What to do if You Lose Your Identity Card and HKSAR Travel Documents

While you may be annoyed about losing your personal identification documents, you may be relieved to learn that it only takes simple steps to obtain the replacements of these documents. Here you can learn about how to report loss and apply for replacement of Hong Kong identity card and HKSAR travel document.

Report Loss and Replace Your Identity Card

If you lose your Hong Kong identity card, you are required to notify the Immigration Department within 14 days and apply for a replacement card. 

All Registration of Persons Offices are using a quota system. To save your time, you should consider booking an appointment through the telephone booking system at (852) 2598 0888 or online. The appointment booking period for application of Hong Kong identity card at Registration of Persons Offices is 24 working days.

Online appointment booking for Hong Kong smart identity card

Application Forms

There is no separate form for applying for a replacement identity card and you should use the same application form as applying for a Hong Kong identity card. You may download the relevant form from the link below.

Download Hong Kong identity card application forms

If you recover your card after applying for a replacement it should be surrendered to any Registration of Persons Office or police station.

Supporting Documents

The type of supporting documents you need when applying for a replacement identity card will depend on your age: 

  • Those aged under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who must produce his / her identity card and proof of legal guardianship, if appropriate.
  • Those aged under 11 must also produce the proof of identity such as valid travel document / passport / recent school documents (e.g. student hand book or school record card) with a certified photograph; and one recent photograph (50 x 40 mm full face photograph) if the child is not taller than 90 cm.
More on supporting documents for those aged under 18

Fee

The fee for applying for a replacement of identity card due to loss is HK$370.

Application for Replacement of HKSAR Travel Documents due to Loss

If you lose your HKSAR travel documents in Hong Kong, namely HKSAR passport, Document of Identity for Visa Purposes, Re-entry Permit or Seaman’s Identity Book, you should report the loss to the Immigration Department. 

You should submit your replacement application in person at any Immigration Branch Offices. You may book an appointment through the telephone booking system at (852) 2598 0888 or online.

Immigration Branch Offices for travel document applicationsOnline appointment booking for applying travel documents

If you lost your HKSAR passport or HKSAR Document of Identity for Visa Purposes while travelling abroad, you should immediately report the loss to the local police and request a copy of the police report. With the documentary proof of the loss, you may contact the Chinese diplomatic and consular mission in that country and request for replacement of travel document. You may also contact the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department through the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 for assistance. The Immigration Department will provide you with information and assistance regarding the processing of travel document.

If you are a Hong Kong resident and have lost your Hong Kong identity card and Home Visit Card while travelling in the Mainland, you should immediately report the loss to the public security authorities and obtain documentary proof of that report.  With the documentary proof, you may approach the entry and exit department of the Public Security Bureau in the Mainland or the China Travel Service office in Shenzhen for the issue of an Entry and Exit Permit to facilitate your departure from the Mainland. You may also contact the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department through the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 for assistance. The Immigration Department will provide information and advice according to your situation

Chinese Diplomatic and Consular MissionsHow to apply for the HKSAR travel documentsAssistance to Hong Kong Residents Travelling Outside Chinese TerritoryAssistance to Hong Kong Residents in the Mainland
Last review date: March 2015

遺失身份證及香港特區旅行證件應怎麼辦

若遺失身份證明文件,你可能會感到非常懊惱。其實補領手續非常簡單方便,本文便介紹如何報失及補領香港身份證和香港特區旅行證件。

報失及補領身份證

若你遺失香港身份證,必須在14天內通知入境事務處及申請補領新證。

各人事登記辦事處都設有配額制度。為節省時間,你可致電 (852) 2598 0888透過電話預約系統或於網上預約服務。向人事登記辦事處申領香港身份證的預約期為24個工作天。

網上預約申領香港智能身份證

申請表格

入境事務處並無就申請補領身份證提供獨立的申請表格,你可從以下連結下載香港身份證申請書,並填妥申請書以補領新證。

下載香港身份證申請表格

若你在申請補領新證後尋回已遺失的身份證,必須將舊證交回任何一間人事登記辦事處或警署。

證明文件

申請補領身份證所須出示的證明文件視乎申請人的年齡而定:

  • 未滿18歲申請人必須由父、母或合法監護人陪同辦理申請手續。陪同申請人一同辦理申請手續的父、母或合法監護人,須出示其身份證及可證明其監護權的文件(如適用)。
  • 未滿11歲申請人必須出示身份證明文件,例如有效旅行證件/護照/最近的學校證件(須貼有蓋上校印的相片,例如學生手册或學校紀錄卡);如申請人身高不超過90厘米,另須提供近照1張(50 Χ 40毫米正面照片)。
更多關於未滿18歲申請人所須出示的證明文件資料

費用

補領已遺失的身份證的費用為港幣370元。

因遺失而補領香港特區旅行證件

如你在香港遺失香港特區旅行證件(即香港特區護照、簽證身份書、回港證或海員身份證),應向入境事務處報告有關事項。

你應填妥補領申請表格,並親身前往任何一間入境事務處分區辦事處遞交申請。你可致電 (852) 2598 0888透過電話預約系統或於網上預約辦理補領手續。

辦理旅行證件申請的入境事務處分區辦事處網上預約申請旅行證件

如你在外遊時遺失香港特區護照或簽證身份書,應向當地警方報告,並索取一份警察報告副本。然後你可與中國駐當地使領館聯繫,並要求補領旅行證件。你亦可致電香港入境事務處協助在外香港居民小組的24小時求助熱線(852) 1868尋求協助。入境事務處會就有關辦理證件的事宜提供意見和協助。

香港居民如在內地遺失了香港身份證及回鄉卡,應向當地公安機關報失身份證明文件並索取報失證明。向當地出入境管理處或香港中國旅行社深圳辦事處申請《入出境通行證》(俗稱臨通)。你亦可致電香港入境事務處協助在外香港居民小組的24小時求助熱線(852) 1868尋求協助。我們會因應個別個案的情況,提供資訊及意見。

中國駐外國的使領館如何申請香港特區旅行證件為在中國境外的香港居民提供的協助為在內地的香港居民提供的協助
覆檢日期:2015年3月