Name List of Permanent Secretaries and Heads of Government Departments

Main Content

Permanent Secretaries

Bureau Position/ Title Name
Civil Service Bureau Permanent Secretary for the Civil Service Mr Thomas Chow Tat-ming
Commerce and Economic Development Bureau Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Commerce, Industry and Tourism) Miss Eliza Lee Man-ching
  Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Creative Industries) Mr Clement Leung Cheuk-man
Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau Permanent Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Mr Roy Tang Yun-kwong
Development Bureau Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) Ms Bernadette Linn Hon-ho
  Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) Mr Lam Sai-hung
Education Bureau Permanent Secretary for Education Mrs Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan
Environment Bureau Permanent Secretary for the Environment/ Director of Environmental Protection Ms Maisie Cheng Mei-sze
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau Permanent Secretary for the Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) Ms Michelle Li Mei-sheung
  Permanent Secretary for the Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) Ms Alice Lau Yim
Food and Health Bureau Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Food) Mr Philip Yung Wai-hung
  Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health) Ms Elizabeth Tse Man-yee
Home Affairs Bureau Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs Mrs Cherry Tse Ling Kit-ching
Innovation and Technology Bureau Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology Ms Annie Choi Suk-han
Labour and Welfare Bureau Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare Ms Chang King-yiu
Security Bureau Permanent Secretary for Security Mrs Marion Lai Chan Chi-kuen
Transport and Housing Bureau Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing)/Director of Housing Mr Stanley Ying Yiu-hong
  Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport) Mr Joseph Lai Yee-tak


Heads of Government Departments/Divisions/Units/Commissions

Department Position/ Title Name
Chief Executive's Office Director Mr Chan Kwok-ki
  Permanent Secretary Ms Shirley Lam Shuet-lai
The Office of the Government of the HKSAR in Beijing Director Mr John Leung Chi-yan
Policy Innovation and Co-ordination Office Head Mrs Betty Fung Ching Suk-yee
Administration Wing, Chief Secretary for Administration's Office Director of Administration Ms Esther Leung Yuet-yin
Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Dr Leung Siu-fai
Architectural Services Department Director of Architectural Services Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu Ka-wai
Audit Commission Director of Audit Mr John Chu Nai-cheung
Auxiliary Medical Service Chief Staff Officer Mr Wong Ying-keung
Buildings Department Director of Buildings Mr Cheung Tin-cheung
Census & Statistics Department Commissioner for Census & Statistics Ms Marion Chan Shui-yu
Civil Aid Service Acting Chief Staff Officer Mr Fong Yiu-tong
Civil Aviation Department Director-General of Civil Aviation Mr Simon Li Tin-chui
Civil Engineering and Development Department Director of Civil Engineering and Development Mr Ricky Lau Chun-kit
Companies Registry Registrar of Companies Ms Ada Chung Lai-ling
Correctional Services Department Commissioner of Correctional Services Mr Woo Ying-ming
Customs and Excise Department Commissioner of Customs and Excise Mr Hermes Tang Yi-hoi
Drainage Services Department Director of Drainage Services Mr Lo Kwok-wah
Electrical and Mechanical Services Department Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services Mr Alfred Sit Wing-hang
Environmental Protection Department Director of Environmental Protection Ms Maisie Cheng Mei-sze
Fire Services Department Director of Fire Services Mr Li Kin-yat
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene Miss Vivian Lau Lee-kwan
Government Flying Service Controller Captain West Wu Wai-hung
Government Laboratory Government Chemist Dr Della Sin Wai-mei
Government Property Agency Government Property Administrator Mr Vincent Liu Ming-kwong
Government Logistics Department Director of Government Logistics Miss Mary Chow Shuk-ching
Department of Health Director of Health Dr Constance Chan Hon-yee
Highways Department Director of Highways Mr Chan Pai-ming
Home Affairs Department Director of Home Affairs Miss Janice Tse Siu-wa
Hong Kong Observatory Director of Hong Kong Observatory Mr Shun Chi-ming
Hong Kong Auxiliary Police Force Commandant Mr Yang Joe-tsi
Hong Kong Police Force Commissioner of Police Mr Lo Wai-chung
Hongkong Post Postmaster General Miss Cathy Chu Man-ling
Housing Department Director of Housing Mr Stanley Ying Yiu-hong
Immigration Department Director of Immigration Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai
Independent Commission Against Corruption Commissioner, Independent Commission Against Corruption Mr Simon Peh Yun-lu
Innovation and Technology Commission Commissioner for Innovation and Technology Ms Rebecca Pun Ting-ting
Information Services Department Director of Information Services Mr Rex Chang Wai-yuen
Inland Revenue Department Commissioner of Inland Revenue Mr Wong Kuen-fai
Intellectual Property Department Director of Intellectual Property Mr David Wong Fuk-loi
Invest Hong Kong Director-General of Investment Promotion Mr Stephen Christopher Phillips
Labour Department Commissioner for Labour Mr Carlson Chan Ka-shun
Land Registry Land Registrar Ms Doris Cheung Mei-chu
Lands Department Director of Lands Mr Thomas Chan Chung-ching
Legal Aid Department Director of Legal Aid Mr Thomas Edward Kwong
Leisure and Cultural Services Department Acting Director of Leisure and Cultural Services Ms Ida Lee Bik-sai, Ms Elaine Yeung Chi-lan
Marine Department Director of Marine Miss Agnes Wong Tin-yu
Narcotics Division, Security Bureau Commissioner for Narcotics Ms Manda Chan Wing-man
Office of the Communications Authority Director-General of Communications Mr Chaucer Leung Chung-yin
Office of the Government Chief Information Officer Government Chief Information Officer Mr Victor Lam Wai-kiu
Official Receiver's Office Official Receiver Ms Phyllis McKenna
Planning Department Director of Planning Mr Raymond Lee Kai-wing
Radio Television Hong Kong Director of Broadcasting Mr Leung Ka-wing
Rating and Valuation Department Commissioner of Rating and Valuation Mr Choi Lap-yiu
Registration & Electoral Office Acting Chief Electoral Officer Mr Raymond Wang Man-chiu
Social Welfare Department Director of Social Welfare Ms Carol Yip Man-kuen
Secretariat, Commissioner on Interception of Communications and Surveillance Secretary, Secretariat, Commissioner on Interception of Communications and Surveillance Ms Flemy Yip Yuk-fan
Tourism Commission Commissioner for Tourism Mr Joe Wong Chi-cho
Trade and Industry Department Director-General of Trade and Industry Ms Salina Yan Mei-mei
Transport Department Commissioner for Transport Ms Mable Chan
Treasury Director of Accounting Services Mr Charlix Wong Shing-hei
University Grants Committee Secretariat Secretary-General Professor James Tang Tuck-hong
Water Supplies Department Director of Water Supplies Mr Wong Chung-leung
Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency Head Mr Esmond Lee Chung-sin


Last revision date: September 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction