Government Structure

Main Content

This page covers the scope of governance in Hong Kong, from implementation of the Basic Law to the branches of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government.

The Basic Law

Under its constitutional document, the Basic Law, Hong Kong is an autonomous Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, except in defence and foreign affairs. The Basic Law guarantees that the principles and policies regarding Hong Kong will remain unchanged for 50 years, and designates a system of governance led by a Chief Executive and an Executive Council, with a two-tiered system of representative government and an independent judiciary.

More on the Basic Law

The Chief Executive

The Chief Executive is the head of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. He or she is elected by a broadly representative Election Committee in accordance with the Basic Law, and is appointed by the Central People's Government. The Chief Executive is responsible for implementing the Basic Law, signing bills and budgets, promulgating laws, making decisions on government policies and issuing Executive Orders. He or she is assisted in policy making by the Executive Council.

More on the Chief Executive's activities

Executive Council

The Executive Council assists the Chief Executive in policy-making and advises the Chief Executive on matters relating to the introduction of bills and subsidiary legislation. The Council comprises 16 principal officials and 16 non-official members. All members are appointed by the Chief Executive from among the senior officials of the executive authorities, members of the Legislative Council and public figures. They serve for a period no longer than the expiry of the Chief Executive's term of office.

More on the Executive Council

The Government

The main administrative and executive functions of government are carried out by policy bureaux and departments.

Organisation Chart of the HKSAR GovernmentPrincipal officialsPermanent secretaries and heads of government departments

The civil service employs approximately 177,000 persons (excluding judges, judicial officers, ICAC officers and locally engaged staff working in overseas Hong Kong economic and trade offices), or about 4.5 per cent of the Hong Kong's labour force. Apart from administering public services, its main tasks are to assist the Chief Executive and principal officials in formulating policies and carrying out decisions.

More on Hong Kong's civil service

Legislative Council

The Legislative Council is the law-making body of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The number of Members of the seventh term Legislative Council is increased from 70 to 90, including 40 Members returned by the Election Committee Constituency, 30 Members returned by Functional Constituencies, and 20 Members returned by Geographical Constituencies through elections. Apart from its law-making function, the Legislative Council debates issues of public interest, examines and approves budgets, receives and debates the Chief Executive's policy addresses, and endorses the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge of the High Court.

More on the Legislative CouncilMore on improving the electoral system

District Councils

The sixth-term District Councils, comprising 479 seats (452 elected seats and 27 ex officio seats assumed by chairmen of the rural committees in the New Territories), commenced on January 1, 2020. The 18 District Councils advise the HKSAR Government on, amongst others, matters affecting the well-being of the people in the districts and on the provision and use of their public facilities and services, and where funds are made available for the purpose, undertake environmental improvement projects and promote recreational, cultural and community activities within the districts.

More on the District Councils

The Judiciary

The Basic Law ensures that Hong Kong remains within the common law system. The judiciary is independent from the legislative and executive branches of government, with the courts showing no bias. For the most serious types of criminal offences, a jury decides whether the accused is guilty or not, with a majority vote required. The Court of Final Appeal is the highest appellate court and is headed by the Chief Justice.

More on the Judiciary and the laws of Hong Kong
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: September 2021

政府架构

主要內容

本网页概括了香港的管治概况,例如《基本法》的执行,以及香港特别行政区政府各部门的情况。

《基本法》

香港是中华人民共和国成立的特别行政区,根据《基本法》,除国防和外交事务外,香港享有高度自治。《基本法》保证国家对香港的各项方针政策维持五十年不变,并制定由行政长官和行政会议领导的管治体制、代议政制架构以及独立的司法机构。

有关《基本法》的资料

行政长官

香港特别行政区的首长是行政长官,由具有广泛代表性的选举委员会根据《基本法》选举、并经中央人民政府委任产生。行政长官负责执行《基本法》、签署法案和财政预算案、颁布法例、决定政府政策以及发布行政命令,并由行政会议协助制定政策。

有关行政长官工作的资料

行政会议

行政会议协助行政长官决定政策,并就提交法案及附属法例方面向行政长官提供意见。行政会议由16名主要官员和16名非官守成员组成,所有成员均由行政长官自行政机关的主要官员、立法会议员和社会人士中委任。行政会议成员的任期以行政长官的任期为限。

有关行政会议的资料

行政体制

政府的主要施政和行政工作由决策局和部门执行。

香港特别行政区政府组织图主要官员常任秘书长及部门首长

香港的公务员约有177,000人(不包括法官及司法人员、廉政公署人员和香港驻外地经济贸易办事处在当地聘请的人员),占香港劳动人口约4.5%。公务员的主要职责是协助行政长官和各主要官员制定政策和执行决定,并管理公共事务。

有关公务员事务的资料

立法会

立法会是香港特别行政区的立法机关,第七届立法会议员数目由70人增至90人,通过选举委员会界别选举、功能界别选举及地方选区选举,分别产生40名、30名及20名立法会议员。除了立法职能外,立法会还负责就有关公众利益的事宜进行辩论、审核和通过财政预算案、听取行政长官的施政报告并进行辩论,以及同意终审法院法官和高等法院首席法官的任免。

有关立法会的资料有关完善选举制度

区议会

第六届区议会由2020年1月1日开始运作。区议会共有479个议席(包括民选议席452个及由新界乡事委员会主席出任的当然议席27个)。18个区议会会就影响有关地区内的人的福利的事宜,以及有关地区内的公共设施及服务的提供和使用等,向政府提供意见。各区议会亦会在就有关目的获得拨款的情况下,承担有关地区内的环境改善事务,并促进有关地区内的康乐、文化和小区活动。

有关区议会的资料

司法机构

《基本法》保证香港继续实行普通法制度。司法机构独立于政府的立法和行政机关,法院须保持中立。在严重刑事案件的审讯中,法院将组成陪审团,由陪审团以多数票来决定被告人是否有罪。香港的最高上诉法院为终审法院,以首席法官为首。

有关司法机构和香港法律的资料
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
覆检日期:2021年9月