Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

How to Register (within 12 months after birth)

Under the relevant Ordinance, a birth will be registered upon receipt by the registrar of the relevant birth return (a document that records a baby's birth) from the hospital in which the baby is born. For birth registration, you need to make prior appointment booking through the Internet (www.gov.hk/birthregistrationhttp://www.gov.hk/en/residents/immigration/bdmreg/birth/birthreg/regbirth.htm) or by telephone (2598 0888). You should make enquiry with the relevant hospital to confirm that the birth return has been delivered to the registrar before making an appointment booking. For details of the appointment booking service, please read the leaflet "Guidance Notes on the Appointment Booking for Birth Registration".

No registration fee is payable if the birth is registered within a period of 42 days. A registration fee will be charged if the birth is registered after the period of 42 days but within 1 year. After 1 year, a birth can be registered only with the consent of the Registrar of Births and Deaths and upon payment of a registration fee. If you want to obtain a certified copy of the birth entry (commonly known as Certificate of Birth) after registration of the birth, you are required to pay a prescribed fee.

For birth registration, the presence of the child is not required. In the case of legitimate child, the attendance of either parent is sufficient.

To speed up the processing time for registration of birth on the appointment day, you are advised to submit in advance the required information for registration of birth by using this online service.  You may also choose to download the ‘Information Required for Registration of Birth’ (Form BDR93A) for completion and submit the completed information sheet at the time of registration.  Please note that the information sheet is not an application from.

Where to Register

The birth of a child should be registered at a birth registry of the district in which it occurred. If the child was born before arrival at a hospital/clinic or the birth has not been registered within 1 year, the birth should be registered at the Births and Deaths General Register Office.

General Enquiries
Hotline: (852) 2824 6111
Fax: (852) 2877 7711
Email: enquiry@immd.gov.hkmailto:enquiry@immd.gov.hk

Supporting Documents

When applying for the registration of your child's birth, you should supply originals of the following documents:

  • Hong Kong identity cards or valid travel documents (e.g. passports, documents of identity etc.) of you and your spouse; and
  • your marriage certificate.

The abovementioned documents are normally required for the purpose of verifying the Hong Kong permanent resident status of the child under the Immigration Ordinance (Chapter 115). Additional documents or information may be required if necessary.

In the case of illegitimate child, the father’s name is to be included in the birth register under the following circumstances:

  • at the joint request of the parents, who personally attend the registry to make the joint request; or
  • at the request of mother, she personally attends the registry and produces her Declaration and father's Statutory Declaration to confirm the child's paternity; or
  • at the request of father, he personally attends the registry and produces his Declaration and mother's Statutory Declaration to confirm the child's paternity; or
  • at the request of the father or mother, either parent personally attends the registry and produces a certified copy of relevant Court Order to confirm the child's paternity and if the child has reached the age of 16, the written consent of the child to the registration of that person as his father.

For application for consent to post registration of birth (a birth that has not been registered within 1 year), applicant is required to apply for a search of his birth record in the first instance to ensure that he has no registered birth record in Hong Kong. The application should be supported with evidence indicative of the applicant’s date and place of birth as well as proof of relationship between the applicant and his parents. The parents and two additional witnesses will be required to make statutory declarations on the applicant’s birth in Hong Kong.

How Long Will the Processing Take

The registration of a birth normally takes 30 minutes to complete, and a certified copy of a birth entry can usually be issued within another 10 minutes.

Application Fees

Registering a birth does not incur a fee if it is made within 42 days of the birth. If it is made after 42 days of the birth but within 1 year, a registration fee of HK$140 will be charged. After 1 year, the registration fee will be HK$680. You will need to pay HK$140 for a certified copy of a birth entry after the birth registration. If you had not applied for a certified copy at the time of the birth registration but need to get one afterwards, you may need to apply for a search of birth records first . You will have to pay a search fee (HK$140 for Particular Search and HK$680 for General Search).

