Frequently Asked Questions about HKSAR Passports

  • Q1.
    Am I eligible for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    You are eligible to apply for a HKSAR Passport if you are a Chinese citizen, have the Right of Abode (ROA) in the HKSAR and are holding a valid Hong Kong permanent identity card (PIC).

  • Q2.
    Am I a Chinese citizen?
    Ans

    You are a "Chinese citizen" if you have Chinese nationality under the Chinese Nationality Law as elaborated in " the interpretation of Chinese Nationality Law when applying in the HKSAR" passed by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress of the Chinese Government on 15 May 1996. In general, you may have Chinese nationality if you are a Hong Kong resident of Chinese descent and born in Hong Kong or other parts of China, notwithstanding that you hold, or have held Hong Kong British Dependent Territories Citizen passport, British National (Overseas) passport; or any other foreign passport.

  • Q3.
    I am a person partly of Chinese blood and holding a valid Hong Kong permanent identity card. Am I qualified for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    Article 4 of the Nationality Law of the People's Republic of China states that any person born in China whose parents are Chinese nationals or one of whose parents is a Chinese national shall have Chinese nationality.

    Article 5 of the same Nationality Law states that any person born abroad whose parents are both Chinese nationals or one of whose parents is a Chinese national shall have Chinese nationality. But a person whose parents are both Chinese nationals and have both settled abroad, or one of whose parents is a Chinese national and has settled abroad, and who has acquired foreign nationality at birth shall not have Chinese nationality.

    It follows that each case has to be considered individually, taking into account the provisions of the Nationality Law mentioned above.

  • Q4.
    I am a Chinese national holding a valid Hong Kong permanent identity card and a British National (Overseas) passport. Can I apply for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    Yes, you can apply for a HKSAR Passport.

  • Q5.
    Can I hold a British National (Overseas) passport and a HKSAR Passport at the same time?
    Ans

    Yes.

  • Q6.
    I am a Chinese national holding a valid Hong Kong permanent identity card and a foreign passport. Can I apply for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    If you have returned to settle in Hong Kong and have not declared a change of nationality to the Hong Kong Immigration Department, you remain a Chinese national and are eligible for a HKSAR Passport.

    (Please note that "settled", in relation to a person's claim to the right of abode in the HKSAR, means ordinarily resident in Hong Kong and is not subject to any restriction on the period of stay in Hong Kong.)

    More about right of abode in the HKSAR
    More about Chinese nationality

  • Q8.
    What are the features of the HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    The features of the HKSAR Passport are :

    • The passport is in machine readable format that will facilitate the holder's immigration clearance at foreign immigration control points equipped with machine reading facilities.
    • The passport will contain only the personal particulars of the holder. Children of any age should hold their own passport.
    • To tie in with the international trend, the passport is embedded with a contactless chip storing the photo and data which are displayed on the data page.
    • The passport is normally valid for 10 years unless otherwise specified; passport for children under 16 years of age is normally valid for 5 years.
    • The passport states that the holder has the right to return to HKSAR.
    • The passport is valid for all countries.
  • Q9.
    How to apply for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    A person who is a Chinese citizen holding a valid permanent identity card of the HKSAR and has the right of abode (ROA) in the HKSAR is eligible to apply for a HKSAR Passport.

    You can submit your HKSAR passport application from Hong Kong or overseas.

    Please see the following links for the required documents, fee and photograph to be enclosed:

    Local application
    Overseas application

  • Q10.
    Why do I need to make an appointment booking for collection of my new HKSAR passport?
    Ans

    By using the appointment booking service, you can shorten the queuing time at Immigration offices for collecting your new HKSAR passport.

  • Q11.
    When can I use this appointment booking service?
    Ans

    You can make an appointment booking starting from the day following the date of issue of the Collection Notice. You can choose a suitable time slot from Monday to Saturday at the chosen collection office. The service is free of charge and group booking for a maximum of four applicants with same collection office shown on their Collection Notices is available.

  • Q12.
    My child was born in Hong Kong and he is a Chinese National has yet registered for a HK birth certificate. Can I make an appointment for applying HKSAR passport for my child, if I am not a Hong Kong resident ?
    Ans

    Yes. You can make the appointment booking both for birth registration and passport application by inputting your travel document number and your child’s date of birth which must match with the birth return record from the hospital.  For HKSAR passport or Re-entry Permit application, the child must show the Hong Kong Birth Certificate if he was born in Hong Kong.  In this regard, please make an appointment for submitting the HKSAR passport/Re-entry Permit application at least 1 hour after the appointment for birth registration, including the time for traveling, whichever is longer.  For example, if you have booked an appointment at Kowloon Birth Registration Office at 0900 hours for birth registration, please make an appointment at 1100 hours at Immigration Office – East Kowloon for submitting the application for HKSAR passport.

  • Q13.
    Can I make the appointment booking for applying HKSAR passport and Re-entry Permit for my child at the same time?
    Ans

    Yes. You can make no more than 4 applications in each appointment booking, For example, you can make the appointment booking both for applying HKSAR passport and Re-entry Permit for two children at the same time, making a total number of 4 applications.

  • Q14.
    How can I apply for amendment to my personal particulars in the passport?
    Ans

    You are required to submit your application in person at the Travel Documents and Nationality (Application) Section or one of the Immigration Branch Offices. Upon application, besides the relevant supporting doucments (e.g. deed poll), you also have to produce your existing HKSAR passport. As the personal particulars in the passport should be identical to those shown on the Hong Kong permanent identity card, you are required to apply for amedment to the registered particulars at the Registration of Persons Office before submitting the application for amendment to the personal particulars in the passport.

    Should the application be approved, the HKSAR Immigration Department will issue a new passport with amended personal particulars to you and the passport will be of the same validity with your existing passport. The application fee is HK$84. Or, you may apply for a new passport with 10-year or 5-year validity (depending on the age of applicant). The application fee for a passport with 10-year validity is HK$370 (32 pages) / HK$460 (48 pages) and 5-year validity is HK$185 (32 pages) / HK$230 (48 pages).

  • Q16.
    What should I do if I lost my HKSAR passport while travelling abroad?
    Ans

    If you lost your HKSAR passport while travelling abroad, you should immediately report the loss to the local police and request a copy of the police report.  With the documentary proof of the loss, you may contact the Chinese diplomatic and consular mission in that country and request for replacement of travel document.  You may also contact the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department through the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 for assistance.  The Immigration Department will provide you with information and assistance regarding the processing of travel document.

     Chinese Diplomatic and Consular Missions

    Guide to Consular Protection and Services Outside Chinese Territory

  • Q17.
    How long does it take to get a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    The HKSAR Immigration Department pledges to complete the process of an application in 10 working days after receiving all necessary documents, application fee and photograph and in 14 working days for children aged under 11 not holding a Hong Kong permanent identity card (Working days denote Monday to Friday excluding General Holidays). In general, you can obtain the new passport on the next working day after the completion of the application process by the Immigration Department. For applications not submitted in person (e.g. via drop-in-box), an extra 2 to 3 working days may be required for handling formalities. The processing time may be longer for passport application due to loss, damage or change of personal particulars. Whether this pledge can be met will also depend on the circumstances of individual applications and the number of applications received at a particular time. If you have any travel plans, please apply early.

  • Q18.
    I was born in the Mainland and my child was born overseas, how to fill in the "Place of Birth" column on the passport application form?
    Ans

    If you were born in the Mainland, you should provide the name of the province, municipality or autonomous region (e.g. Guangdong or Shanghai) at which you were born at the "Place of Birth" column. Your passport will show the name of province, municipality or autonomous region you reported. Whilst your child was born overseas, you should provide the country name (e.g. Canada or Thailand) at which your child was born but the name of province or municipality is not required. Your child's passport will only show the name of country he was born.

  • Q19.
    Where can I get the application forms for the HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    Application forms and Notes for Guidance are available at all Immigration Branch Offices, district offices and post offices. You may also obtain the application forms by post. Please call (852) 2824 6111 or fax. to (852) 2877 7711 or make your request through email : enquiry@immd.gov.hk.

    If you are residing overseas, application forms and Notes for Guidance can also be obtained from the Chinese Diplomatic and Consular Missions or the HKSAR Immigration Department.

  • Q20.
    Can I ask to include my child in my HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    No. The passport will contain only the personal particulars of the passport holder. An application should be made for your child for his own HKSAR Passport.

  • Q21.
    Children under 11 years of age are not required to hold identity cards. How can they apply for a HKSAR Passport?
    Ans

    For eligible children under 11 years of age who are not holding PICs, their applications for PICs must be submitted together with their applications for HKSAR Passports. The application form must be signed by a parent or legal guardian. The PIC will be issued together with the HKSAR Passport. For details, please see ID(E)842A "Notes of Guidance for HKSAR Passport application" and ROP(E)149 "Notes for Guidance on Application for a Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card for a Child under 11 years of age in connection with Application for Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Passport".

  • Q22.
    I have a valid visa in my existing HKSAR Passport that is due for replacement. Can I retain my existing passort upon collection of my new passport?
    Ans

    When you collect your new passport, you should produce your existing passport for cancellation. The cancelled passport will be returned to you.

    In case of need, you may upon application for replacement of HKSAR passport, also apply to cross link your existing passport with your new passport. Cross linking of HKSAR Passports means making an endorsement on both the previous and new passports to the effect that the previous passport bears a visa which is still in force. The previous passport will not be physically linked to the new passport but will be returned to you after the endorsement is made. If you wish to apply for cross linking of passports, you have to meet all the following conditions:

    (a)  your existing passport is still valid on the date of printing the cross link endorsement;

    (b)  your existing passport contains a valid visa, a residence permit or entry permit; and

    (c)  your existing passport has at least one blank page for making an endorsement about the cross linking of passports.

    To apply for cross linking of passports, you have to complete the application form ID879 and pay a fee of HK$170.  In general, the processing of HKSAR passport takes 10 working days to complete. Any application for cross linking of passports should be made simultaneously when you apply for replacement of passport in order not to cause delay in the processing of passport.

    Application for cross linking of HKSAR Passports (Form ID 879)

Last review date: March 2010

關於香港特別行政區護照的常見問題

  • 問1.
    我是否有資格申領香港特別行政區護照?

    如果你是享有香港特別行政區居留權及持有有效香港永久性居民身份證的中國公民,你可以申領香港特別行政區護照。

  • 問2.
    我是否一個中國公民?

    如果你是根據《中華人民共和國國籍法》及全國人民代表大會常務委員會在1996年5月15日通過有關《中華人民共和國國籍法》在香港特別行政區實施的解釋而具有中國國籍的人士,你便是「中國公民」。一般來說,如果你是在香港或中國其他地區出生,並具有中國血統的香港居民;不論你現在是否持有或曾經持有英國屬土公民護照、英國國民(海外)護照或其他外國護照,你可能是一個中國公民。

  • 問3.
    我具有部分中國血統,並持有有效香港永久性居民身份證。我是否符合資格申請香港特別行政區護照?

    《中華人民共和國國籍法》第四條訂明,父母雙方或一方為中國公民,本人出生在中國,具有中國國籍。

    上述《國籍法》第五條訂明,父母雙方或一方為中國公民,本人出生在外國,具有中國國籍;但父母雙方或一方為中國公民並定居在外國,本人出生時即具有外國國籍的,不具有中國國籍。

    每一個案須根據上述的《國籍法》條文作個別考慮。

  • 問4.
    我是一名中國公民,持有有效香港永久性居民身份證和英國國民(海外)護照。我可否申請香港特別行政區護照?

    可以。

  • 問5.
    我可否同時持有英國國民(海外)護照和香港特別行政區護照?

    可以。

  • 問6.
    我是一名中國公民,持有有效香港永久性居民身份證以及外國護照。我可否申請香港特別行政區護照?

    如果你返回香港定居,並且沒有向香港特別行政區入境事務處申報變更國籍,則仍是一名中國公民,符合資格申請香港特別行政區護照。

    (請注意,就任何人士聲稱於香港特別行政區享有居留權而言,「定居」是指通常居於香港,而且在港逗留的時間並無受到任何限制。)

    你可以在「香港政府一站通」的入境事務群組,找到更多有關香港特別行政區居留權以及中國國籍的資料。

    更多關於香港特別行政區居留權的資料
    更多關於中國國籍的資料

  • 問8.
    香港特別行政區護照有什麼特點?

    香港特別行政區護照的特點:

    • 護照乃採用電腦可讀形式印製,以方便你在世界各地使用;尤其是在已設有電腦閱讀旅行證件設備的出入境管制站。
    • 電腦可讀護照只載有持證人的個人資料,任何年齡的兒童須持有他們自己的護照。
    • 為配合國際趨勢,護照加入非接觸式晶片,儲存顯示於個人資料頁上的相片及資料。
    • 除特別註明外,護照有效期通常為10年。16歲以下兒童的護照有效期通常為五年。
    • 護照訂明持護照者有返回香港特別行政區的權利。
    • 護照在世界各國一律有效。
  • 問9.
    怎樣申請香港特別行政區護照?

    凡享有香港特別行政區居留權及持有有效香港永久性居民身份證的中國公民,可申請香港特別行政區護照。

    你可以在香港或海外遞交香港特別行政區護照的申請。

    須遞交的文件、費用及照片請參閱如下連結:

    本地申請
    海外申請

  • 問10.
    我為何需要預約領取我的新香港特區護照?

    使用預約服務,你可縮短在入境事務辦事處排隊輪候領取你的旅行證件的時間。

  • 問11.
    我可在什麼時候使用此預約服務?

    在領證通知書發出日期後的第二天,你便可使用此預約服務。你可選擇星期一至六在已選擇的領證地點提供的合適時段。此項服務是免費的,並可為最多4名申請人集體預約,惟所有申請人在領證通知書上的領證地點必須相同。

  • 問12.
    我的孩子是中國公民並剛在香港出生,但還未領取香港出生證明書,我並沒有香港身份證,可否為他預約申請特區護照?

    可以。你可使用你的旅行證件號碼及孩子的出生日期同時預約辦理香港出生登記及申請特區護照。輸入的資料必須與醫院送交的新生嬰兒呈報表的記錄相符。在香港出生的嬰兒,必須憑藉香港出生證明書(俗稱出世紙) 才可遞交特區護照或回港證的申請。因此,若預約申請特區護照/回港證,包括交通時間,請選擇不少於在出生登記預約的一小時後或更長的時間後,例如:預約早上九時在九龍出生登記處辦理出世紙,請預約早上十一時到東九龍分區辦事處辦理特區護照。

  • 問13.
    我可否同時為我的孩子預約申請特區護照和回港證嗎?

    可以。在每次預約辦理旅行證件,你可預約不超過4個的申請。例如,你可為兩名兒童,在一次預約中,同時預約申請特區護照和回港證,即合共4個申請。

  • 問14.
    我需要更改護照上的個人資料,申請手續為何?

    你必須親身 前往入境事務處旅行證件及國籍(申請)組或任何一間入境事務處分區辦事處遞交申請書。除有關證明文件(例如更改姓名的改名契)外,你還需要出示你現有的香港特別行政區護照。請注意,由於護照上的個人資料必須與香港永久性居民身份證上的資料相同。在提交上述申請前,你必須先到人事登記處辦理更改身份證上的個人資料。

    當上述申請獲得接納後,入境事務處會按照你現有護照的有效期簽發載有已修訂資料的新護照給你。申請費用是84港元。或你可申請換領一本有效期為10年或5年(視乎申請人的年齡)的新護照。申請10年期限的護照費用為370港元(32頁)/ 460港元(48頁),而5年期限的護照費用為185港元(32頁)/ 230港元(48頁)。

  • 問16.
    如我在外遊時遺失香港特區護照,應該怎辦?

    如你在外遊時遺失香港特區護照,應向當地警方報告,並索取一份警察報告副本。然後你可與中國駐當地使領館聯繫,並要求補領旅行證件。你亦可致電香港入境事務處協助在外香港居民小組的24小時求助熱線(852) 1868尋求協助。入境事務處會就有關辦理證件的事宜提供意見和協助。

    中國駐外國的使領館

    中國境外領事保護和服務指南

  • 問17.
    申請香港特別行政區護照所需時間?

    入境事務處承諾於收妥所需文件、費用及相片後的10個工作天內完成處理申請的程序(工作天是指星期一至星期五,公眾假期除外)。未滿11歲而並未持有香港永久性居民身份證的兒童,其申請的處理時間為14個工作天內。一般而言,你可於入境事務處完成處理申請後的下一個工作天領取新護照。若非親身遞交申請書(例如投遞),請預留額外二至三個工作天處理相關手續。如因遺失、損壞或更改個人資料而提出護照申請,處理申請的時間可能會較長。此服務承諾能否達到,須視乎個別申請情況,以及於該段時間內所收到的申請數目而定。 如果你計劃出外旅遊,請及早申請。

  • 問18.
    我在內地出生,在填寫護照申請表格時,我應如何填寫出生地點?而我的子女在海外出生,又應該如何填寫?

    如你在內地出生,你應在出生地點一欄填上出生省份,直轄市或自治區(例如:廣東或上海),護照上會註明你所報稱的出生地點。至於你在海外出生的子女,只須填上出生國家名字(例如:加拿大或泰國),而不用填上出生省/市等,護照上只會註明你的子女出生國家名字(例如:加拿大或泰國)。

  • 問19.
    我在那裏可取得香港特別行政區護照的申請書?

    你可到灣仔入境事務處總部查詢及聯絡組或各入境事務處分區辦事處、民政事務處及各郵政局索取說明書及申請書。你亦可經郵遞取得申請書。請致電(852) 2824 6111或傳真(852) 2877 7711或以電子郵件致enquiry@immd.gov.hk

    如果你在海外居住,你可以向中國駐外國的使領館或香港特別行政區入境事務處索取說明書及申請書。

  • 問20.
    我可否將我的子女包括在我的香港特別行政區護照內?

    不可以。香港特別行政區護照乃採用電腦可讀形式印製,它只載有持證人的個人資料。你必須為你的子女申領個別香港特別行政區護照。

  • 問21.
    11歲以下兒童毋須持有身份證,他們如何申領香港特別行政區護照?

    11歲以下而未持有香港永久性居民身份證的兒童,在申請香港特別行政區護照時,須同時申請香港永久性居民身份證。申請書必須由該兒童的父母或合法監護人簽署。該永久性居民身份證將會與香港特別行政區護照同時簽發。如需更詳細資料,請參閱ID(C)842A香港特別行政區護照申請的說明書及ROP(C)149因申請香港特別行政區護照而為十一歲以下兒童申請香港永久性居民身份證填表須知。

  • 問22.
    現時我的香港特別行政區護照有一個有效簽證,但我即將需要換領新的護照。領取新護照後,我可否保留現時的護照?

    在領取新護照時,你必須將現時所持有的特區護照交回本處註銷,註銷後,該護照會發還給你。

    如有需要,你可以在申請換領特區護照時,同時申請將現有的護照和新的護照互聯。互聯護照是在舊護照和新護照上作出一項批註,以說明舊護照載有一個仍然有效的簽證,舊護照實際上不會與新護照相連起來,而是在作出批註後退還給你。如申請互聯護照,你必須符合以下所有條件:

    (一) 在印製互聯的批註當日,你的現有護照仍然有效;
    (二) 你的現有護照有一個有效簽證、居留證或入境許可證;
    (三) 你的現有護照最少有一頁空白頁,可用作互聯護照批註。

    申請互聯護照,須填妥申請表格(ID879)及繳交 170 港元費用。由於特區護照處理程序一般需時十個工作天, 如需要申請互聯護照,請在遞交換領特區護照申請時一併提出申請,避免延誤製作護照時間。

    香港特別行政區互聯護照申請書(表格 ID879)

覆檢日期:2010年3月