General holidays for 2013

General Holidays

The following list of general holidays for 2013 is gazetted for public information:

Every Sunday   Sunday
The first day of January 1 January Tuesday
The second day of Lunar New Year 11 February Monday
The third day of Lunar New Year 12 February Tuesday
The fourth day of Lunar New Year 13 February Wednesday
Good Friday 29 March Friday
The day following Good Friday 30 March Saturday
Easter Monday 1 April Monday
Ching Ming Festival 4 April Thursday
Labour Day 1 May Wednesday
The Birthday of the Buddha 17 May Friday
Tuen Ng Festival 12 June Wednesday
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July Monday
The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 20 September Friday
National Day 1 October Tuesday
The day following Chung Yeung Festival 14 October Monday
Christmas Day 25 December Wednesday
The first weekday after Christmas Day 26 December Thursday

“According to the new arrangement under the General Holidays and Employment Legislation (Substitution of Holidays)(Amendment) Ordinance 2011, when either Lunar New Year’s Day, the second day of Lunar New Year or the third day of Lunar New Year falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of Lunar New Year is designated as a statutory and general holiday in substitution.  As Lunar New Year’s Day in 2013 falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of Lunar New Year will be designated as a holiday in substitution.  Under the new arrangement, employees working on a Monday-to-Friday basis will benefit because their statutorily provided holiday in substitution will not overlap with their Saturday day off.  For other employees working on a five-and-a-half-day week basis with half day off on Saturday, they can also benefit from the new substitution arrangement.  As a result, many employees will be able to enjoy a longer Lunar New Year holiday in 2013. 

“Separately, as Chung Yeung Festival in 2013 falls on a Sunday, the following day will be designated as an additional general holiday,” said a Government spokesman.

Add Public Holidays to E-calendar

Hong Kong Public Holidays

By subscribing to the iCal calendar from 1823 as a feed or importing it to your application, you can add Hong Kong public holidays to your e-calendar easily!

1823 Hong Kong Public Holidays iCal Calendar

 

Last review date:September 2016