Appointment Booking for Birth Registration

You need to make prior appointment booking through either the Internet or the telephone booking system for birth registration of your newborn baby. Both channels provide round-the-clock service and the service is free of charge. Before selecting the date of appointment, you should confirm with the hospital where the child was born that the birth return has been delivered to the registrar. Upon making the appointment, you are required to provide information which matches that on your baby’s birth return. The appointment is given on a first-come-first-served basis. For telephone booking system users, a touch-tone phone is required and the telephone number is 2598 0888. For Internet users, please visit the website below:

Attention:

  • Please confirm with the hospital to ensure that the birth return of your baby has been delivered to the concerned births registry by the hospital before you use the appointment booking service. Moreover, the information which you provide should match with those on your baby's birth return. Otherwise, the appointment booking cannot be processed.
  • Special Arrangement for Applying Travel Documents for Newborn Babies

With immediate effect, if an eligible newborn child in Hong Kong is required to apply for travel documents (including HK Re-entry Permit and/or HKSAR Passport) after the birth registration, the parent or legal guardian of the child can make such an application with the Hong Kong birth certificate issued on that day.  He/She may approach the reception counter of any of the Immigration branch offices on the same day [Note: Before 1530 hours for Mondays to Fridays and before 1100 hours for Saturdays, except Sundays and General Holidays]. In applying for travel documents for the child, the parent or legal guardian should bring the child to the office in person and bring along the following documents to support the application:

(a) the child's Hong Kong birth certificate [Note: Item (11) of the certificate should read "2(a), Schedule 1 to the Immigration Ordinance (Cap. 115) established"];

(b) recent photos of the child [Note: 2 photos for Re-entry Permit or/and 3 photos for HKSAR Passport (colour photo with plain white background)];

(c) consenting parent or legal guardian's Hong Kong identity card or valid travel document;

(d) completed application form(s) [ID73A(Re-entry Permit) or/and ID842 and ROP3 (HKSAR Passport)]; and

(e) a completed Form for Countersignature [ID641] with a copy of identity document of the person countersigning the form.

For enquiry, please contact the Immigration enquiry hotline at 2824 6111.

Online Submission of Information Required for Registration of Birth

If you have successfully made an appointment for registration of birth of your child, we recommend you to submit in advance the information required for registration of birth by using this online service at least one day before the scheduled appointment.

Back to top

Last review date: February 2012

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2014 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

跳至主要內容   跳至搜尋   跳至用戶群
用戶群
 

主要內容

如何辦理登記(出生不超過12個月)

根據香港法例,新生子女的出生登記,必須在其出生醫院向登記官作出呈報後才可進行。要辦理出生登記,你須先透過互聯網 (www.gov.hk/birthregistrationhttp://www.gov.hk/tc/residents/immigration/bdmreg/birth/birthreg/regbirth.htm) 或致電 (2598 0888) 作出預約。作出預約前,你應先向有關醫院查詢,確保有關的新生嬰兒呈報表已送交登記官。預約服務的詳情請参閱《預約辦理嬰兒出生登記指南》。

如出生登記在嬰兒出生後42天內辦妥,登記手續將不收任何費用。如在嬰兒出生42天後但不超過1年內辦理出生登記,便須繳付法定費用。如超過1年始行辦理,則必須獲得生死登記官批准並須繳付法定費用。若你想替新生嬰兒辦理出生登記後,申領一份出生登記記項的核證副本(即出生證明書),亦須繳付法定費用。

你無須帶同嬰兒前往辦理出生登記。如嬰兒為婚生子女,只須其父或母前往辦理出生登記即可。

為節省在已預約當日辦理出生登記手續的時間,你可使用這項網上服務預先遞交出生登記所需資料。你亦可選擇下載並填妥 「出生登記所需資料」(表格BDR93A),並於辦理出生登記時一併遞交。請注意,該資料表並非申請表格。

何處辦理登記

嬰兒的出生登記手續應在其出生區域內的分區登記處辦理。如嬰兒是在抵達醫院/診療所前出生,或出生已超過一年仍未登記,其出生登記則須在生死登記總處辦理。

一般查詢
熱線:(852) 2824 6111
傳真:(852) 2877 7711
電郵:enquiry@immd.gov.hkmailto:enquiry@immd.gov.hk

證明文件

為嬰兒辦理出生登記時,須出示以下文件正本:

  • 你和配偶的香港身份證及/或有效旅行證件(如護照、簽證身份書等);及
  • 你的結婚證書。

上述文件通常可作為核實嬰兒在《入境條例》(第115章)下的香港特別行政區永久性居民身份。如有需要,你可能需要提供額外文件或資料。

如果嬰兒為非婚生子女,則出生登記處只會在下述情況下,把父親的姓名登記在登記紀錄內:

