-centric Online Services

A number of online government services offer you the convenience of creating your personal profile, specifying your personal preferences, requesting periodic email updates on topics of interest and much more. Here are a few examples:

Mobile Government Services

If you are a user of mobile devices with broadband connectivity, you can now access government information such as news, weather forecasts and traffic conditions anytime anywhere. Click on the following link to find out more in another article.

Smart ID Card

The smart ID card is an outstanding example of the Government's drive to keep Hong Kong on the technological forefront of the 21st century. As a holder of smart ID card, you can enjoy the convenience of automated immigration clearance at control points installed with the e-channels. You may also choose to store in your smart ID card a personal e-Cert issued by the Hongkong Post Certification Authority or use your smart ID card as a library card to check out or renew library materials.

Public IT Facilities & Resources

To ensure all residents have access to and are able to make meaningful use of computer facilities and the Internet, the Government:

  • Provides free computers with Internet connection for public use at convenient locations, such as public libraries, Community Cyber Points and District Cyber Centres; and
  • Offers ongoing education campaigns and training courses to help the public improve their IT skills, including spam containment and website design.

Interoperability and Standards

To enable effective and efficient systems integration and information flow in the provision of cross-departmental e-Government services, the Government has specified the adoption of open standards and generally available technology to assure application and data interoperability.

In support of Chinese computing, the Government has also developed the Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set (HKSCS) to standardise the machine codes of Chinese characters that are specific to Hong Kong to enhance the accuracy in electronic communications and information processing. The HKSCS has been included in the ISO/IEC 10646 standard. It is supported in most Chinese operating systems, browsers and application software.

The ISO/IEC 10646 standard provides a unified standard for the coding of characters in all major languages in the world including Traditional and Simplified Chinese characters. By adopting the standard, various computer systems will be able to more accurately store, process, transmit and display electronic information in different languages, thus facilitating the flow of electronic information and the implementation of cross-departmental e-Government services.

Back to top

Last revision date: July 2014

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

政府针对资讯及通讯科技发展的策略及措施

政府锐意充分利用资讯及通讯科技,令社会各界受惠,同时提升香港作为领先数码城市的地位。下文概述政府于公营机构和私营机构推广应用资讯及通讯科技的策略及措施,以及市民可如何享受科技带来的成果。

「数码 21」资讯科技策略

由1998年开始,「数码 21」资讯科技策略阐明政府的目标,是要把香港发展成为领先的数码城市。引证多项统计数字,香港于过去数年在资讯及通讯科技的多个领域上,均取得理想的进展。

政府定期检讨和修订「数码 21」资讯科技策略,为香港在资讯及通讯科技方面的发展提供指引,以配合政府、工商界和普罗市民不断转变的需要,以及维持香港于全球经济体系之中的竞争力和优势。

「数码 21」资讯科技策略

电子政府的主要措施

为推动社会各界更广泛应用资讯及通讯科技,政府一直以身作则,致力透过电子途径为市民提供服务。于过去十年,政府已于网上为市民提供全面资讯,并透过电话或网络提供多元化电子服务。政府下一阶段的电子政府发展将利用资讯科技提供以民为本的服务,从而建立开放、负责任及高效率的政府,以及推动香港作为领先的数码城市。

更多有关下一阶段的电子政府计划

以下多项电子政府的主要措施可为你、你的家人或业务带来裨益:

「香港政府一站通」-政府一站式入门网站

于2006年9月,政府推出一站式入门网站 ─「香港政府一站通」,为市民提供全面的网上政府资讯和服务。「香港政府一站通」采用以民为本的设计,针对本港居民、商业及贸易和非本港居民的需要,让他们更轻松方便地获取最常用的政府资讯和服务。

有关「香港政府一站通」

以民为本的网上服务

为更方便市民使用政府网上服务,多项网上政府服务均设有个人化功能,让市民建立个人档案、设定个人喜好或按个人兴趣订阅电邮资讯等,以下为部分例子:

康乐及文化事务署电子杂志服务个人化的康体设施租订服务香港公共图书馆电邮通知服务税务局的「税务易」服务劳工处互动就业服务网上申请政府职位空缺(GF340)香港邮政邮件追查服务

流动政府服务

若你拥有可接驳宽频上网的流动通讯器材,现在更可随时随地浏览各种政府资讯,如新闻、天气预报、交通情况等。有关详情可参阅以下连结所载文章。

以流动方式获取政府资讯及服务

智能身份证

智能身份证是政府致力推动香港走在21世纪科技前端的杰出例子。智能身份证持证人可使用在入境处管制站设立的e-道,享受自助出入境过关的便捷。此外,持证人亦可选择在智能身份证加入由香港邮政核证机关所发出的个人电子证书,或以智能身份证作为图书证,外借和续借图书馆资料。

更多关于智能身份证

公众资讯科技设施及资源

为使所有香港居民均有机会接触及善用电脑设施及网上服务,政府特推行以下措施:

  • 在公共图书馆、社区数码站及分区数码中心等多个便利地点,设置可供上网的电脑,让市民免费使用。
  • 举办持续教育活动及培训课程,加强市民应用电脑的技巧,包括堵截垃圾邮件及网页设计等。
有关公众资讯科技设施及资源

互用性及标准

在提供跨部门电子政府服务的过程中,为了能有效率及畅顺地整合不同系统以互通资讯,政府规定需采用开放标准及普遍可使用的技术,以确保应用程式及数据可互相兼容。

有关电子政府互用架构

为配合中文电脑的使用,政府特别编制了《香港增补字符集》,以统一香港通用特别中文字符的电脑代码,加强电子通讯及数据处理的准确性。《香港增补字符集》已被纳入ISO/IEC 10646 国际编码标准,亦已被大部分中文操作系统、浏览器及应用程式支援。

ISO/IEC 10646国际编码标准为世界各种主要语文的字符,包括繁体及简体的中文字符,编订统一的内码。随着此国际标准被广泛使用,不同的电脑系统之间便能更准确地储存、处理、传递及显示各种语文的电子资讯,从而加强电子资讯的流通,有助电子政府服务的推行。

有关共通中文界面
修订日期:2016年12月