General holidays for 2008

Main Content

The following list of general holidays for 2008 is gazetted for public information:

Every Sunday   Sunday
The first day of January 1 January Tuesday
Lunar New Year’s Day 7 February Thursday
The second day of the Lunar New Year 8 February Friday
The third day of the Lunar New Year 9 February Saturday
Good Friday 21 March Friday
The day following Good Friday 22 March Saturday
Easter Monday 24 March Monday
Ching Ming Festival 4 April Friday
Labour Day 1 May Thursday
The Buddha’s Birthday 12 May Monday
The day following Tuen Ng Festival 9 June Monday
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July Tuesday
The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 15 September Monday
National Day 1 October Wednesday
Chung Yeung Festival 7 October Tuesday
Christmas Day 25 December Thursday
The first weekday after Christmas Day 26 December Friday

"As the Tuen Ng Festival in 2008 falls on a Sunday, the following day will be designated as an additional general holiday," said a Government spokesman.

Last review date: October 2016
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction
Employment Survey Close Button Employment Survey