  • 嬰兒的父母一同親身前往登記處提出要求;或
  • 嬰兒的母親親身到登記處提出要求,並遞交其聲明書,以及嬰兒父親的法定聲明書,述明他是嬰兒的父親;或
  • 嬰兒的父親親身到登記處提出要求,並遞交其聲明書,以及嬰兒母親的法定聲明書,述明該人是嬰兒的父親;或
  • 嬰兒的父親或母親親身到登記處提出要求,並遞交有關法庭頒令的核證副本,確認嬰兒的父親身份;如子女已年滿16歲,則須一併遞交該名子女的書面同意書,同意登記該人為其父親。

至於出生1年後始行補辦出生登記,申請人則必須先申請翻查其出生紀錄,以確保本港並無其出生登記紀錄,並須提供能顯示其出生日期和地點的證據,以及與雙親關係的證明。此外,申請人的父母及另外兩位證人,須就申請人在香港出生作出法定聲明。

處理登記所需時間

辦理出生登記一般需時30分鐘,而申領出生登記記項的核證副本(一般稱為出生證書)則另需10分鐘。

申請費用

如出生登記在嬰兒出生後42天內辦理,登記手續是免費的。如在嬰兒出生42天後但不超過1年內辦理出生登記手續,則須繳付登記費用港幣140元。如超過1年始行辦理,登記費用為港幣680元。辦理出生登記後,如欲申領一份出生登記記項的核證副本,則須繳付港幣140元。如在辦理出生登記時沒有申領出生登記記項的核證副本,日後申領則須先行提交翻查出生登記紀錄的申請,並支付翻查費用(特定查冊 港幣140元;一般查冊港幣680元)。

預約辦理出生登記

要辦理新生子女的出生登記,你須先透過互聯網或電話預約系統作出預約。這兩個系統均提供24小時的免費預約服務。在選擇預約日期前,你應先向嬰兒出生的醫院查詢,確保有關的新生嬰兒呈報表已送交登記官。進行預約時,你須提供與新生嬰兒呈報表上相符的資料。預約以先到先得的方式處理。如要使用電話預約服務,你必須使用音頻電話致電2598 0888。如希望使用互聯網預約,請瀏覽以下網頁:

注意:

  • 請聯絡醫院以確定醫院在你進行預約前已把你嬰兒的出生呈報表送到相關的出生登記處。此外,你所提供的資料須與新生嬰兒呈報表上的資料相符;否則將不能進行預約。
  • 為新生嬰兒辦理旅行證件的特別安排

由即日起在香港出生的新生嬰兒在辦妥出生登記手續後,如需申請旅行證件(包括回港證及/或香港特別行政區護照(特區護照)),並符合有關申請資格,父、母或合法監護人可憑即日簽發的香港出生證明書,在同日(註:星期一至星期五下午三時三十分前及星期六上午十一時前,星期日及公眾假期除外)帶同新生嬰兒到達各入境事務分區辦事處的接待處辦理申請旅行證件的手續。父、母或合法監護人並須帶備下列證件

(一) 新生嬰兒的香港出生證明書[註:香港出生證明書第(11)項必須是「確定《入境條例》(第115章)附表1第2(a)項」];

(二) 新生嬰兒近照 [註:申請回港證需2張照片,申請特區護照需3張照片(必須是白色背景的彩色照片)];

(三) 同意申請的父、母或合法監護人的香港身份證或有效旅行證件;

(四) 已填妥的旅行證件申請表格 [ID73A(回港證申請)或/及ID842及ROP 3(特區護照申請)];以及

(五) 已填妥的副署事項表格(ID641)及該副署人的身份證明文件副本。

如有查詢,請致電入境事務處查詢熱線2824 6111與本處職員聯絡。

網上遞交出生登記所需資料

如你已成功為你的新生嬰兒預約辦理出生登記,你可進一步使用這項網上服務,在不遲於預約日期前一天,預先遞交出生登記所需之資料。

返回頁首

覆檢日期:2012 年 2 月

  • 符合萬維網聯盟有關無障礙網頁設計指引中2A級別的要求
  • 無障礙網頁守則
  • IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站
  • 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
  • 2009香港資訊及通訊科技獎 - 最佳公共服務應用 (網站) 銀獎
  • 網絡無障礙優異網站獎2011-13 - 紅寶石獎
  • 萬維網推廣協會WebAward 2012 - 超卓政府機構網站獎
  • 互動媒體大獎 2011 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
  • 互動媒體大獎 2012 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
網頁完結